Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Hello everyone,
    I'm sorry that i'm bumping this up again, I just had a long vacation and today i came back and i didn't wanted to open another thread on the same issue.
    I mounted everything right, used the manual and the suggestions here, and also reset the bios to default settings.
    everything looks really perfect untill the PC is on load.
    My Idle temp now is on:
    CPU: 20c
    Mobo: 25c
    GPU: 32
    since i had no internet in the room the pc's is at, I made a test with handbrake (Video Transcoder).
    I tried to convert a video used:
    Preset: "Fast"
    Res: 1080P
    FPS: 30fps
    after around 5 minutes of transcoding my motherboard reached 81, and i really started to chickened out and stopped the process because it could go even higher.
    the temps on load after 5 minutes was:
    CPU: 73-74c
    Mobo: 81c
    GPU: 31c

    this is my current case circulation in the case (I don't know why, but I feel that it might be wrong?)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	55.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	129.8 KB 
ID:	71834
    I have another fan on the case door as intake.

    Is there anything that I can do about it?
    maybe removing or switching sides to one of my fans will help? if yes, which ones?
    Any suggestion will be much appriciated, I'm really desperate because i didn't enjoyed this system at all.
    Last edited by michmich; 02-22-2018 at 09:24 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    283

    @michmich, some water cooling systems aren't much better, or even better then nice high end air cooling heatsinks. Some water cooled systems just aren't worth using...

    I run a great air cooled case and air cooled system, and my gaming Temps are only like 55c-60c...

    This is the case and fans and grease I use;

    Fractal Design Meshify - Originally they only made one of these cases with the dark TG side, now there's a C-TG with lighter tint... I have the original dark one...
    http://www.fractal-design.com/home/p...hify/meshify-c

    CPU Grease - GELID - GC-Extreme
    http://gelidsolutions.com/thermal-so...extreme-10g-2/

    CPU Cooler - Noctua NH-U14S - They also make a bigger two fan cooler - I run an i7 6700K
    https://noctua.at/en/nh-u14s.html

    Case Fans - Noctua NF-A14 PWM x 2 (Front)
    https://noctua.at/en/nf-a14-pwm

    Case Fan - Noctua NF-F12 PWM x 1 (Rear)
    https://noctua.at/en/nf-f12-pwm.html
    Last edited by SlackROG; 02-22-2018 at 10:18 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by SlackROG View Post
    @michmich, some water cooling systems aren't much better, or even better then nice high end air cooling heatsinks. Some water cooled systems just aren't worth using...

    I run a great air cooled case and air cooled system, and my gaming Temps are only like 55c-60c...

    This is the case and fans and grease I use;

    Fractal Design Meshify - Originally they only made one of these cases with the dark TG side, now there's a C-TG with lighter tint... I have the original dark one...
    http://www.fractal-design.com/home/p...hify/meshify-c

    CPU Grease - GELID - GC-Extreme
    http://gelidsolutions.com/thermal-so...extreme-10g-2/

    CPU Cooler - Noctua NH-U14S - They also make a bigger two fan cooler - I run an i7 6700K
    https://noctua.at/en/nh-u14s.html

    Case Fans - Noctua NF-A14 PWM x 2 (Front)
    https://noctua.at/en/nf-a14-pwm

    Case Fan - Noctua NF-F12 PWM x 1 (Rear)
    https://noctua.at/en/nf-f12-pwm.html

    Hey there,
    Thanks for your times reading and trying to help me.
    My main issue isn't with my CPU tbh, my motherboard getting too hot.
    I assume that my case isn't the best, but does a new case will make such a huge difference in temperature?
    as i said, My mobo temp is around 81 on load of 5 minutes, this has to be something else, no?
    if there will be no other solution and purchasing a case will get my parts to work cooler, I would prefer to buy a new case and to protect my
    other parts so they won't get harmed faster after a short term.
    Last edited by michmich; 02-23-2018 at 01:31 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I would like to update things up.
    So after I did all the above (fixed the screw issues and reapplied thermal paste), I reset my bios and on the default settings the motherboard were
    getting hot when I used handbreak.
    this is the 1st screenshot 22 seconds after starting converting the video:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	298.4 KB 
ID:	71884

    and here is 4 minutes in the process:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	351.5 KB 
ID:	71885

    As you can see, on default settings the temp of the motherboard were very high on load (I didn't want to keep the process after 4 minutes because it was obvious for me that the temp were only getting higher).

    Than, I remembered that @Nate152 suggested me to reduce the Vcore to 1.15 or 1.20 long time ago and it slightly helped me before, so, I put my vcore on 1.20 and on load after 10 minutes my CPU was around 46-55 which is way more than fine, and my motherboard is at 55c at max, which I feel more comfortable with, I don't have pic for proof because i forgot to take screenshots, but this is my word on this and if someone will see this post in the future i just wanted to give them a solution, because Nate's suggestion was my solution.
    Thank you for everyone who tried to help me and ESPECIALLY TO Nate152.

    after i realized that everything is fine with my system, is there a way that i can increase my performance slightly with OC and enjoy my system afterall?
    I just tried to OC to 4.5, after 9 minutes of handbreak convertion this are the temps I get:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	211.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	360.2 KB 
ID:	71886

    My OC settings were:
    CPU fan set to Turbo
    AI OC tuner - I set it to XMP, and selected no "for intel stock operation"
    BCLK frequency - 100
    CPU core ration - Sync all cores (I set the core to 45).
    CPU core cache limit - 255.50
    Min cpu cache ratio - 40
    Max cpu cache ratio - 40
    CPU core cache voltage - I set it on manual
    CPU core voltage Override - I set it on 1.300

    under DIGI+
    CPU load line calibration - level 5


    Is there anything that i can improve? maybe lowering the voltage? but i'm not sure so that's why i'm asking for advices what might be an ideal to do?
    Last edited by michmich; 02-24-2018 at 10:33 PM.

  5. #15
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Hi michmich

    Cpu temp looks good

    The motherboard temp does look a bit high at 73c, I don't know if it may be a false reading or it's warm inside your case. Would you happen to have HWinfo installed ? I'd like to see a screenshot of HWinfo please.

    Click the pic to make it bigger.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hwinfo.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	229.1 KB 
ID:	71888

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Hey Nate152, thanks for the comment and for the help.
    When the CPU is OC'ed right?

    I'm not quite familiar with the HWINFO application, but I just downloaded the protable app I hope it's enough.
    I runned handbreak convertion (same preset option always), on load - CPU temps started at 58c, mobo temps started at 60-62c according to speccy.
    this is a screenshot i took after 4 minutes of handbreak running converting a video file:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3333.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	504.5 KB 
ID:	71889

    I kept speccy and hwmonitor opened aswell so you can maybe compare?!
    if you want HWinfo open only i will do it again with HWinfo opened only.

  7. #17
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Speccy must be reading the Motherboard temp as something else, Hwinfo is showing the Motherboard temp 25c Min and 28c Max.

    Click the pic to make it bigger.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	His hwinfo.png 
Views:	7 
Size:	598.2 KB 
ID:	71891

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Speccy must be reading the Motherboard temp as something else, Hwinfo is showing the Motherboard temp 25c Min and 28c Max.

    Click the pic to make it bigger.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	His hwinfo.png 
Views:	7 
Size:	598.2 KB 
ID:	71891
    Thank you Nate, This is why i kept speccy on, because I was confused already.
    Which application gives the most accurate values than? HWinfo? should I use it in the future?
    The whole time speccy gave me misleading value and wrong impresion, it's really annoying.
    Does the OC, seems fine? 70C to the CPU is quite alright is it? any values changes required or tips will be much appriciated.
    thanks a lot.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    Stick with HWinfo. Works very well.
    Even though 70C on the CPU under full load is not too bad, you should be able to get it lower. At 4.5GHz I think you should be able to lower the CPU voltage to about 1.25V - 1.26V and run some stress tests and see how you go. If system crashes, then slowly increase the voltage by 0.005 at a time.
    Regarding your case, I think you should have 2x140mm intake fans at the front and there is also plenty of room to put 1x140mm intake fan at the bottom. You can use Fan Expert from AI-Suite to control these fans with the CPU temperature. You can do the same with the CPU fan. That way you will have a very quiet system during light usage. Also make sure you have Adaptive mode selected in the BIOS so the CPU and voltage drops down when idle.
    Not sure how you connected the AIO pump, but you should have that connected directly to the power supply.

  10. #20
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Yep your overclock looks good and temps are fine, you can try lowering the voltage, if you can't then what you have is good.

    As suggested you can use adaptive mode to get the cpu frequency and voltage to throttle at idle.

    I'd stick with HWinfo for hardware monitoring.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •