Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array vidguys PC Specs
    vidguys PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus VIII Hero Alfa
    Processori7-6700K 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB CMD16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1070 FTW
    MonitorAcer 27 inch
    Storage #1WD Black Performance 1TB
    Storage #2HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB
    CPU CoolerArtic Liquid Freezer 120
    CaseZalman Z11 Plus HF
    Power SupplyEVGA 750W 80+ Gold Semi Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G110
    Mouse Inland 07244
    Headset Gear Head
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Water Pump Header Max viii H Alpha

    Maximus viii Hero Alpha:

    Does the water pump header know if it is has a 4 pole or 8 pole motor connected to indicate the correct rpm? Or does it assume that all water pumps are only 4 pole and giving the incorrect rpm of a 8 pole water pump motor?

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi vidguys

    The water pump header is suited for all in one cpu coolers, what cooler/pump do you have ?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array vidguys PC Specs
    vidguys PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus VIII Hero Alfa
    Processori7-6700K 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB CMD16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1070 FTW
    MonitorAcer 27 inch
    Storage #1WD Black Performance 1TB
    Storage #2HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB
    CPU CoolerArtic Liquid Freezer 120
    CaseZalman Z11 Plus HF
    Power SupplyEVGA 750W 80+ Gold Semi Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G110
    Mouse Inland 07244
    Headset Gear Head
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Arctic Liquid Cooler 120 and the pump motor is 8 poles.

    Is the board stating the real rpm or is it doubling the rpm?
    Last edited by vidguys; 03-04-2017 at 01:38 AM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    It would be a good idea to have the pump running at 100%, maximum pump speed is 5000 RPM.

    If this is your cooler it says it has a 3-pin cable to power the fixed speed pump. Connect that to the W_pump header and your fans to cpu and cpu_opt headers.

    Is this how you have it ?

    Your cooler ?

    https://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/co...r-120-review/1

  5. #5
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    The number of poles is normally irrelevant. Most fans and pumps for PC use with tach output use a hall effect sensor that outputs 2 pulses per motor revolution. This signal is than amplified and reshaped to obtain a usable signal for output to the motherboard.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •