Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Rigg3d View Post
    Hi all,

    I don't know if it's a problem with motherboard or my build but would be nice to ask the community if they've seen or had similar problems.

    I first tried to use all 4 of my RAM slots and kept getting error code 0b - I soon found that it seems to be a problem with DIMM slots B1 & B2 - if I try and boot with a stick in either then I get the error code.

    I've tried:
    BIOS versions 0702, 5704 and am now on 0902 .....on a side note - 5704 kicked up a bigger fuss and was more frequently coming with code 08.
    Found a suggestion somewhere that I should loosen the CPU cooler because it could be too tight - I don't know if that's a thing - but I tried it anyway and it still hasn't worked.

    I haven't tried:
    Another RAM manufacturer (as I don't have any other DDR4 sticks lying around). However, obviously sticks that ran in A1 and A2 still didn't work in B1 or B2 - so I don't believe RAM is an issue.

    An additional point that may be important - I can get to BIOS if I boot into safe mode - all 4 sticks are recognised when looking at the info but the system only shows 32GB out of 64GB. The crashing & error code 0b occurs a second or two after exiting the BIOS screen.

    My build:
    Motherboard: Crosshair vi Hero AM4 (X370).
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X.
    Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB) @ 2666Mhz. CMD64GX4M4A2666C15.
    Graphics Card: (NVidia) Zotac GTX 1080.
    Storage: Samsung 960 Evo (1TB).
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master 240.
    Case: InWin 805 Infinity.
    Power Supply: Super Flower 1000w.

    Thanks,
    Rigg3d
    Have you solved your problem? I am having that same issue but with the A1&A2 Slots. See my post here.

  2. #12
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Lightbulb Possible Solution

    I got the same error until i checked and tightened the screws that hold the front and back plate from the cpu together:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Unbenannt.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	89.7 KB 
ID:	90164

    Red: CPU / Socket Screws (If those screws are too loose, your system will do nothing)
    Orange: CPU Fan Screws
    Yellow: Front / Back Plane Screws (If those screws are too loose, there will be a gap between the frontplate and the mainboard when you tighten the CPU / FAN screws, resulting in tension that prevents the memory controller from recognizing all RAM modules.)

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by Rigg3d View Post
    Hi all,

    I don't know if it's a problem with motherboard or my build but would be nice to ask the community if they've seen or had similar problems.

    I first tried to use all 4 of my RAM slots and kept getting error code 0b - I soon found that it seems to be a problem with DIMM slots B1 & B2 - if I try and boot with a stick in either then I get the error code.

    I've tried:
    BIOS versions 0702, 5704 and am now on 0902 .....on a side note - 5704 kicked up a bigger fuss and was more frequently coming with code 08.
    Found a suggestion somewhere that I should loosen the CPU cooler because it could be too tight - I don't know if that's a thing - but I tried it anyway and it still hasn't worked.

    I haven't tried:
    Another RAM manufacturer (as I don't have any other DDR4 sticks lying around). However, obviously sticks that ran in A1 and A2 still didn't work in B1 or B2 - so I don't believe RAM is an issue.

    An additional point that may be important - I can get to BIOS if I boot into safe mode - all 4 sticks are recognised when looking at the info but the system only shows 32GB out of 64GB. The crashing & error code 0b occurs a second or two after exiting the BIOS screen.

    My build:
    Motherboard: Crosshair vi Hero AM4 (X370).
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X.
    Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB) @ 2666Mhz. CMD64GX4M4A2666C15.
    Graphics Card: (NVidia) Zotac GTX 1080.
    Storage: Samsung 960 Evo (1TB).
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master 240.
    Case: InWin 805 Infinity.
    Power Supply: Super Flower 1000w.

    Thanks,
    Rigg3d

    I have the same issue . System won't boot if I use either B1 or B2. I never figured out the cause. I have a ROG Crosshair VIII Hero.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    107

    Hmmm. I have a CH-8 Dark Hero with 2 sticks of G.Skill 16GB CL14 (F4-3200C14D-32GTZR) installed in slots A2 and B2 (per the manual page 1-5). I never even tried slots A1 and B1 and I am wondering if I should. Slots A2 and B2 are recommended for 2 DIMMs so that is where I put them. I never thought about testing the other 2 DIMM slots. Can I just move the 2 DIMMs I have to slots A1 and B1 just to confirm that they are recognized or should I populate those slots with 2 more DIMMs and try booting with 4 DIMMs installed? I have some I can test with but they are not from the same matched kit.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by BillBittel View Post
    Hmmm. I have a CH-8 Dark Hero with 2 sticks of G.Skill 16GB CL14 (F4-3200C14D-32GTZR) installed in slots A2 and B2 (per the manual page 1-5). I never even tried slots A1 and B1 and I am wondering if I should. Slots A2 and B2 are recommended for 2 DIMMs so that is where I put them. I never thought about testing the other 2 DIMM slots. Can I just move the 2 DIMMs I have to slots A1 and B1 just to confirm that they are recognized or should I populate those slots with 2 more DIMMs and try booting with 4 DIMMs installed? I have some I can test with but they are not from the same matched kit.
    Either option is fine. Populating all 4 slots or moving to A1 and B1. At least you read the manual and didn't make the same mistake that like 95% of people do which is install their only 2 DIMMs into A1 and B1. It is strange though that they would recommend A2 and B2, why not just rename them A1 and B1 and then people would start putting their DIMMs in the right spot to begin with. I guess it's too late now to make the change without screwing everyone up. I wonder which manufacturer started the whole A2, B2 thing.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,254

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDude23112 View Post
    I have the same issue . System won't boot if I use either B1 or B2. I never figured out the cause. I have a ROG Crosshair VIII Hero.
    Memory training is done via A channel dimms not B dimms, once you trained A dimms B follows suit but does not mean use B channel without RAM in A channel. This thread is quite strange to read.

    Last time I remember B channel only working on Ryzen was series 1 early bios, not since then. YMMV.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-20-2021 at 02:54 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •