Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    AI Suite & Bios Pump Control (Maximus Formula IX)

    So I have a couple of issues,

    First off I cannot control a PWM pump on W_PUMP+ header at all in AI suite. I have it set as enabled and on PWM mode in the bios, it will show the pump rpm in AI suite but there is no option to control it. If I set a manual speed curve in the bios for it once AI suite service loads it puts the pump to 100% and will not change it according to the bios settings. After uninstalling AI suite it will at least now follow the rpm settings in the bios.

    Second issue is that it seems silly that neither the CPU header or the W_PUMP+ header can be set to be controlled by anything other than the CPU temp. With such a focus on water cooling I fail to understand why there isn't an option to control it by water temp. When you have graphics cards and other waterblocks that may cause heat when the cpu doesn't only allowing CPU temp control is not very helpful. Which also brings me to question why there is no water temp header control options at all in the bios, I have taken to attaching my water temp probe to the spare temp sensor header on the motherboard so I can at least set the radiator fans to the water temp.

    Is there any way for these issues to be fixed or any idea if, in the case of the second issue, a change is in the works for bios watercooling control?

    Is my only option to stick the water pump on a chassis fan header if I want any control over it?

    If I want bios control (ie not using ai suite at all) of all my fans and pumps only by water temp, I would have to keep a water probe on the temp sensor header and ignore W_PUMP/CPU headers?

    (Btw I am on the latest bios, 0801, and did a couple cmos reset since upgrading. Also, if it matters, the pump I am using is the EK PWM dual pump)
    Last edited by Iormangund; 03-03-2017 at 04:27 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Iormangund View Post
    So I have a couple of issues,

    First off I cannot control a PWM pump on W_PUMP+ header at all in AI suite. I have it set as enabled and on PWM mode in the bios, it will show the pump rpm in AI suite but there is no option to control it. If I set a manual speed curve in the bios for it once AI suite service loads it puts the pump to 100% and will not change it according to the bios settings. After uninstalling AI suite it will at least now follow the rpm settings in the bios.

    Second issue is that it seems silly that neither the CPU header or the W_PUMP+ header can be set to be controlled by anything other than the CPU temp. With such a focus on water cooling I fail to understand why there isn't an option to control it by water temp. When you have graphics cards and other waterblocks that may cause heat when the cpu doesn't only allowing CPU temp control is not very helpful. Which also brings me to question why there is no water temp header control options at all in the bios, I have taken to attaching my water temp probe to the spare temp sensor header on the motherboard so I can at least set the radiator fans to the water temp.

    Is there any way for these issues to be fixed or any idea if, in the case of the second issue, a change is in the works for bios watercooling control?

    Is my only option to stick the water pump on a chassis fan header if I want any control over it?

    If I want bios control (ie not using ai suite at all) of all my fans and pumps only by water temp, I would have to keep a water probe on the temp sensor header and ignore W_PUMP/CPU headers?

    (Btw I am on the latest bios, 0801, and did a couple cmos reset since upgrading. Also, if it matters, the pump I am using is the EK PWM dual pump)
    Hi,
    I have nearly the same issue since I updated the Bios of my Maximus Hero IX to 0801. With the previous Bios it worked when i set the values in Bios. In Ai Suite it did not work. But now my water pump doesn't start, even if I configured it in the Bios settings. Fyi I use the Alphacool Eispumpe.

    Best regards
    André

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Well for now I have put the pump on a chassis fan header and it's working find on that and I can control it via water temp (on the extra temp header not water temp header). Have also abandoned the cpu fan header as I can't control that with anything but cpu temp.

    I hope at some point the problem get's fixed because having the cpu header, water pump header and water temp headers basically being useless for a complete watercooled build sucks considering the water cooling 'advantages' was one of the reasons I chose this motherboard instead of a competitor.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Ok,
    in my case it seems that the pump is out of order. Disconnected it from the wpump+ socket, so that it should run at full speed, but nothing happens. I think I have to change the pump after 4 weeks.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I have the same issue with the W_PUMP+ header on my Strix z270G board. I think Asus disabled the controls in the bios for some reason; like they think the best option is to have it at 100%. In Fan Xpert 4, I can only control it using the smart fan controls, the fixed rpm setting is disabled. Every basic fan setting (standard, silent, etc) will put it back to 100%. I also can't put the entire line at 100%, the part where the temperature box is red will always stay at 100%.

    I have a D5 Vario PWM pump in a small loop and at 100% it pushes so much water that it churns up the water in my reservoir and causes the pump to suck in air bubbles constantly. Personally, I'm probably going to abandon AI Suite and put my pump on the cpu header so I have bios controls to keep it lowered during startup, then go back to SpeedFan so I can still use my GPU to control the fans. They advertise Fan Xpert 4 as being able to control with your gpu, but I eventually found an article that says it only works for Asus cards. The AI Suite doesn't even see my 1070.

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    I know you dont want to hear it but there is a way for all of these issues to be fixed.

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/aquac...rafik-lcd.html

    This is what I use and it controls two D5 pumps in series and 7 fans with the liquid temp as the reference. If you are water cooling nothing else makes sense as the water temp is what you are regulating with the fans. It also has the ability to add a flowmeter that is pretty darn accurate.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	curves.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	174.0 KB 
ID:	63184

    here is what happens with CPU temp controlling fans, note particularly the rad fans bottom left. This is a 5 min graph

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cpu controlling 5 mins.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	128.5 KB 
ID:	63185

    here is what happens when you use the liquid temp instead, note how fast it levels right out as it should on both the pump speed and the rad fans

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	back.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	161.2 KB 
ID:	63186

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I have this exact same issue with my IX Formula and AI Suite. It won't let me control the pump speed of my pump plugged into w_pump+.

    ONCE when I went into AI Suite I suddenly had that AIO Pump graph unlocked. Knowing that AIO Pump and w_pump+ share the same graph, I made changes and it actually did control the pump speed. I was able to drop my pump from 4800+ rpm to around 3200. However, at the same time Fan Xpert was screaming at me to re-run the fan tuning. After I did, AIO Pump control was gone again and my pump was back to 4800rpm.

    I do have a free fan header at the moment so I guess I'll have to plug the pump into that for now. Hope this gets fixed soon!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    landstreet public

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    I know you dont want to hear it but there is a way for all of these issues to be fixed.

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/aquac...rafik-lcd.html

    This is what I use and it controls two D5 pumps in series and 7 fans with the liquid temp as the reference. If you are water cooling nothing else makes sense as the water temp is what you are regulating with the fans. It also has the ability to add a flowmeter that is pretty darn accurate.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	curves.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	174.0 KB 
ID:	63184

    here is what happens with CPU temp controlling fans, note particularly the rad fans bottom left. This is a 5 min graph

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cpu controlling 5 mins.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	128.5 KB 
ID:	63185

    here is what happens when you use the liquid temp instead, note how fast it levels right out as it should on both the pump speed and the rad fans

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	back.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	161.2 KB 
ID:	63186
    The problem with this thinking is.....

    we bought a top end motherboard to have control without having to resort to aftermarket measures. This board has everything in place to be able to do the exact same things as that controller. Except its just not implemented. I would think ASUS would have allowed speed control from the w_pump header, as well as using the temp sensor headers to control fan speeds. It would only make sense... But, I guess not.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    301

    Quote Originally Posted by fjc View Post
    I have this exact same issue with my IX Formula and AI Suite. It won't let me control the pump speed of my pump plugged into w_pump+.

    ONCE when I went into AI Suite I suddenly had that AIO Pump graph unlocked. Knowing that AIO Pump and w_pump+ share the same graph, I made changes and it actually did control the pump speed. I was able to drop my pump from 4800+ rpm to around 3200. However, at the same time Fan Xpert was screaming at me to re-run the fan tuning. After I did, AIO Pump control was gone again and my pump was back to 4800rpm.
    Same issue here as everyone else, fjc described it exactly as mine is behaving, Im hoping the issue will be addressed in the next version of AISUITEIII. Has anyone reported this issue to Asus, if not what is the best channel to report such issues. I would at least like to get acknowledgement if Asus is aware of the problem or not.

    In the first pic you can see Fanxpert4 shows only AIO pump but offers no control (note nothing is plugged into my aio pump header, my pump is plugged into waterpump+ header). However at the bottom of the pic you can see my pump (aquacomputer d5 pwm) is running full speed @ 4800+rpm.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WATER PUMP+ HEADER PIC2.PNG 
Views:	8 
Size:	130.0 KB 
ID:	64439

    Same thing here. Fan auto tuning & Q fan has been performed in the bios & in AISUITEIII and my headers are enabled in bios, I have tried auto & PWM to no avail

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	water pump+ header not working.PNG 
Views:	1 
Size:	69.6 KB 
ID:	64440

    And here you can see HWmonitor shows my pump is conneccted to the water pump+ header. For some reason AIDA64 shows my pump as Fan #4 (Motherboard) . My pump is working fine & we know its not an incompatibility issue as many others with diffferent brand pwm pumps are reporting the same problem
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MONITORING SOFTWARE.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	147.3 KB 
ID:	64441

    I would try the AIO pump header but my pump is in the bottom front of my case and the AIO header is located in the back of the case near the rear fan header
    Last edited by sdmf74; 05-05-2017 at 12:45 PM.
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array F. Gacrux PC Specs
    F. Gacrux PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B250F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700 3.6GHz/4.2GHz Turbo
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4 (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1Galax GeForce GTX 1070 EX OC SNPR White
    Sound CardAsus Xonar DX
    MonitorAOC Gamer Hero G2460PF@144Hz
    Storage #1Crucial MX100 256GB
    Storage #2Western Digital RE4-GP WD2003FYPS 2TB
    CPU CoolerAntec Kühler H20 620
    CaseAerocool Aero 1000
    Power SupplySeasonic S12II 520W
    Keyboard Ducky Zero DK2108S Cherry Red/Orange Backlit
    Mouse Logitech G400s
    Headset JBL Synchros S500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Control Large Fragged Edition
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 64-bit 1607 14393.1066
    Network RouterTP-link WR941ND
    Accessory #1 2 x Coolermaster Xtraflo 120
    Accessory #2 2 x Zalman ZM-F3

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Does AI Suite really sends any info to the BIOS? I see people saying that AI Suite sends the settings to the BIOS, but when I open UEFI BIOS they are exactly the same unchanged.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •