Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Maximus VIII Hero OVP

    I simply had to disable over voltage protection on the motherboard
    Last edited by guarizapo; 06-26-2020 at 03:13 AM. Reason: added info

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    If you've reverted back to the previous BIOS and are using default values as a starting point with no OC at all I would be looking at the OS. Normally it's not a problem but when we go to tweaking it's not out of the question to botch the kernel.*

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Are you using a single memory kit? And have you tested your system at stock defaults?

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    [QUOTE=guarizapo;634432]Okay so i built this system in march 2016
    I've been getting random freezes, and I mean they are really random, for example some days it wont happen at all (I don't leave my PC on all day), but rarely more than once a day.
    my PC just randomly freezes or sometimes it reboots (it is set to stay off after a power loss)
    I ran memtest 86 for like 16 hours (8 and a half full passes) with no errors....

    I had the same problem and further it got worse .... Now I PC to the RMA and the result of faulty CPU I7 6700K

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I've had the same issue with my GENE VIII. Some people suggest disabling C-states or running at stock 2133 memory speeds. I bumped up my VCCSA and VCCIO voltage, crashes became less frequent...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array RazerWaleed PC Specs
    RazerWaleed PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7 6700k Skylake
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB 3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Nvidia 1070 GTX Strix OC 8GB
    MonitorLG 22 IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 750 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2SEAGATE HDD 7200MHZ 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 – Designed by Razer
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard DeathStalker by Razer
    Mouse Deathadder CHROMA - Razer
    Mouse Pad Razer Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Multimedia Speakers Z150
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    I had the same issue for month and i know how bad its. my issue is solved turned out its one app was causing this, even no one know the fix but after digging here and there i managed it.


    make sure first everything is default, no new driver or app installed. i would not bother and say make sure voltage is sit correctly, temp is monitored, etc so just make it fresh PC.

    ask Microsoft community and share with them the MINI DUMP file they wil easily point to the cause, u can think work on solving it. they may not give u direct fix but at least u can work on something and figure it out as i did.

    and i see u should enable STOP error screen because strange its not appearing for u. that give u also idea on error code.

    good luck.
    Last edited by RazerWaleed; 03-17-2017 at 08:59 AM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array sigN84 PC Specs
    sigN84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix Sport DIMM Kit 16GB, DDR4-2400, CL16 (BLS2C8G4D240FSA)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC Aktiv

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hey guys

    I have exactly the same problem ! Had already tried everything I could find... Nothing helps...

    Motherboard
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
    Processor
    Intel® Core™ i7-6700K
    Memory
    Crucial Ballistix Sport DIMM Kit 16GB, DDR4-2400, CL16 (BLS2C8G4D240FSA.16FA)

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array dannyboy292 PC Specs
    dannyboy292 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3200 16GB (2x8)
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 980 OC
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo
    Storage #2WD Black HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseNZXT Phantom 410
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RBG
    Mouse Corsair Vengance M95
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    I had this same problem a few months back and could not for the life of me figure it out until someone asked me if I tried the Intel® Processor Diagnostic Tool on my CPU and low and behold my CPU was faulty , I would highly suggest trying it....https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...iagnostic-Tool

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array sigN84 PC Specs
    sigN84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix Sport DIMM Kit 16GB, DDR4-2400, CL16 (BLS2C8G4D240FSA)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC Aktiv

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by dannyboy292 View Post
    I had this same problem a few months back and could not for the life of me figure it out until someone asked me if I tried the Intel® Processor Diagnostic Tool on my CPU and low and behold my CPU was faulty , I would highly suggest trying it....https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...iagnostic-Tool

    The CPU seems to be ok

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Unbenannt5464.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	155.7 KB 
ID:	63349

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •