Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Help with Muulti-monitor setup please

    Hi all - I'm struggling with my monitor setup and would appreciate some advice if anyone can help please...

    I have 2x Asus monitors (32" 3440x1440 and 27" 2560x1440) connected via DisplayPort to my GTX980.
    I also have an Onkyo amplified connected to the graphics card in order to provide 5.1 audio (I don't use this for a video signal).

    The issue is that Windows thinks the Onkyo is another monitor but I don't want my desktop extended to it because as I said I'm using it for audio only and as you'll see from the screenshot below I have an empty space off to the side of my desktop. If I go into the desktop settings and try to clone the Onkyo amp to one of the other monitors then the other monitors take on the lower resolution of the Onkyo amp. Grrrr!!!!

    (EDIT) - Of course some of my icons have now disappeared onto the 'other' monitor which I can't see

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Multiple diplays.JPG 
Views:	8 
Size:	87.0 KB 
ID:	63091

    PC Spec;
    • Windows Professional 10 64Bit
    • Intel i7-5820K Haswell-E (3.30GHZ, 15MB L3 CACHE)
    • Nvidia GTX 980 4GB Extreme
    • MSI X99S SLI Plus Motherboard
    • 32GB Crucial (4 x 8GB) 2133Mhz DDR4
    • 240GB SATA III Ultrafast SSD
    • ASUS ROG SWIFT Curved PG348Q, 34" UWQHD (3440x1440) Gaming monitor, IPS, up to 100Hz, DP, HDMI, USB3.0 , G-SYNC
    • Second monitor - ROG Swift PG278Q Gaming Monitor - 27'' 2K WQHD (2560 x 1440), 1ms, up to 144Hz, G-SYNC
    • Audio – Onkyo TX-SR605 5.1 AV amp
    Last edited by Horrgakx; 03-11-2017 at 02:24 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z97 Wifi-Pro
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)32GB G-Skills
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsumg 951 Pro m.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    Power Supply1600W 80 Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    219

    ok well you might have tried this but if you uncheck the onkyo "monitor" in multi-monitor setup section can you still go to the digital Audio setup in the nvidia control panel and have the audio for that turned on?

    I haven't actually attempted this myself before so i'm not sure if you can disable the video while enabling the audio. that would be what I would try though.
    I7-4790k OC 4.9 1.375v
    MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 OC core:2055Mhz Mem:5504Mhz

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you like what I post, hit that Rep button.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If i'm posting here it's only because I'm at work and have nothing better to do other than solve your problems.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,440

    I would probably change to optical SPDIF to avoid this issue.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thanks for your replies.

    If I uncheck the monitor it turns off the audio also.

    Not tried the SPDIF thing, I've never used it before, might have to do some digging.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    The graphics card doesn't have an optical out. The motherboard does however so I just need to enable it somehow.

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,440

    Quote Originally Posted by Horrgakx View Post
    The graphics card doesn't have an optical out. The motherboard does however so I just need to enable it somehow.
    It's not hard in Windows. You right-click on the tray speaker icon and select playback devices. From there you can choose which audio device to use as an output.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z97 Wifi-Pro
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)32GB G-Skills
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsumg 951 Pro m.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    Power Supply1600W 80 Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    219

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    It's not hard in Windows. You right-click on the tray speaker icon and select playback devices. From there you can choose which audio device to use as an output.
    If you don't see the Optical out listed, right click in the playback device windows and select "show disabled Devices" and "show disconnected" if they aren't already checked.
    I7-4790k OC 4.9 1.375v
    MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 OC core:2055Mhz Mem:5504Mhz

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you like what I post, hit that Rep button.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If i'm posting here it's only because I'm at work and have nothing better to do other than solve your problems.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    I would probably change to optical SPDIF to avoid this issue.

    I bought an optical cable and tried it but couldn't get anything through at all - the amp just did nothing.

  9. #9
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,440

    Quote Originally Posted by Horrgakx View Post
    I bought an optical cable and tried it but couldn't get anything through at all - the amp just did nothing.
    Could be a lot of things. First ensure that the cable is fully seated. It should lightly snap into the port. You will need to select the proper playback device in Windows. Make sure to choose the digital output and not the normal output or HDMI. Windows 10 will only output one at a time. If the cable is seated and active you should see a pinpoint of red light visible on the opposite end of the cable.

    As an Onkyo owner myself I know you also need to make sure that the optical connection is assigned to the input you are selecting. Consult the receiver manual on how to ensure this is the case.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Could be a lot of things. First ensure that the cable is fully seated. It should lightly snap into the port. You will need to select the proper playback device in Windows. Make sure to choose the digital output and not the normal output or HDMI. Windows 10 will only output one at a time. If the cable is seated and active you should see a pinpoint of red light visible on the opposite end of the cable.

    As an Onkyo owner myself I know you also need to make sure that the optical connection is assigned to the input you are selecting. Consult the receiver manual on how to ensure this is the case.
    Yeh thanks all of that was done, including firmware/drivers, didn't appear to make a difference.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •