cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Correct way to apply thermal paste - thick or thin ?

Woelund
Level 7
Hi,

as I am new to building PCs (nowadays ... I remember replacing my 286 with a 386 back then ...) I would like to ask some advice on applying thermal paste during assembly of a new system:

1) Is it OK to add "a bit more for safety" even if the past squeezes out underneath the block (for example, if I use a water cooling block) ? (In other words: is it a real problem if paste touches the outside of the CPU, or is this just an aesthetic problem ?)

2) Is there a technical reason to keep the paste as thin as possible ? Or would it be even beneficial to apply a thicker film (of course limited by the pressure the water block puts on the CPU) ?

I do not yet own a water cooling system but I saw in the advertisements that some blocks come with "thermal paste preapplied". Should I trust such setup or should I rather add extra paste before assembly, just to be safe ?

This brings me to my last question:

3) Is it a problem to mix pastes ? Do I HAVE to clean the pre-applied paste before applying my own, if I wanted to do that ? Or can I mix the two without any issue ?

Thanks !

Woelund
16 REPLIES 16

MeanMachine
Level 13
Hi Woelund 🙂

A commonly asked question on what to use and how to apply TIM. (Oils ain't Oils and TIM ain't TIM)
It does make a difference as to what you use. I use either AS5 or MX4 which have very similar thermal conductive properties. A TIM is good if it is like grease in consistency and not a thick oil. It should be applied as sparingly as possible to fill just the tiniest of Voids. TIM should not squeeze out the sides of the thermal plate 😞 as it can cause issues and applying too much will deplete thermal efficiency.
The most common practice is to apply a small pea sized blob to the center of the CPU and tighten down the brackets in a crosswise pattern in incremental steps and only finger tight.