Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 68
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Maximus IX Hero wont boot with memory slots A1/A2 populated

    Hello guys,

    I'm having trouble with my motherboard, when i first started the build all memory slots worked fine, but after a couple of days i was playing some overwatch and the game started closing by itself (3 times), i kept re-opening it until windows BSOD (Bad-pool-header), by the time my pc rebooted i couldn't get the bios to boot, i would get a 55 or 3F q-code. I tried several times to clean cmos, memoryOK!, battery removal and installing memory dimms in different locations until i got it to work.

    At that point i was happy, but as soon as i would get inside windows it would BSOD on me. I decided to reinstall windows, and at first everything was working fine until it started crashing on me again.

    So.. i decided to test it with 2 dimms of memory installed at a time as i was afraid that my memory got fried or something, the pc is rock solid with 2 dimms at a time.

    The thing is that i can not for the life of me get the pc to boot on the memory banks A1/2, if i install something on A1 and/or A2 i keep getting q-code 49 and a continuous loop between 01-03. If i install all banks at once i usually get a q-code 55, but if i install anything on B1/2 the pc boots right away. No cmos clean, memoryOK! nor battery removal helped me this time.

    I've tried with a different memory stick from a friend, and got the same results. Do you guys have any ideas?

    Build:

    Asus: Maximus IX Hero (latest bios)
    Intel: i7 7700K (@ stock speeds)
    Corsair: Vengance LED 32gb (4*8) 3000mhz (@2133mhz)
    Cosair: H100i v2
    Gigabyte: GTX 1080
    EVGA: SuperNova G3 850W
    Windows 10 Pro

    Thanks in advance for you help!

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    1) Reset the CMOS

    2) Remove the CPU from the socket, checking for any bent pints

    3) Reattach the CPU whilst making sure for even mounting pressure

    4) Stress the memory with HCI Mem test whilst the system is at optimised defaults (no XMP)

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array qwertz PC Specs
    qwertz PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V
    Processor5930k @ 4.6
    Storage #1500gb evo 850 raid0

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    115

    Had same problem with code 55 , updated bios and no luck.
    Resolved by using just 2 memory slots to B channel and A Ch unused...
    With benchmarks it can grow score alot if dual channel memory but in most application operation its not as significant as applications process data and not only continiously copy.
    Will the forum bugs get fixed?

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Quote Originally Posted by qwertz View Post
    Had same problem with code 55 , updated bios and no luck.
    Resolved by using just 2 memory slots to B channel and A Ch unused...
    With benchmarks it can grow score alot if dual channel memory but in most application operation its not as significant as applications process data and not only continuously copy.
    This is pretty much what he is saying, using B channel only, however this is a work around and not a resolution. I'm thinking he wants to use all 4 slots.

    Im with pulling the CPU and checking. Not sdo much as bent pins as warped PCB. These chips are getting so thin that it only takes a little too much pressure and the outer corners will bend upwards. Had a similar incident and when I pulled the cpu and laid it across a straight edge the upward bend was more than obvious. Wasnt too difficult with just a little pressure to bend it flat again. Just have to be careful you dont snap it. Ive heard of others using a heat gun/hair dryer to heat it up first then bend it back. If it get bent a substanial amount it will bend the pins down too, recovery from that is slim to none. I liked the old days where the pins were on the CPU, those were easy enough to fix and realign with a little effort.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    This is pretty much what he is saying, using B channel only, however this is a work around and not a resolution. I'm thinking he wants to use all 4 slots.

    Im with pulling the CPU and checking. Not sdo much as bent pins as warped PCB. These chips are getting so thin that it only takes a little too much pressure and the outer corners will bend upwards. Had a similar incident and when I pulled the cpu and laid it across a straight edge the upward bend was more than obvious. Wasnt too difficult with just a little pressure to bend it flat again. Just have to be careful you dont snap it. Ive heard of others using a heat gun/hair dryer to heat it up first then bend it back. If it get bent a substanial amount it will bend the pins down too, recovery from that is slim to none. I liked the old days where the pins were on the CPU, those were easy enough to fix and realign with a little effort.
    Exactly as you said, i bought 32 gigs of ram and i don't wanna settle and use 16 just because of a random error (i say random because this happened out the blue, i was using all 4 dimms fine until it became unstable and this happened). I did remove the CPU and founted d no bent pins, i might have to check on the PCB as you just pointed out (we are talking about the CPU itself, right?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    1) Reset the CMOS

    2) Remove the CPU from the socket, checking for any bent pints

    3) Reattach the CPU whilst making sure for even mounting pressure

    4) Stress the memory with HCI Mem test whilst the system is at optimised defaults (no XMP)
    Already tried everything but the stress test, i don't think this is memory related as i already tried with another memory bank (corsair vengance 2133) and got the same results.

    I didn't find any bent pins

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by Gabrielmage View Post
    Already tried everything but the stress test, i don't think this is memory related as i already tried with another memory bank (corsair vengance 2133) and got the same results.

    I didn't find any bent pins

    Thanks!
    Remove the motherboard from the chassis and retest if possible. If not, take the board, CPU and RAM to a system integrator and have them test it for you.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Remove the motherboard from the chassis and retest if possible. If not, take the board, CPU and RAM to a system integrator and have them test it for you.
    Will try to test it outside the chassis, are you thinking something could be touching the chassis and causing this?

  9. #9
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by Gabrielmage View Post
    Will try to test it outside the chassis, are you thinking something could be touching the chassis and causing this?

    I'm thinking it's always best to try if all else fails.

    Some users tend to over-tighten surrounding screws.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,780

    Clear the CMOS and then test accordingly.

    If you can verify that there are no bent pins, then it's either defective memory slots or the CPU IMC.

    I'm leaning towards a bad board since B1/2 seem to be performing normal.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •