Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Asus Rampage V Edition 10 Memory Freq

    Hello Guys!
    I just installed my new RIG with 6850k and lovely RVE10.
    I got problem with XMP, because my memory is Corsair Dominator Platinum 3733Mhz CL17 1,35V and they can't pass Post with that freq.
    Max stable is if i remember 3466Mhz. More than that is fail with post. Codes are CC and bd when switched off memtest, attempt fast boot:enabled, dram training:ignore and attemp fast cold boot: enabled.
    Any ideas ?

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Board support is listed as 3333 though QVL has some 3400 kits listed with Broadwell E. Though these are likely qualified with higher binned CPUs like 6950X and 6900K

    You really need a quad channel kit form the QVL if you are trying to push max frequency for the board.

    You can try Tweak mode 2 in BIOS and adjust some settings in DIGI+ section but by the time you have loosened timings etc. to achieve stability at higher frequency you may well have worse performance than lower frequencies with tighter timings.

    You can of course increase voltage...try higher DRAM voltage and VCCSA/VCCIO.....

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Okay
    Yeah i need to buy extra ram to get quad channel, but right now in this month i got money for this haha
    So better is sell that RAM and get 3400Mhz with cl16/15 or buy two more and see what's going on quad channel ?
    Also what Ram do you recommend to be fast at post and games ?

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Best not to try and double up kits on this platform https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

    I would recommend the same kit I am running F4-3200C14Q-32GVK I am running it at 3200 1T, 14-14-14-34 or even 13-13-13-28 with 1.4 VDIMM

    However memory frequency makes next to zero difference in post or games so don't expect to see a return for your investment there.

    the 3400 kits are all 16-18-18

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post633399

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Wow, you suprised me. I will sell or take it to second RIG this memory.
    You think to better get 3400 Mhz with CL16-18-18 or that 3200 with nice 14-14-14 ?
    If Ram T is lower, then motherboard post faster ? Am I right or just getting crazy right now ??
    Last question, what about voltage ? This processor likes it or better go with 1,2v?

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    You are just getting crazy post time is virtually unaffected by RAM speed

    I think 3200 is a sweet spot on these systems...much more likely to work first try etc.

    For 24/7 OC that gives you good performance for good voltage and temps yes look for about 4.4GHz...always depends on chip and cooling of course...this may be possible around 1.2v maybe a touch more...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Cool ! Thanks for that answer, because i knew that DDR3 are faster in initialization and thinked about that Timings...
    Are 1,35 Voltage for Ram is okay on this system ? Some systems didn't like it.
    Iam gonna offtop now but something wrong with my m.2 950 Pro boot. It's not about POST now but when it get after, i got about 3/4 cricles before deskopt show up.
    In my last system (Maximus VIII Extreme) this was 2 circles on this m.2, and in second RIG (Z170 PRO GAMMING) it was HALF CIRCLE and i was on deskopt... its crazy but sometimes i wasn't even able to see that loading window screen.... But on this board this is dramatic.. Come on...
    Okay, I disabled Memtest, and set up all this settings for RAM. Fast BooT is enabled, boot prio is for only this drive and usb keyboard. CSM disabled, no secure boot keys. Fresh GPT Uefi Win 10 Pro. Any ideas ? Maybe its problem with Ram (no quad channel) ? You must help !!


    EDIT:
    In task menager:
    Last time system BIOS: 12569,4s ????????????
    And every single windows launch there are another crazy numbers...
    Yeah.. This system is 100% legal downloaded from Windows site.
    Last edited by Zaki; 02-25-2017 at 01:54 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    If you uefi installed is first boot priority "windows boot manager"....set that if not...not drive name...

    This platform is more complicated and DDR4 takes longer to post....30seconds is normal.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Yeah I know and it is at first prio.
    Thats sucks, because this ssd is slower than on my other boards...

    EDIT:
    I got strange BSOD when loading windows after reinstalling windows and all set up for x99...:
    system check exception = bsod

    Also, memory aren't recognized in black slots. Only in gray...
    It's hard to get into windows, but if I get there everything is stable...
    Any idea ?? This is RAM problem or could by faulty motherboard ?
    Even in Auto (non-XMP) this happens...
    Last edited by Zaki; 02-26-2017 at 11:31 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Hard to say for sure but yes, I would wonder about RAM problems.

    Maybe download fresh 1607 Win 10 iso and make fresh install media on another computer. Thing is RAM, if unstable can corrupt OS install, and then it's a vicious circle..

    Ram will not work on black slots....

    Get some X99 RAM...maybe ignore my recommendation and get something on the QVL!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •