Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Oromit PC Specs
    Oromit PC Specs
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GVK 32GB DDR4-3200 CL14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GTX1060 OC 6GB
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB NVMe
    Storage #22x Toshiba P300 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplySeasonic P-760 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser PC 333D
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Clear CMOS not working?

    Hello,

    I got the Crosshair IV Hero AM4 mainboard recently, and so far it's running great.
    While setting up and and testing the max possible RAM speed(Ended up at DDR4-2666 for a 32GB 2 Module Dual-Rank kit), I ended up in a situation where it wouldn't POST anymore.

    For some weird reason, the Clear CMOS button on the back of it didn't seem to have any effect though. All the lights go out on the board, but it still wouldn't boot again, even after turning off and back on again on its own multiple times on the next boot.
    I eventually got it to boot up again, by trying various combinations of removing system power, pushing Clear CMOS and booting via the safe boot button on the mainboard.
    To my surprise when I got back into the BIOS, all my settings, even the too high RAM frequency, was still there, completely unchanged, but it booted in safe-mode, with low RAM speed. The only thing that actually got reset was the system time, no other setting was affected.
    Just pushing the safe boot button on its own also doesn't work. Only the combination of some of the things I did worked out in the end.

    Is this intended? It makes fiddling with settings rather scary if there is no clear and always working way to recover.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    The function of safe boot is exactly that...to boot with previous settings retained but in safe mode..i.e. settings not applied but default settings.

    Clear CMOS is supposed to be done with power removed from board...i.e. a short while after switching off PSU...then press clear CMOS....but sounds like it's not working as intended or you are not waiting long enough with power removed from board.

    Go easy for now...some boards are bricking with lots of resets and button pushes

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    I did hear a rumor that some users may not be waiting for the board to update fully following a UEFI update. After the initial flash completes, the system restarts, and it can take a few minutes for onboard controllers to be updated. If the user resets things during that process, it may be leading to some of the problems. Not sure about that, as I'd need to see it first hand.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Oromit PC Specs
    Oromit PC Specs
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GVK 32GB DDR4-3200 CL14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GTX1060 OC 6GB
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB NVMe
    Storage #22x Toshiba P300 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplySeasonic P-760 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser PC 333D
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Yeah, I'll definitely not touch it again for now. It's running stable, and I already confirmed that the RAM does not work on any higher setting.
    The odd thing is that safeboot also doesn't seem to work without the board being powered down right before. I'll make sure to switch off the PSU in the future if it ever happens again.

    Yes, when Updating the BIOS, the board boots into a screen where it displays "Updating UEFI..." on screen. I did wait for that to happen when I updated to the current beta.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    The Clear CMOS is also working without powering off in my sitiation:

    When i tried for increasing the RAM freq, i did get a fail post loop every time,
    so when that happends, im pressing it for 2-3 sec, and then its shuts off the system, then pressing the power button,
    after 5-10 sec im live with fabric defaults!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Oromit PC Specs
    Oromit PC Specs
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GVK 32GB DDR4-3200 CL14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GTX1060 OC 6GB
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB NVMe
    Storage #22x Toshiba P300 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplySeasonic P-760 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser PC 333D
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Majesty-nl View Post
    im pressing it for 2-3 sec, and then its shuts off the system, then pressing the power button,
    after 5-10 sec im live with fabric defaults!
    Yes, that's about what I'd expect. But besides resetting the system clock to 2011 or something, all the settings stay right where they are.
    Haven't tried it with turned off system power yet, and won't fiddle with it anymore for now.

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    2-3 seconds is usually not enough on the clear CMOS. This is the same as pullling the battery without pulling the battery. Its best done cold and hold it in for at least 30 seconds.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    definitly it works with 2-3 seconds on all my boards. You cant compare it with the old and fashion battery way .. its just an trigger to clear it...

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Majesty-nl View Post
    definitly it works with 2-3 seconds on all my boards. You cant compare it with the old and fashion battery way .. its just an trigger to clear it...
    Works for me too. Boot fail at QCode 55? Clear CMOS button and power on again for default settings worked all the time.

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    The fact that clear CMOS often "works" without disconnecting power does not invalidate the advice trying to be passed on here.

    Clear CMOS is best done with no power connected to board...and after sufficient time has been allowed for power to drain from board...."cold" as it has been put.

    I put "works" because I have done this often enough to know that it often doesn't...

    Sometimes leaving the board with no battery and no power over night is the only way to shift some weird problems...

    Popping the button in while the board is powered is like wiping your nose with your hand...your mother will tell you to get a tissue and do it properly...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •