Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Z170 PRO GAMING - A few questions

    OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    MOBO: Asus Z170 PRO GAMING
    CPU: Intel Core i5-6600K (No OC yet)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x4GB, 3000MHz, CL15) (Currently on 2133MHz)
    PSU: Cooler Master G550M (550W, Modular, 80+ Bronze)
    SSD: GoodRam Iridium Pro (240GB)
    HDD1: Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.C (1TB, 7,2KRPM)

    I just ordered a new HDD, RAM and GPU. The HDD is Toshiba P300 Performance (1TB, 7,2KRPM), GPU is Asus GeForce GTX 1070 ROG Strix, and RAM is the same as that one that I currently have, just another 2x4GB to make it 4x4GB.

    My MOBO was damaged from the start and I had to send it back. They repaired it and send it back, now it works but there's one problem. Every time after the first boot and using my PC for around 30 min. I'll get a bluescreen. Only those errors shows up:

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION
    SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION win32k.sys
    INTERRUPT_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
    KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED ndis.sys
    KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED ntfs.sys

    I "bypassed" this, after the first boot I just do some random stuff like quickly switching photos, reboot and now the problem is gone for good. No crashes, no bluescreens, no freezes, just works flawlessly.

    Anyway, now that I'm getting all of this stuff, and the MOBO is only Dual-Channel, do I need to install [THIS]? To make my 4x4 work? And if yes how do I install it? Via system or BIOS? And should i update the BIOS to 3202? I'm currently on 1904 and I have never updated BIOS all by myself, but it shouldn't be much of a problem.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello Mefu720

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    "This" is just a QVL list you don't have to install it. It's not wise to mix and match memory kits here is why...

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

    Sometimes mixing kits of the same specs does work but it's not worth taking the chance, you may need to raise the cpu system agent voltage and cpu vccio voltage 1.15v - 1.20v and the Dram voltage up to 1.40v to achieve stability.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Yea I'll need to think about it more. I was told that they should work with no problems for like 75% which got me good. I still have some time to cancel the order, but this will hit my wallet hard, so I need to think about it

    And besides, what should I do with my second problem? The bluescreen and BIOS one

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    So you're getting blue screens with only 2x4GB sticks installed ?

    Try resetting to defaults and updating the bios, refer to your manual for bios update instructions.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Yes, on 2x4. Will do soon. And yet another thing, my CPU fan seems to be way too slow, can I adjust this in BIOS? I didn't really lurked there, just changed the boot order and that's all.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Yes, you can set a fan profile for your cpu fan.

    If it's a pwm fan you can have it controlled by the cpu temp.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •