Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7
Results 61 to 68 of 68
  1. #61
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mcleod52 PC Specs
    mcleod52 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)n/a
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 Windforce
    MonitorLG 27UD69-W
    Storage #1Plextor M8Pe M.2 2280 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X52
    CasePhantek P400S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
    Mouse ASUS ROG Gladius II
    Headset Bloody M660 MOCI
    Headset/Speakers Lepai LP-188HA + Polk Audio RTiA3's & PSW 303
    OS Windows 10 64 bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    thanks for the update. Interesting outcome ....

  2. #62
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    foxglove

    Quote Originally Posted by mcleod52 View Post
    thanks for the update. Interesting outcome ....
    Yeah, it was very interesting to me since I did a bios update as part of my overall trouble shooting. What's REALLY interesting is that the bios that's currently on my Mobo isn't actually available on the Asus public download site. That tells me that something was hinky with my board that could only get rectified with a custom update. Not sure what's going to happen when I get a year or so down the line and decide to update it. Guess time will tell, but I'm not messing with it at all at this point.

  3. #63
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    67

    Quote Originally Posted by steelerman37 View Post
    Yeah, it was very interesting to me since I did a bios update as part of my overall trouble shooting. What's REALLY interesting is that the bios that's currently on my Mobo isn't actually available on the Asus public download site. That tells me that something was hinky with my board that could only get rectified with a custom update. Not sure what's going to happen when I get a year or so down the line and decide to update it. Guess time will tell, but I'm not messing with it at all at this point.

    What version BIOS does CPU-Z say you're running?

  4. #64
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array qwertz PC Specs
    qwertz PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V
    Processor5930k @ 4.6
    Storage #1500gb evo 850 raid0

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    115

    Hi,
    Is it possible that maximus hero came with bent pins or is it ruled out?
    Does asus take it back?
    Will the forum bugs get fixed?

  5. #65
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by qwertz View Post
    Hi,
    Is it possible that maximus hero came with bent pins or is it ruled out?
    Does asus take it back?
    Hi all I was having pretty much the same issue with the Maximus ix hero where no matter what I did it would not see RAM chip in slot 1A, all of the other 3 slots were working but as soon as a chip was put in A1 it failed to post and boot with code 01 03 and CC. After hours of messing around I decided to pull th processor and with a magnified glass noticed one single pin in the processor socket was slightly bent. With a needle I managed to streighten the pin, reseat and thermal paist the processor and hey presto to my surprise it saw the memory in A1 slot the first time, I was also able to run memory in XMP which I was not able to before as the machine would not boot with XMP on.

    Not sure if a bunch of these are coming out the factory with a bent pin bit as a few are having the same issue it seems possible. Will add a pic of the bent pin latter.*

  6. #66
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I have the same exact issue with the Hero X Wifi

    I don't mean to hijack, but everything described here also applies to my ROG Maximus Hero X Wi-fi
    The system worked fine with all four memory slots working fine.....until it didn't, roughly 3 weeks after assembly.

    Troubleshooting led me to the exact same outcome, the same error codes. The memory is all fully functional when swapped into B1 and B2, but if A1 and A2 are populated (or A1 OR A2) the system won't post.

    I noticed a slight discoloration near the RGB header nearest the memory (and LED error readout) that seemed to be related to some form of short, so I didn't argue when ASUS had me RMA the board after failure to succeed with all the troubleshooting. Unfortunately when applying the CPU socket cover, my hand slipped and I bent a few pins, costing me $75 and creating, for ASUS, a distraction. I explained this to them and asked them to not focus on the CPU socket for the problem as it existed prior to the pins being bent. I sent the board in and waited. I received that board today, it had a new SN so I knew that it wasn't the same board, but it was clearly a used board. After reassembling my system it had EXACTLY the same problem as before, as so many of you have experienced.

    I have requested a NEW board, rather than a used one, for RMA. I have no idea how this will transpire, but am in hopes of getting the board I paid for, fully functional.

    If anyone has found a fix for this, I'm all ears.

    Thanks,

    Tib

  7. #67
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Gabrielmage View Post
    Just out of curiosity, you pc won't boot with 4 dimms at the same time, but do all dimms work? Because i couldn't make it boot with the A1/2 but worked fine with B1/2
    I am having the same issue. All 4 dimms work but only 2 at a time, for me they only work in the last 2 slots furthest from the CPU. If I install the 2 slots closest to the CPU I get no post at all.

    Newegg won't refund RMA unless ASUS says it's defective.

  8. #68
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Slight variations in CPU pins on a motherboard can happen and is not normally immediately a defect. The pins just need to make proper contact. "Uneven pressure" is normally not an issue either, because only a certain voltage and amperage goes through the pins, as long as there's no short circuit and the pressure is high enough(and not too high).


    For me what permanently resolved the issue: Place 2 sticks of RAM in either channels. Try to boot->It will fail with the "Failed to detect RAM" Q-code. No matter how many times you try, it wouldn't boot in A1 or in dual-channel(A or B).

    Now after that, remove the cable from the CPU_FAN1 header. Try to boot->Should suddenly succeed. After the RAM succesfully booted once, I've never had an issue with booting every since, even with the CPU_FAN1 cable attached and working.

    I never tried once to remove the CPU as I knew there couldn't have been anything wrong with the motherboard(brand new, CPU placed correctly in first try).


    This behavior likely points to a (temporary) design defect in the motherboard hardware or firmware. What exactly it could be is beyond my knowledge.
    Last edited by jBrianj; 12-24-2018 at 03:56 PM.

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •