Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Unhappy 4-Way optimization with AI Suite 2

    Hello all,

    I had built a PC 3 years back with overclocking on the mind. I was fully attracted to the idea of the 4-way optimization 1-click Overclocking but I was never able to get it to work. Clicking that button seemed to send the PC into a spiral of crashes until I put the settings back to the original settings in the Bios.

    I had successfully overclocked the PC through the Bios but it still bothers me to this day that I could never get the neat ROG feature designed to "Optimize" my PCs specs. Curious if this is a common problem and is AI suite 3 fixed this issue?

    My current PC specs are:

    Intel i5-4670K
    16 GB (4x4) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 mhz RAM
    Asus GTX 760-DC2OC-2GD5
    Corsair AXi Series AX860i PSU
    Asus Maximus VI Formula LGA 1150 z87 mobo
    Corsair Force Series GT 2.5" 120 GB SSD
    Seagate Hybrid drive ST1000DX001 1TB
    Corsair Hydro series H110 w/ SP140 fans

    I havent made any updates to the PC in the last 3 years from when I built it. I may be upgrading the GPU soon as the GTX 760 is bottom barrel garbage compared to whats out there now. I cant even SLI it without paying a premium for a discontinued GPU.
    Through Bios, Ive manage to stabilize an over clock of 4.0 Ghz @ 1.200v, 4.2 Ghz @ 1.250v, and 4.4 Ghz @1.300. I hadnt tried any higher than that as I found that maybe I had one of the bad batches of i5-4670K haswell processors. Came to this conclussion after watching some i5s achieve higher clocks with lower voltage on youtube. This led me to believe this was the cause for the 4-way optimization to constantly crash the PC as it kept setting a much lower voltage then what I found I needed. But shouldnt it determine that a higher voltage is required? or is this predetermined in the software based on the discovered CPU id?

    basically I am just guessing its doesnt work because possibly bad quality CPU, but is this a common issue for others? or is there something in my build that is causing the crashes outside of the CPU possibility?

    I should have written this post a long time ago but I was satisfied with my Bios overclocking. But now Im bringing it up as a curiosity, and would like information.
    ASUS ROG Maximus VI Formula mobo
    Intel Haswell i5 4670K processor
    Corsair 16GB (4x4GB) 1600mhz Vengeance memory
    ASUS GTX760 2.0GB GPU
    Corsair AX860i PSU
    Corsair GT 120GB SSD (OS)
    Seagate 1TB SSHD
    Corsair Hydro-series H110
    ASUS blu-ray
    Corsair Obsidian 660D case
    NZXT 2m sleeved LEDs (red)

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,855

    I've yet to see the optimization work as it should. I gave it a try and it set my Vcore through the roof on a 6700K CPU, like 1.495 to get 4.3 GHz over 4.2 stock? Consequently I got that same CPU to 5GHz on less Vcore!*
    I gave the software a try also to save from constant reboots that didn't work so well either. I've found the old school method of making tweaks in the bios where you get much more control to remain the best method for boosting your clock speeds. *

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Well I just made a horrible mistake lol. *I started playing around in gpu tweak 2, and I clicked the 3D clock always icon because why not. *Now my computer won't boot to windows. *The screen goes black with some weird coloration skewed across the screen in freeze frames. *Then the computer reboots. *Trying to reset the pc and reinstall windows now lol.
    ASUS ROG Maximus VI Formula mobo
    Intel Haswell i5 4670K processor
    Corsair 16GB (4x4GB) 1600mhz Vengeance memory
    ASUS GTX760 2.0GB GPU
    Corsair AX860i PSU
    Corsair GT 120GB SSD (OS)
    Seagate 1TB SSHD
    Corsair Hydro-series H110
    ASUS blu-ray
    Corsair Obsidian 660D case
    NZXT 2m sleeved LEDs (red)

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array daveycracker80 PC Specs
    daveycracker80 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire Nitro V15
    MotherboardASUS X99 A-II
    ProcessorIntel i7-5820k
    Memory (part number)G Skill Ripjaws 2400mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1070 Strix OC
    MonitorAOC G2460PF BenQ GL2460
    Storage #1Samsung SSD's
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda's
    CPU CoolerNZXT X62 Kraken
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Sennheiser HD280 Pro HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad SteeleSeries QCK XXL
    Headset/Speakers AverMedia Ballistix Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I recently used 1 click with AI Suite 3 on my system out of curiosity. It could only get my 5820k to 4.1ghz and it put my voltage at adaptive, so one of these days I intend on going in and seeing if I can make some adjustments to get a better overclock with a fixed voltage.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    It seems like the consensus in the AI suite 3 one click optimization is actually one-click inefficiency button and nobody uses it. Thats good to know. I felt like i was missing out on a nice tool.
    ASUS ROG Maximus VI Formula mobo
    Intel Haswell i5 4670K processor
    Corsair 16GB (4x4GB) 1600mhz Vengeance memory
    ASUS GTX760 2.0GB GPU
    Corsair AX860i PSU
    Corsair GT 120GB SSD (OS)
    Seagate 1TB SSHD
    Corsair Hydro-series H110
    ASUS blu-ray
    Corsair Obsidian 660D case
    NZXT 2m sleeved LEDs (red)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •