Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Asus Hero VIII high temperature on load (No OC)

    Hello everyone,

    My motherboard is getting too hot on load.
    I'm not quite sure if this is because of the air flow in the case or just faulty motherboard.
    I opened Rainbow Six Siege and minimized it, HWMonitor and Speccy running on background to monitor the temps and those are the results after around 5 minutes of play (training mode):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	223.5 KB 
ID:	63093

    And this is the case airflow (there is another fan installed on the door which will be covered later).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	55.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	170.0 KB 
ID:	63094

    The fan at the door installed as an intake.
    in the picture it's on exhaust, ignore that please because I flipped the fan so it's now as intake and positioned infront of the GPU.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	44.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	99.8 KB 
ID:	63095

    My PC specifications are:
    Case: CM 690 II basic
    CPU: Skylake i7 6700k 4.0 (not overcloked)
    Motherboard: Asus Hero VIII, Bios version: 3201 (I had the same issue with 2202 bios version)
    Ram: 32GB ram 2400
    GPU: EVGA 970gtx 4gb FTW
    OS: Windows 10 latest update

    Is this a flow issue? i need to add more fans? or is it a motherboard issue?
    I will provide any info that is required, please guys it's very important for me.
    HELP PLEASE.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Hi michmich

    At default settings your cpu is getting over volted. I see your vcore is hitting 1.40v, setting the vcore to 1.15v - 1.20v will greatly reduce temps.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi michmich

    At default settings your cpu is getting over volted. I see your vcore is hitting 1.40v, setting the vcore to 1.15v - 1.20v will greatly reduce temps.
    Hey Nate152,
    1st of all, thank you very much for the help and for your time.
    I'm not a PC Guru, so I assumed by lowering the Vcore voltage you meant the CPU voltage override?
    If so, I changed the CPU core cache voltage from Auto to Manual and than, I set the CPU voltage override to 1.150.
    I saved the changes and i had a blue screen and the PC was stuck, I turned the PC off and turn it on and changed the value to 1.200 and so far i have no BSOD.
    I tried to play like 5-8 and this are the temperatures:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1212112.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	399.4 KB 
ID:	63096
    which has some improvments I think, but I think the temps are still quite high for the motherboard, right?
    if that's still high, there are anything else I can try?

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Max temp for the 6600/6700k is 64c so you're good there with one of the cores at 62c but I agree your temps do seem a little high for that voltage and just playing a game.

    Try cranking the pump and the fan to 100% if they're not already.

    Make sure the water block has nice even pressure on all the mounting screws.

    How much thermal paste did you use and how did you apply it ?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Shenny PC Specs
    Shenny PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Ranger
    Processori5-6600K @ 4.4 GHZ (Skylake)
    Memory (part number)2 x 8 GB Kingston DDR4 2666 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel SSD 330 240 GB
    Storage #2Seagate External HDD 4 TB
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 850x
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    IMO, any temperatures below 85 C are safe. Intel CPUs begin to throttle only after they reach 100 C. Claims like the one that the max temp for 6700K is 64 C had me scratching my head so I looked around Internet and found many confirmations that temperatures well above this one are admissible, especially with overclock. For example, check the following thread: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answer...re-gaming.html

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Max temp for the 6600/6700k is 64c so you're good there with one of the cores at 62c but I agree your temps do seem a little high for that voltage and just playing a game.

    Try cranking the pump and the fan to 100% if they're not already.

    Make sure the water block has nice even pressure on all the mounting screws.

    How much thermal paste did you use and how did you apply it ?
    Thank you again.
    1) by cranking the pump to 100%, you mean by setting the "CPU fan profile" (on bios)?
    it was on standart, i changed it to turbo now as you can see in the photo.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20170311_213637.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	175.3 KB 
ID:	63097

    2) I physically checked the water block mounting screws (as you suggested) and they all seems to be tighten, but I was wondering about how it looks like in the back of the motherboard, the backplate (I thought that might give us a better indication if the cooler is mounted properly).

    This is what i saw: (sorry for the hebrew explanations, i asked in a different forum before and no one knew the answer and i cannot take the 'shot' again).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	103.3 KB 
ID:	63098
    I tried to numbered the backplate outputs (I don't know if there is a name for it), on 1,2,3 there is slight space between the motherboard and the backplate, and in number 4, there is no space at all between the motherboard and the backplate.

    The cooling screws suppose to be exposed at the back of the motherboard when mounting the cooling properly, so in screws 1, 2, 3, it doesn't seems to be exposes like in number 4.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	112.4 KB 
ID:	63099
    could that cause the issues with high temps to the motherboard?


    3) I'm not sure how to tell or count how much thermal paste I used, but I used a crapet that i got with the thermal paste so I spread it on the CPU, i read before a lot and i didn't used too much but with the crapet I covered the CPU.
    this is the termal paste I used:
    http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/...stergel-maker/
    The crapet is also mentioned and you can see in the pictures they provided below.

    What should i do?
    Is this a big issue to leave the bracket as is?
    Is this the cause?
    I'm very sorry for the photos quality and my English, it's not my native language.

    @Shenny
    thank you very much also for you time and desire to help.
    I used to overclock before for almost a year now, but i saw that i have a high temps on load for both CPU and MOBO, so i set everything back to default and even on default im getting high temps, even when i tried to export a file with low bitrate and 1080P video (very low intensive for the cpu) and i still got for both 70-75 temperature.
    I'm less concernec about getting a high temp for a CPU on load.
    the motherboard is what concerned me more, it's not normal i think to get 75 temps on 5-15 minute medium load (and i was very generous to categorize the export settings on adobe as a medium load).

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    208

    Quote Originally Posted by michmich View Post
    Thank you again.
    1) by cranking the pump to 100%, you mean by setting the "CPU fan profile" (on bios)?
    it was on standart, i changed it to turbo now as you can see in the photo.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20170311_213637.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	175.3 KB 
ID:	63097

    2) I physically checked the water block mounting screws (as you suggested) and they all seems to be tighten, but I was wondering about how it looks like in the back of the motherboard, the backplate (I thought that might give us a better indication if the cooler is mounted properly).

    This is what i saw: (sorry for the hebrew explanations, i asked in a different forum before and no one knew the answer and i cannot take the 'shot' again).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	103.3 KB 
ID:	63098
    I tried to numbered the backplate outputs (I don't know if there is a name for it), on 1,2,3 there is slight space between the motherboard and the backplate, and in number 4, there is no space at all between the motherboard and the backplate.

    The cooling screws suppose to be exposed at the back of the motherboard when mounting the cooling properly, so in screws 1, 2, 3, it doesn't seems to be exposes like in number 4.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	112.4 KB 
ID:	63099
    could that cause the issues with high temps to the motherboard?


    3) I'm not sure how to tell or count how much thermal paste I used, but I used a crapet that i got with the thermal paste so I spread it on the CPU, i read before a lot and i didn't used too much but with the crapet I covered the CPU.
    this is the termal paste I used:
    http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/...stergel-maker/
    The crapet is also mentioned and you can see in the pictures they provided below.

    What should i do?
    Is this a big issue to leave the bracket as is?
    Is this the cause?
    I'm very sorry for the photos quality and my English, it's not my native language.

    @Shenny
    thank you very much also for you time and desire to help.
    I used to overclock before for almost a year now, but i saw that i have a high temps on load for both CPU and MOBO, so i set everything back to default and even on default im getting high temps, even when i tried to export a file with low bitrate and 1080P video (very low intensive for the cpu) and i still got for both 70-75 temperature.
    I'm less concernec about getting a high temp for a CPU on load.
    the motherboard is what concerned me more, it's not normal i think to get 75 temps on 5-15 minute medium load (and i was very generous to categorize the export settings on adobe as a medium load).
    You have used the wrong standoffs. You should use the standoffs for Intel 115x and NOT socket 2011. And it looks like you have mixed them. That's why the nr 4 is different on the backplate. and the reason why your temps are high-.The Intel lga 115x standoffs are the one with the same length in both ends. The socket 2011 are the one with one end shorter. Always read the manual before making mistakes like this.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Yeah redo the mounting bracket, it looks like it's not fitting quite right.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by emsir View Post
    You have used the wrong standoffs. You should use the standoffs for Intel 115x and NOT socket 2011. And it looks like you have mixed them. That's why the nr 4 is different on the backplate. and the reason why your temps are high-.The Intel lga 115x standoffs are the one with the same length in both ends. The socket 2011 are the one with one end shorter. Always read the manual before making mistakes like this.
    Thank you very much for taking your time to read my post and help.
    I will try to remove everything in the next couple of days and im going to update.
    Again, Thank you!


    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Yeah redo the mounting bracket, it looks like it's not fitting quite right.
    Thank you Nate152, much appriciate your help and your time, i will redo the mounting bracket and will update in a few days.
    Again, Thank you!

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Ok sounds good, if you have any questions or are not sure it's mounted right please ask.

    Use holes 115x. (x= any number) on the mounting bracket.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •