Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array shiney PC Specs
    shiney PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
    Processori7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair C16 Vngeance LPX 3200 (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix nVidia GTX 1070
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WDC WD2003FZEX-00Z4SA0
    CPU CoolerCorsair HP1000i v. 2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 400Q
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    OS Windows 64 Home
    Network RouterNighthawk

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Should I Update Bios on Maximus IX (March 2017)

    Hello: *I have a Maximus IX setup new just a month ago and there is a bios update that just came out a few days ago. I haven't seen any patch notes to say what the update does and whether it's needed. *Does anyone know anything about it, and do you suggest updating with this (or every) new bios, or only when there is a problem that needs to be fixed? *I hesitate only because I overclocked and it would take some work to redo my settings, since I'm an OC newbie. Thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    MAXIMUS IX HERO BIOS 0801
    1.Improved PS2 devices/VGA card compatibility
    2.Modified OA key function in legacy OS.
    3.Improved System Performance.
    4.Fixed overclocking profile naming issue.
    5.Modified Thermal Control function.
    A few improvements had been made to the Thermal Control Function so if you're using that feature in your overclock, you should update. Don't forget to save your overclock settings somewhere and clear your CMOS before flashing the BIOS.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array shiney PC Specs
    shiney PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
    Processori7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair C16 Vngeance LPX 3200 (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix nVidia GTX 1070
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WDC WD2003FZEX-00Z4SA0
    CPU CoolerCorsair HP1000i v. 2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 400Q
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    OS Windows 64 Home
    Network RouterNighthawk

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    A few improvements had been made to the Thermal Control Function so if you're using that feature in your overclock, you should update. Don't forget to save your overclock settings somewhere and clear your CMOS before flashing the BIOS.
    Thanks Chino, I appreciate the advice and information. Follow up question: you suggested saving my OC settings --- will my saved OC profiles in the Bios remain there or are they wiped with the CMOS reset and update? If they are wiped can I save the file elsewhere and load it back into bios somehow? Thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,545

    Profiles get wiped during bios update and cannot be saved and transferred to new bios, you can save bios settings onto a USB drive and then enter them manually into the new bios after update keeping in mind that all the settings may not work as before and may need some fine tuning again

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array mahanddeem PC Specs
    mahanddeem PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero Z270
    Processor7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4 3200MHz XMP
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX1080 Xtreme Gaming
    MonitorBenQ 1080p 144Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO nvme 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15S
    CaseNZXT Phantom 410
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    mahanddeem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    When you say clear CMOS, you mean soft clear in load BIOS defaults or hardware button clear CMOS?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array lufiron PC Specs
    lufiron PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex
    Processordelidded 7700k @ 5ghz 1.35v
    Memory (part number)gskill 2x16 3200 cas 14
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti @ 2 ghz
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279
    Storage #1960 pro
    Storage #2960 pro
    CPU Coolernoctua D15S
    CaseCooler Master 5 freeform
    Power SupplySeasonic 850w prime titanium
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by mahanddeem View Post
    When you say clear CMOS, you mean soft clear in load BIOS defaults or hardware button clear CMOS?
    Everything resets back to default. *Not just OC settings, everything as if the hardware clear*CMOS. *I had to re-establish my RAID array, just a heads up if you have that too.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array mahanddeem PC Specs
    mahanddeem PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero Z270
    Processor7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4 3200MHz XMP
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX1080 Xtreme Gaming
    MonitorBenQ 1080p 144Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO nvme 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15S
    CaseNZXT Phantom 410
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    mahanddeem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Yeah I know everything is wiped
    I ask you load BIOS defaults or press Clear CMOS button on back of motherboard?

  8. #8

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    67

    Will updating the BIOS in the G750JW do anything to the SSD I recently installed?

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    67

    Sorry guys. Didn't mean to go and throw out a question that would stick everyone. :-)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •