Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    At this point I'm all but positive that the issue is fixed. I'm glad I was able to find this fix - I had all but given up hope.

    Cheers, all!

  2. #22
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    OK, cool beans, fingers crossed it behaves from now on!

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    I might have spoken too soon. This morning it happened again. I'll try upping the voltages as Arne suggested, and see where that gets me.

    Cheers!

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Right this is complicated but here goes.

    Formula:

    xxx...three random numbers
    yyy where yyy=xxx+ a small random number where the result is still 3 numbers
    aaaa where aaaa=1+three random numbers 1 added to make it look like something special happened.
    bbbb where bbbb=2+three random numbers ....

    etc.
    You lost me here... are you suggesting that using motherboard defaults with no overclocking, and changing a single (apparently) "well-documented" value that fixes similar issues on other systems is somehow equivalent to using "random configurations" when trying to debug an issue such as this?

    That seems an absurd comparison, so I'll just assume I'm dumb and didn't understand what you meant (that's a safe assumption, btw )

    If you're instead suggesting that changing multiple things at a time is a bad idea and a bad way to debug the issue, then you're absolutely right and I wholeheartedly agree. That's why I first opted to change the tweak mode to "mode 1". That had very positive results in that the problem appeared to vanish completely over the space of several days. Instead of encountering the issue ~20%-25% of the time, it went down to the single digits, if not lower!

    The net effect of the applied fix is that it lowered the frequency of occurrences significantly, but apparently didn't eliminate it. The next step is to up the DRAM voltage from 1.2v to 1.21v (already done, let's see how it goes). Then 1.22v ... then if that fails, VCCSA +0.010v, then +0.020v, etc....

    All in all, it'll take me weeks to ensure that the issue is truly fixed, so I'll let you guys know how that turns out.

    Cheers!

  5. #25
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    Sorry GoatHumper...I've no idea how that got there actually...it's the reply to a totally different thread!

    The fact that changing to mode 1 helped but not totally just means exactly that, that voltages are not high enough to run spec frequency at spec timings. If I were you I'd save some time and start at 1.35v and work down since I suspect stable voltage will be closer to 1.35 than to 1.2v

    If you use sufficient voltage you might not need to use mode 1 and get some performance back

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    I've upped the voltage to 1.35v. I had decided to start lower because the manufacturer's specifications for the kit call for 1.2v. Ironically, I had the issue again this morning even after upping the voltage to 1.21v. We'll see what 1.35v does.

    Thanks!

  7. #27
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    Yeah I get you...but quite often those 1.2v kits are just too optimistic for some Haswell E IMCs...also check VCCSA...if that's set at 0.8xx or 0.9xxv it might be good to bump that higher...1.1v maybe a bit more....probably a combination of VDIMM and VCCSA will sort you out at 2133...at least I'd hope so...
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 12-21-2018 at 05:01 PM.

  8. #28
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks for starting this thread. I'm having the same problem with a Z370-A Prime and a 9600k. I tried a different brand new set of Micron DDR4 and had the same problem, but still no consistent wake. I have my PC S3 sleep and wake every few hours to do a few short tasks and go back to sleep, but sometimes with this hardware it just fails to wake and has the fans on full speed. Definitely not a fun thing to wake up to in the morning. Have tried a different PSU, memory as I said, and have tried removing all "unnecessary" peripherals to no avail.

    I've tried bumping the voltage as well. I had the same problem whether XMP was turned on or off, so I decided to leave it on and bump the DRAM voltage to 1.37 (from the XMP default of 1.35) to see how it behaves. My VCCSA default voltage was 1.2, so I bumped that up to 1.3. Seems a bit high since you're mentioning bumping it up to 1.1... hope I'm not doing something wrong. I'm waiting to see how stability is affected.

    Is this a Sky/Kaby/Coffee Lake issue? My Haswell machine (with an Asus z87-A) works perfectly, and can S3 sleep for literally weeks without an issue. I bought another Asus when building this new machine because of how awesome my sleep experience has been with the Z87, but should I be regretting it? Would a different manufacturer's product be better at maintaining more stable voltage levels or is this purely a RAM stability thing? It just seems odd that two pairs of DDR4 would have the same problem -- if it is a RAM issue why are RAM manufacturers selling unstable kits?

  9. #29
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,399

    Hi autoturk

    Sorry I had Haswell in my post but we're talking Haswell E X99...different platform...
    1.3 VCCSA on that platform is at the high end of safe I think...though too much can be as bad as not enough sometimes

    Maybe start a new thread?

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Do you have similar "safe ranges" for me?

    I've set 1.35v for the DRAM, and that should be OK, but haven't touched the VCCSA yet - I'm thinking 1.1v would be my max (currently at ~0.8v)...

    Thoughts?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •