Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    12

    Memory Slots not working.

    Hey guys, just finished the build, set the loop, and bam.... The B1 memory slot does not work. Setting the Rampage Tweak Mode 1 in the DRAM Timing Control did not help.

    I am using the Trident Z 3200 Mhz, 32 Gb, 4 set.

    It took me a long while to figure out because it seems like I also got a faulty set where only 2 pieces work.

    Basically- If I stick 2 working ones into the A1, C1, or D1; all of those points function giving me 16 gb of memory in Bios and working LED indicators. If I try the other 2 sticks separately, or in conjunction with the working ones, it still only get the 2 previous working and nothing else.

    I also assume A2,B2,C2, and D2 are not even meant to be used unless you already occupy the other 4 previous slots, correct?


    Any suggestions, guys?
    This is a really nasty situation where it is hard to figure what is more messed up, the mobo or the sticks... However, I am absolutely
    positive that the 2 confirmed working sticks do not function outside A1, C1, and D1 slots. The B1 and the rest give no response but code "53". Such a huge pain in the ass to dissassemble all this now...

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    1) Reset the CMOS

    2) Test each stick individually in slot D1 to confirm all sticks are operating.

    3) Check for over-tightened screws surrounding the CPU socket and memory

    4) Remove the CPU whilst inspecting the socket for any bent pins

    5) Reattach the CPU with even mounting pressure.

  3. #3
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    I would reseat the CPU and check for bent pins in the socket.

    Not sure how you are cooling but make sure you don't over tighten and make sure you evenly tighten whatever you have down onto the CPU.

    If that doesn't solve it sounds like you have a combination of bad slots and bad RAM so getting RAM replaced is necessary...just make sure you are methodical...test each stick in each slot to make sure you have a map of bad slots and confirmed bad sticks.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    12

    extra CALLE

    sigh... Yeah I i think I over-tighten the hell out of it. I didn't remove the water monoblock yet, but I remember that I had an issue setting it in, due to the film that has to be punctured to use the CPU mounting holes.

    What bent pins am I looking for though? The pins on the bottom of the CPU and the pins sticking out of the socket that get attached to the bottom of the CPU? Is it ok to touch them if they are bent?
    Last edited by Maglev; 02-18-2017 at 06:34 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    OK well carefully remove and check the mounting. Yes, the pins are the tiny little array that make contact with pads on bottom of CPU...they are very delicate....you can work on them with magnifying glass, pin and very steady hands. Hopefully wont be needed though. Sounds like CPU might be displaced by block...but check it all and start again....should not have to force anything or do anything more than hand tighten stuff...

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    12

    Checked all the memory sticks in the 4 memory slots that the mobo manual assigns: A1 B1 C1 D1. (A2B2C2D2 do not work for some reason)
    2 memory sticks work in all of those except for the B1.
    The other 2 sticks don't work in any of those slots.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
    As for the fact of the assembly...

    Ehhh... Hard to describe what I am seeing, and taking a picture will not be descriptive enough since this scale is too small to capture properly.

    The structure of the socket is made of 2 areas where one encapsulates left and top, and the other area encapsulates right and bottom portions of the square socket.

    ALL of them are seemingly bent. All of them are leaning down at around 45 degree angle.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0460[1].jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	277.0 KB 
ID:	62576
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0461[1].jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	218.2 KB 
ID:	62577
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0464.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	313.6 KB 
ID:	62579
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0465.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	372.6 KB 
ID:	62580

    Aren't they supposed to be that way? Tbh I don't remember whether they were like that when i was installing this the first time. The mechanism that locks the cpu into the socket also requires quite a bit of force to begin with.

    Also, some caveats I want to add on what I discovered after i disassembled the system:

    Issue 1: I've put WAY too much thermal paste on the chip. So what happen due to that was the thermal paste bleeding all around the edges when I compressed the water monoblock on top of the chip and the socket.
    I also got some thermal paste leaking into that hole on top of the CPU:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0462.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	117.2 KB 
ID:	62581


    -what i did right now is, I used the 99.9% Isopropyl alcohol solution to clean all of it. I got some on the socket and what is worse, i got some on the connecting pad side of the CPU. I cleaned all of that with the 99.9 alcohol and a q-tip, and the compressed air.


    Issue 2: the first time I was tightening the screws for the water monoblock on the back of the mobo, I scratched the surface, and seemingly a circuit. I do not know how severe it is, it looks pretty small, but I see the reddish color of the copper wiring that was previously hidden by the mobo material. I am not sure what that thing is responsible for, but I don't think I cut something off. No idea how much of a problem that could be.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0429v2.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	214.3 KB 
ID:	62578
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0467.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	189.3 KB 
ID:	62586
    (EDIT: God damn... On the 2nd picture here, I think I can trace the damaged section leading right to the B1 slot PCB. Could anyone confirm it? I labelled everything in red.)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    So to sum it all up, does any of that could affect the the B1 slot for the memory sticks? I have a ton of things I did very wrong, but the additional assembly mistakes i discovered, did not really inhibit the functioning of the system aside the damn memory slot ...
    -----------------------
    Last edited by Maglev; 02-18-2017 at 11:59 PM.

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    The perception of the pins is hard to distinguish, however in most conditions what you will be looking for in the bent pin dept are those few that are not laying correctly with the orientation of the rest.

    Board traces are usually pretty durable but that looks like a pretty good gouge. Any disruption of even a single connection will render that slot useless. This can be repaired but takes a very specific skill set and the right tools for the job, not to mention an extremely steady hand.

    Board looks like it got wet in a few pics.
    Full cover blocks are a bear to get on and a bear to do anything with period. If you decide you want to change CPUS to a 6900 or 6950X all that has to come back off again. I had one on my M8E from the get go and never tested my loop without it. I was a bit disappointed with the 30L/hr flow rate especially with dual D5 pumps in series. The full cover block is in a box now. Removing that and going with just the EK EVO block and cooling for the rest on a IX formula then adding 2 GPU blocks to the mix I about crapped when I fired it up and my flow rate is now in the 120L/hr range at full speed! Even with the pumps dialed down to 60% at idle temps (running an Aquaero controller) I still get 80L/hr. HUGE DIFFERENCE!!!!!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    12

    It is not wet, it was on a paper piece soaked in Isopropyl.

    I really dunno what to do now lol. So the pins are not upright standing?

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    the hole on the CPU should be no problem...try not to get much thermal paste in there but it's not a biggie.

    The damaged trace may well be a problem...board looks strangely mottled..."wet"

    It's difficult because the pics are not in focus...but my eye is also drawn to a spot on the pins...something looks out of place? maybe not...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0460[1] (1).jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	505.0 KB 
ID:	62591

    Maybe you could check this area again?

    However if you have 3 working slots and 2 sticks don't work, you also need to RMA RAM
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-19-2017 at 08:22 AM.

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by Maglev View Post
    Checked all the memory sticks in the 4 memory slots that the mobo manual assigns: A1 B1 C1 D1. (A2B2C2D2 do not work for some reason)
    2 memory sticks work in all of those except for the B1.
    The other 2 sticks don't work in any of those slots.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
    As for the fact of the assembly...

    Ehhh... Hard to describe what I am seeing, and taking a picture will not be descriptive enough since this scale is too small to capture properly.

    The structure of the socket is made of 2 areas where one encapsulates left and top, and the other area encapsulates right and bottom portions of the square socket.

    ALL of them are seemingly bent. All of them are leaning down at around 45 degree angle.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0460[1].jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	277.0 KB 
ID:	62576
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0461[1].jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	218.2 KB 
ID:	62577
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0464.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	313.6 KB 
ID:	62579
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0465.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	372.6 KB 
ID:	62580

    Aren't they supposed to be that way? Tbh I don't remember whether they were like that when i was installing this the first time. The mechanism that locks the cpu into the socket also requires quite a bit of force to begin with.

    Also, some caveats I want to add on what I discovered after i disassembled the system:

    Issue 1: I've put WAY too much thermal paste on the chip. So what happen due to that was the thermal paste bleeding all around the edges when I compressed the water monoblock on top of the chip and the socket.
    I also got some thermal paste leaking into that hole on top of the CPU:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0462.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	117.2 KB 
ID:	62581


    -what i did right now is, I used the 99.9% Isopropyl alcohol solution to clean all of it. I got some on the socket and what is worse, i got some on the connecting pad side of the CPU. I cleaned all of that with the 99.9 alcohol and a q-tip, and the compressed air.


    Issue 2: the first time I was tightening the screws for the water monoblock on the back of the mobo, I scratched the surface, and seemingly a circuit. I do not know how severe it is, it looks pretty small, but I see the reddish color of the copper wiring that was previously hidden by the mobo material. I am not sure what that thing is responsible for, but I don't think I cut something off. No idea how much of a problem that could be.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0429v2.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	214.3 KB 
ID:	62578
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0467.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	189.3 KB 
ID:	62586
    (EDIT: God damn... On the 2nd picture here, I think I can trace the damaged section leading right to the B1 slot PCB. Could anyone confirm it? I labelled everything in red.)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    So to sum it all up, does any of that could affect the the B1 slot for the memory sticks? I have a ton of things I did very wrong, but the additional assembly mistakes i discovered, did not really inhibit the functioning of the system aside the damn memory slot ...
    -----------------------
    It's likely you've damaged the board installing the monoblock.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •