Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 108
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    Quote Originally Posted by hellokitty View Post
    well now they want me to rma it, after months and numerous pointless emails. They need to get there support together. well i just bought a Gigabyte Alpine ridge thunderbolt 3 card, very hard to find, coming from germany. from what i have read this should work, but i wonder if it will have same issues?
    Would be interesting to see if the board they ship back after RMA is of a different hardware revision. Could be also interesting to check if they manually upgrade the firmware As for the Gigabyte board I know they have one but I'm not sure you can hook it on the platform to retrieve the display signal ?

    Still RMAing rather than offering a long overdue firmware update is kind of... strange ? ;-)

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array hellokitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    yep

    The gigabyte card has double 2 usb c 2 mini displayport and hdmi. some people put the ex3 in a gigabyte board and it worked, so i think this should work. the video is just a pass thru.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    +1 need a solution to Thunderbolt EX 3 mess

    Hey guys,

    I feel like I found my people when I stumbled across this thread.

    I also own the X99 Deluxe-II and am struggling to get my Thunderbolt EX 3 card to work. I built my machine for high-end video editing and effects. Nearly all of my clients are Mac users, so they bring me their projects on Thunderbolt-equipped drives. I've also got a Thunderbolt-based Pegasus RAID I need to connect to at work.

    When I first built my machine, the EX 3 card actually worked fairly effortlessly (this was in September). I believe it was plugged into PCIEX16_5, Thunderbolt header cable attached, and I installed the Windows drivers from Asus' website.

    But at a certain point Thunderbolt just stopped being recognized.

    Like earlier posts in this thread, I was experiencing intermittent "dropouts." I'd go into the BIOS, and in the NB System Agent, instead of seeing "Linked as X4" I'd see "Not Present." And in Windows, I'd lose any mention of Thunderbolt in the Device Manger, in SIV, and the little Thunderbolt icon would stop appearing in the system tray.

    I spent (wasted) days shuffling around my PCIE cards (I also have a M.2 drive, a Titan X Pascal, and a BlackMagic 4K Mini Monitor in my PCIE slots), reinstalling drivers, scouring Internet forums, following arcane procedures (remove the EX 3 card but leave the header cable plugged in, reboot into Windows, install drivers, reinstall card, start Windows with Tbolt off in BIOS, restart, say ten Hail Marys, turn on Tbolt in Bios, restart, etc.).

    Long story short, I am only able to get Tbolt recognition in Windows / BIOS by UNPLUGGING MY PC, leaving it off for 10-ish seconds, plugging back in, and rebooting. That allows my BIOS to see "Linked as X4," and Thunderbolt shows up in SIV, in Device Manager, in the System Tray.

    Not that it actually works, however. If I plug in a USB device to the Type-A slot in the EX 3, I hear the sad "boodoop" and a notification pops up that says "USB Device not recognized." And if I start my machine with a Thunderbolt equipped drive plugged into the USB-C type Tbolt port, well, there's no reaction on Windows part whatsoever. No "boodoop," no notification. If I double click the Tbolt icon in the system tray, I'm staring at an empty white window. No Tbolt devices recognized.

    I called Asus support yesterday, and had a long conversation about this with their front line support team. They were incredibly nice, but of course the feedback was limited to "did you update the drivers, are you running the latest BIOS, etc." I did get the person to escalate my case to the "advanced team." I was hopeful about that, before I read in this thread that others had been promised the advanced team and gotten radio silence. I did ask the support guy to simply google "EX 3 card doesn't work" and to marvel at the many results. I also complained about the Tbolt drivers on the website being from ONE YEAR AGO. He seemed to understand my frustration.

    So my question to you is, how did the RMA go mentioned in a previous post? New Tbolt card any better? Also, for the person who's trying a Gigabyte card in the Asus X99-Deluxe II...that's an intriguing option, and I can't imagine it working, but does it?

    I'm also heartened to hear that the EX 2 card works...to be honest most of my Tbolt devices are still display-port shaped Thunderbolt, so "downgrading" to the EX 2, if I can find one for sale, is an option for me.

    Thanks,
    Jeff

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array hellokitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    Yeh i am still waiting on the Gigabyte card, it is in america somewhere? just cleared customs 2 days ago. I rma the other card, no word on it, they will just send a new card maybe and dismiss us and our issues. Yeh i originally bought my card in october and it worked at first for like 3 months, then it started with the same issues as evereyone here. Get the thunderbolt EX 2 Dual if you can, i just got a Universal Audio Apollo Twin Quad and it is working great, it does not like working with thunderbolt docks, cause i think it has problems with there built in audio maybe? i dont know, i tried 2 different docks and had some issues. well anyway, i will have more info soon.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array bgen5pax PC Specs
    bgen5pax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)32GB (4x8) Crucial Ballistix DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1Asus Matrix GTX980-P-4GD5
    MonitorAsus PB278Q
    Storage #1Asus RAIDR Express PCIe SSD 240G
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S
    CaseCoolermaster Silencio 652S
    Power SupplyCoolermaster G650M
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus DSL-N17U

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Jefe533 View Post
    Hey guys,

    I feel like I found my people when I stumbled across this thread.

    I also own the X99 Deluxe-II and am struggling to get my Thunderbolt EX 3 card to work. I built my machine for high-end video editing and effects. Nearly all of my clients are Mac users, so they bring me their projects on Thunderbolt-equipped drives. I've also got a Thunderbolt-based Pegasus RAID I need to connect to at work.

    When I first built my machine, the EX 3 card actually worked fairly effortlessly (this was in September). I believe it was plugged into PCIEX16_5, Thunderbolt header cable attached, and I installed the Windows drivers from Asus' website.

    But at a certain point Thunderbolt just stopped being recognized.

    Like earlier posts in this thread, I was experiencing intermittent "dropouts." I'd go into the BIOS, and in the NB System Agent, instead of seeing "Linked as X4" I'd see "Not Present." And in Windows, I'd lose any mention of Thunderbolt in the Device Manger, in SIV, and the little Thunderbolt icon would stop appearing in the system tray.

    I spent (wasted) days shuffling around my PCIE cards (I also have a M.2 drive, a Titan X Pascal, and a BlackMagic 4K Mini Monitor in my PCIE slots), reinstalling drivers, scouring Internet forums, following arcane procedures (remove the EX 3 card but leave the header cable plugged in, reboot into Windows, install drivers, reinstall card, start Windows with Tbolt off in BIOS, restart, say ten Hail Marys, turn on Tbolt in Bios, restart, etc.).

    Long story short, I am only able to get Tbolt recognition in Windows / BIOS by UNPLUGGING MY PC, leaving it off for 10-ish seconds, plugging back in, and rebooting. That allows my BIOS to see "Linked as X4," and Thunderbolt shows up in SIV, in Device Manager, in the System Tray.

    Not that it actually works, however. If I plug in a USB device to the Type-A slot in the EX 3, I hear the sad "boodoop" and a notification pops up that says "USB Device not recognized." And if I start my machine with a Thunderbolt equipped drive plugged into the USB-C type Tbolt port, well, there's no reaction on Windows part whatsoever. No "boodoop," no notification. If I double click the Tbolt icon in the system tray, I'm staring at an empty white window. No Tbolt devices recognized.

    I called Asus support yesterday, and had a long conversation about this with their front line support team. They were incredibly nice, but of course the feedback was limited to "did you update the drivers, are you running the latest BIOS, etc." I did get the person to escalate my case to the "advanced team." I was hopeful about that, before I read in this thread that others had been promised the advanced team and gotten radio silence. I did ask the support guy to simply google "EX 3 card doesn't work" and to marvel at the many results. I also complained about the Tbolt drivers on the website being from ONE YEAR AGO. He seemed to understand my frustration.

    So my question to you is, how did the RMA go mentioned in a previous post? New Tbolt card any better? Also, for the person who's trying a Gigabyte card in the Asus X99-Deluxe II...that's an intriguing option, and I can't imagine it working, but does it?

    I'm also heartened to hear that the EX 2 card works...to be honest most of my Tbolt devices are still display-port shaped Thunderbolt, so "downgrading" to the EX 2, if I can find one for sale, is an option for me.

    Thanks,
    Jeff
    If you follow my procedure a few posts back it will work. For USB3.1 to work you need to enable usb and boot support from within TB settings in BIOS. The symptoms you experience are exactly the same as mine. I noticed however, that if I switch power switch to off on my PSU after shutting down normally from Windows, the card does not "drop off" of my BIOS any more. I cannot explain why this is happening, I guess it has something to do with voltage present on board at all times. For what is worth, I also use a UPS to power my rig and it's connected with its own USB cable to one port on the ASMEDIA controller.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array hellokitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    Gigabyte Alpine Ridge

    Well it works, I thought it would. Let's see how long. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Alpine Ridge small.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	434.6 KB 
ID:	64259Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Alpine Ridge 2 small.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	772.9 KB 
ID:	64260

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    Brilliant picture. Should be titled "To make an Asus works, get the Gigabyte". Or something like that

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Wow!

    Quote Originally Posted by linxeye View Post
    Brilliant picture. Should be titled "To make an Asus works, get the Gigabyte". Or something like that
    Cool! Thank you for posting this! I just ordered the Asus Thunderbolt EX II/Dual and am now regretting that purchase a bit as I see you've got Tbolt 3 working with the Gigabyte.

    Were you able to get a Thunderbolt external hard drive to work?

    Also, what did you do about the drivers and BIOS settings? Did you install the Windows Tbolt drivers from the Asus EX 3 site? Or did you install Windows Tbolt drivers from Gigabyte?

    What kind of BIOS settings were you rocking in the Mobo? I'm guessing you enabled Tbolt in the Advanced Tab, set the AIC Location to correspond to wherever you physically installed the card. What about the obscure stuff, like "GPIO3" power, the fast boot tweaks, Legacy vs UniqueID, etc?

    Did you have to perform any trickery? Like booting up with the header plugged in but NOT the card, installing drivers, rebooting with the card in, running into Windows but without enabling Tbolt in BIOS, then rebooting WITH Tbolt enabled, etc.?

    Or was the experience more or less plug and play?

    Thank you again for following up!

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array hellokitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    I turned off computer, put new card in, went into the bios and just looked at the settings, did not change anything. I would wait a bit before buying one of these, since you got the other card coming. I have been using the drivers for this card with my thunderbolt ex 2 dual. http://uk.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/G...-10#support-dl I think they are the latest from intel. I dont have a Thunderbolt drive, but im useing The Apollo Twin MarkII Quad with it. I have other devices from Sonnet i can test with it, but so far no problems.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    EXII/Dual works

    My Thunderbolt EXII/Dual card arrived, and I'm happy to report that it works! I barely had to troubleshoot or think about the installation. Just ripped out my EX3, slotted in the EX2, connected the header cable, booted up with default BIOS, installed Windows Thunderbolt drivers from Asus' EXII website support tab, rebooted with Thunderbolt enabled in the advanced tab of the BIOS, changed ZERO settings (AIC location was correct by default, to the Southbridge slot of my X99-Deluxe II), and boom, my Thunderbolt drive was recognized in Windows!

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/vvkkz2jm5i...33273.jpg?dl=0

    It's even hot-pluggable, which is a pleasant shock to me. I thought in Windows you either booted up with the Tbolt drive plugged in, or you couldn't use it. I can eject and replug my Thunderbolt drive in willy-nilly, during regular Windows operation. Cool!

    On the minus side, only ONE of the two ports on my Thunderbolt EXII/Dual card works. Ugh. A final f-u from Asus to me. Whatever, I can't bother troubleshooting that. Even though it would be nice to have both ports since many external hard drives don't have a daisy chain pass through Thunderbolt port.

    Thank you guys so much for the tip that the EXII/Dual card works. To be honest, all my devices are Thunderbolt 2 anyway, and I will NOT be purchasing any Thunderbolt 3 devices, ever.

    So this is enough of a solution to my issue, even though I'm mad as hell I had to shell out $150 to buy the last ThunderboltEXII card I could find in stock.

    Cheers,
    Jeff

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •