Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 39 of 39
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    I usually take temperatures from stress test with a pinch of salt. Since you normally don't hit those temperatures on daily usage. But your temperatures look fine.

    Regarding sensors, it's a matter of preference. Most users prefer core temperatures. So it's your call.

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array chiilin PC Specs
    chiilin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G75VW
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake @ 5050MHz (OC 20%)
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (16GB X 2) (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Monitor2-each Asus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240 CPU Cooler
    CaseCooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W G2
    Headset/Speakers Astro A50 Wireless Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (R8000)
    chiilin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    79

    Understood and agreed about the stress test temps. That's why I'm not concerned when they hit relatively high temps for only very brief periods: under normal conditions I'll probably never get temps that high.

    But regarding core vs. socket temps: aren't we basically at the mercy of what program we are using?

    I mean, you said HWMonitor takes temps at the core, and DIP5 uses socket temp. And we aren't supposed to have more than one program measuring temps at one time (rule of thumb). So, if I'm monitoring with DIP5, which also has the convenience of having Fan Xpert 4 running, etc. Then I'm going to be seeing socket temps since that is what that program polls, right?

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Pretty much. So it all comes down to which type of monitoring you prefer and then choose the program that offers that reading.

  4. #34
    ROG Member Array agony22 PC Specs
    agony22 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix Z270 ITX
    ProcessorIntel 7700K
    Memory (part number)GSKILL RGB 4.266hz 16gb
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorLG 34UC88
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Western digital 2TB blue
    CPU CoolerNoctua DH9L
    CaseCorsair air 240
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 750watt
    Keyboard Logitech K380
    Mouse Logitech MX master
    Headset Sennheiser Mommentum HD inear Wireless
    Mouse Pad steelseries
    Headset/Speakers B&W P5 wireless + B&W MM-1
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Villa chiesa

    Hi to all , new to this forum

    I use 7700K stock 4.2 -4.5 boost , Windows 10 energy saving set to performance and my cpu at 100% load has 1.206v-1.208v to all cores and I have Maximum Temps on stress test Silverbence I open the program 2 times in 2 different windows and run them at the same time , even the mouse is lagging
    So after 30 minites of stress test I got 80c is that normal ???

    My Cpu Cooler is Noctua DH9L using Noctua thermal paste, ( I was using Artic silver 5 and I got 83 max temp)

    I understand that this cooler is way to small but I use it with 3770K 4.2 on all cores and I never got more than 70c.
    So is this normal ?
    Thanks !!!

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Your temperature looks normal given that you're using the Noctua NH-D9L. It should suffice in normal usage, but if you're planning to overclock, you should invest in a bigger heatsink.

  6. #36
    ROG Member Array agony22 PC Specs
    agony22 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix Z270 ITX
    ProcessorIntel 7700K
    Memory (part number)GSKILL RGB 4.266hz 16gb
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorLG 34UC88
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Western digital 2TB blue
    CPU CoolerNoctua DH9L
    CaseCorsair air 240
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 750watt
    Keyboard Logitech K380
    Mouse Logitech MX master
    Headset Sennheiser Mommentum HD inear Wireless
    Mouse Pad steelseries
    Headset/Speakers B&W P5 wireless + B&W MM-1
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Thanks for you reply .. I will not overclock , 7700k on this corsair air 240 and the biggest air cooler that it fits on this case and mobo its already way to much.
    So I will stay using default clocks , and maybe I will change my case and use Noctua D15 next time.
    I feel ok for now listening what you said

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,643

    ****! now i have to scratch myself from the comments.... let me try it. it has being a wile. 6700k with a hero ix should not be a problem right? I just make a clean install since i change 960 evo. has all current new drivers. any notes or observations before installing the only version of the heroIX that is Version V1.01.56 2017/01/05 200.16 MBytes. please let me know quick since i am on my screen now.

  8. #38

  9. #39
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    DIP5 is not working properly for me.

    I leave the maximum v.core at default on the slider (1.55v)

    During tuning when system blue screens, after reboot it does NOT begin from "where it left off".

    What SHOULD happen is DIP5 should raise the voltage and try the same frequency again. But it doesn't!

    Instead; it simply moves onto step 2 (fan control) -- leaving my CPU overclock at the frequency achieved 1 step before system crash.



    I have the ROG IX MAXIMUS APEX. When I enter O/C settings into the UEFI manually I can pass Realbench at 5.1Ghz 1.4v.
    With DIP5 it stops at 4.6 Ghz.

    ASUS - why can't we get this working properly?
    So after a crash DIP5 "remembers" the CPU speed before crash. Then tries the same frequency again at a higher voltage (and repeats this until reaching the maximum voltage the user sets)?

    Multiplier should then still continue to be automatically increased until the maximum voltage is achieved.
    Last edited by Nick Peyton; 10-22-2017 at 04:55 PM.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •