Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    i7 4790k Max safe CACHE voltage?

    hi all like tittle says, what is max safe 24/7 cpu cache voltage for i7 4790k?im confused because i read that it cant go beyond than 1.15v. I have an z97a motherboard.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3600 15-16-37
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    371

    I try to keep mine below 1.15V. Increasing the cache frequency buys you very little in performance so I keep mine max it will go stable at 1.15v.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    ok but by default cache voltage is 1.185v in z97a motherboard, so i dont understand how put it at 1.15v and achieve stability, and do not talk when raise cache multiplier more than default....i only can put it at 1.155v if cache multiplier is 40, more multiplier need more voltage and i need at least 42 multiplier for cache, since my ratio multiplier is 46x
    Last edited by ppdemo; 02-18-2017 at 10:44 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3600 15-16-37
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    371

    I'm stable with uncore at 43x at 1.15v. The default value the MB uses is often too high.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    other question what is V1 voltage that hwinfo show me?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3600 15-16-37
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    371

    IDK. The author is pretty thorough so if there was any info on it hwinfo64 would show it (there is a forum he answers to). Under that section on my Z87 I have DRAM, PCH , cache, digital I/o and analog I/o.

    That is an awful high voltage for your cache IMO.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    the problem is that v1 voltage at full load raise at 1.5 and i dont know which this is....and in hwinfo forums they told me to ask asus.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    other question, what is max safe recomendation vccio voltage for i7 4790k 24/7 use?

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,456

    Quote Originally Posted by ppdemo View Post
    i need at least 42 multiplier for cache, since my ratio multiplier is 46x
    You can of course do what you want with your overclock but "I need" is simply not true. Cache OC is worth next to nothing in performance.

    Safe voltage is stock voltage anything else who knows. Try to keep below 1.25v for 24/7 OC 1.2 better. for cache vccsa and vccio

    You will often see people talking higher "safe voltage" for short bench runs but they are not using this 24/7
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-25-2017 at 08:25 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Safe voltage is stock voltage anything else who knows. You will often see people talking higher "safe voltage" for short bench runs but they are not using this 24/7
    There is something I do not understand:
    why the recommended cache voltage for 24/7 is 1.15v if my CACHE STOCK is 1.18v, that is to say, a stock starts from 1.185v without OC
    and what would you say is the VCORE safe voltage? i can put it 1.312 48ghz

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •