Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Sniper_3001 PC Specs
    Sniper_3001 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus ix Code
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB 4133 DDR4 - 16gig
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1080 FE
    Graphics Card #2Geforce GTX 1080 FE
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 1 gig M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 PRO 512 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series 760T
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P Platium
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2013
    Mouse Razer Naga
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    XMP not working with 4266mhz ddr4

    Hi. So I just put together a new rig. Specs are:

    Intel 7700k cpu
    Corsair H115i water cooler
    Asus ROG Maximus ix Code
    G Skill trident Z ddr4 4266mhz
    Geforce gtx 1080x2 SLI setup
    Evga 1000watt power supply
    M2 hd

    The problem I'm having is I can't enable XMP. It will not post. I tired a set of the same ram but at 3600mhz and it works. So my question is why is it that the 4266mhz ram won't work with XMP. I also found that my motherboard scales the ram down to 4133mhz. Will a bios update enable the increased speed? Also should I keep the 4266mhz ram (4133) or keep the 3600mhz ram?

    As a side note I was only able to achieve a 4.9 ghz overlock (on stock voltages). 5ghz just wasn't possible. 1.35 volts let get into windows but after a while crashes. Tried up to 1.4v and some thing. Not sure if increasing voltages past 1.4 for 100mhz more is worth it. And yes I've tired 2 different OCing guides with the same result. My temps are very good but probably bad luck on the cpu

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    According to this: https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...pecifications/ your MB supports max RAM speeds of 4133Mhz which is the reason why the speeds are throttled.

    Memtest the RAM: http://www.memtest86.com/
    Last edited by panzlock; 02-20-2017 at 03:00 AM.

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    DDR4-4266 speeds are only validated on the Maximus IX Apex and Strix Z270I motherboards. The four-DIMM motherboards can't achieve such speeds and it is unlikely they will ever be able to. You're going to have to accept a lower operating frequency, which will likely be well below DDR4-4133 with a two-DIMM kit, as well. DDR4-3600 sounds about average for these configs.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Caledor PC Specs
    Caledor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-8G-GAMING
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    Casebe quiet! Silent Base 600 Red Window
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G9x
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Have you tried to get 5ghz with the 3600mhz RAM? It's usually a trade off between overclocking the CPU or the RAM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Sniper_3001 PC Specs
    Sniper_3001 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus ix Code
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB 4133 DDR4 - 16gig
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1080 FE
    Graphics Card #2Geforce GTX 1080 FE
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 1 gig M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 PRO 512 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series 760T
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P Platium
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2013
    Mouse Razer Naga
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Ok thx for the info. Yes I've tried to hit 5ghz on both mem config and it was exactly the same. So should I keep the 4266mhz ram or the 3609 MHz ram?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Caledor PC Specs
    Caledor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-8G-GAMING
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    Casebe quiet! Silent Base 600 Red Window
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G9x
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    If your 4266 kit is operating at 4133mhz, that's the best you can get, so stick with it.
    If you have to run it at 3600mhz, go with the 3600mhz kit, since it will have lower latency.

    You probably won't notice a difference at those speeds anyways.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Sniper_3001 PC Specs
    Sniper_3001 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus ix Code
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB 4133 DDR4 - 16gig
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1080 FE
    Graphics Card #2Geforce GTX 1080 FE
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 1 gig M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 PRO 512 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series 760T
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P Platium
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2013
    Mouse Razer Naga
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Ok so is there any real benefit of xmp if my ram is already running at 4133?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    Quote Originally Posted by Sniper_3001 View Post
    Ok so is there any real benefit of xmp if my ram is already running at 4133?
    No. When I was hunting for RAM I asked the same about benefits of 2400Mhz and 3200Mhz RAM. I went with 3000 because G.Skill Aegis was on sale. I can barely tell the difference between when it's at stock 2133Mhz and XMP'd to 3000Mhz. If I benched it, yes. But daily use brings no visible rewards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •