Pailong
Level 7
Hi guys,

Just completed a new build, first time in 9 years:

i7 7700K
Maximus IX Hero
Asus GTX 1080 OC edition
Corsair H115i AIO cooler
Corsair 32GB DDR4 3000mhz ram (2x16gb sticks)

Booted up the computer, it runs straight into bios first time no problems. I tried setting XMP and choosing the 3000mhz speed (changing from default 2133mhz) and save it but the system wont post. Cleared cmos and tried other tweak profiles but still doesn't work.

I'm completely new to overclocking and never done it before - can anyone hep and advise please?

Does the CPU need to be overclocked for the ram to run at 3000mhz? I'm guessing I can't just try to overclock the ram independently of the CPU for 3000mhz?*
15 REPLIES 15

Silent_Scone
Super Moderator
Hi,

What Q-Code is displayed on the motherboard LED after attempting to POST with XMP enabled?

You can try both tweak modes from within the Maximus Tweak menu under DRAM Timing Control.

Try also setting a manual VCCIO and VCCSA voltage of 1.2v
13900KS / 8000 CAS36 / ROG APEX Z790 / ROG TUF RTX 4090

Silent Scone wrote:
Hi,

What Q-Code is displayed on the motherboard LED after attempting to POST with XMP enabled?

You can try both tweak modes from within the Maximus Tweak menu under DRAM Timing Control.

Try also setting a manual VCCIO and VCCSA voltage of 1.2v

It was displaying code 01 and 03.

I just tried your suggestion of VCCIO and VCCSA of 1.2v each and it worked! Bios booted up fine, registering as 3000mhz ram! Thanks so much!

Can I ask - is 1.2v standard for this speed? Is it a good voltage for long term use? I'm still trying to learn more about OC'ing and understand this.*

Pailong wrote:
It was displaying code 01 and 03.

I just tried your suggestion of VCCIO and VCCSA of 1.2v each and it worked! Bios booted up fine, registering as 3000mhz ram! Thanks so much!