Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    i7 4790k Max safe CACHE voltage?

    hi all like tittle says, what is max safe 24/7 cpu cache voltage for i7 4790k?im confused because i read that it cant go beyond than 1.15v. I have an z97a motherboard.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    568

    I try to keep mine below 1.15V. Increasing the cache frequency buys you very little in performance so I keep mine max it will go stable at 1.15v.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    ok but by default cache voltage is 1.185v in z97a motherboard, so i dont understand how put it at 1.15v and achieve stability, and do not talk when raise cache multiplier more than default....i only can put it at 1.155v if cache multiplier is 40, more multiplier need more voltage and i need at least 42 multiplier for cache, since my ratio multiplier is 46x
    Last edited by ppdemo; 02-18-2017 at 10:44 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    568

    I'm stable with uncore at 43x at 1.15v. The default value the MB uses is often too high.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    other question what is V1 voltage that hwinfo show me?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    568

    IDK. The author is pretty thorough so if there was any info on it hwinfo64 would show it (there is a forum he answers to). Under that section on my Z87 I have DRAM, PCH , cache, digital I/o and analog I/o.

    That is an awful high voltage for your cache IMO.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    the problem is that v1 voltage at full load raise at 1.5 and i dont know which this is....and in hwinfo forums they told me to ask asus.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    other question, what is max safe recomendation vccio voltage for i7 4790k 24/7 use?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    Quote Originally Posted by ppdemo View Post
    i need at least 42 multiplier for cache, since my ratio multiplier is 46x
    You can of course do what you want with your overclock but "I need" is simply not true. Cache OC is worth next to nothing in performance.

    Safe voltage is stock voltage anything else who knows. Try to keep below 1.25v for 24/7 OC 1.2 better. for cache vccsa and vccio

    You will often see people talking higher "safe voltage" for short bench runs but they are not using this 24/7
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-25-2017 at 08:25 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Safe voltage is stock voltage anything else who knows. You will often see people talking higher "safe voltage" for short bench runs but they are not using this 24/7
    There is something I do not understand:
    why the recommended cache voltage for 24/7 is 1.15v if my CACHE STOCK is 1.18v, that is to say, a stock starts from 1.185v without OC
    and what would you say is the VCORE safe voltage? i can put it 1.312 48ghz

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •