Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Rigg3d PC Specs
    Rigg3d PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero (X370)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1(NVidia) Zotac GTX1080
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master 240
    CaseInWin 805 Infinity
    Power SupplySuper Flower 1000w

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    RAM DIMM B1&B2 error code 0b

    Hi all,

    I don't know if it's a problem with motherboard or my build but would be nice to ask the community if they've seen or had similar problems.

    I first tried to use all 4 of my RAM slots and kept getting error code 0b - I soon found that it seems to be a problem with DIMM slots B1 & B2 - if I try and boot with a stick in either then I get the error code.

    I've tried:
    BIOS versions 0702, 5704 and am now on 0902 .....on a side note - 5704 kicked up a bigger fuss and was more frequently coming with code 08.
    Found a suggestion somewhere that I should loosen the CPU cooler because it could be too tight - I don't know if that's a thing - but I tried it anyway and it still hasn't worked.

    I haven't tried:
    Another RAM manufacturer (as I don't have any other DDR4 sticks lying around). However, obviously sticks that ran in A1 and A2 still didn't work in B1 or B2 - so I don't believe RAM is an issue.

    An additional point that may be important - I can get to BIOS if I boot into safe mode - all 4 sticks are recognised when looking at the info but the system only shows 32GB out of 64GB. The crashing & error code 0b occurs a second or two after exiting the BIOS screen.

    My build:
    Motherboard: Crosshair vi Hero AM4 (X370).
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X.
    Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB) @ 2666Mhz. CMD64GX4M4A2666C15.
    Graphics Card: (NVidia) Zotac GTX 1080.
    Storage: Samsung 960 Evo (1TB).
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master 240.
    Case: InWin 805 Infinity.
    Power Supply: Super Flower 1000w.

    Thanks,
    Rigg3d
    Last edited by Rigg3d; 03-11-2017 at 11:01 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    road maison

    Memmory support is still a bit iffy if your running 4 sticks you should lower the frequency and then work your way back up slowly.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Rigg3d PC Specs
    Rigg3d PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero (X370)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1(NVidia) Zotac GTX1080
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master 240
    CaseInWin 805 Infinity
    Power SupplySuper Flower 1000w

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Sorry - I forgot to mention I get this error with even trying to boot with 1 stick of RAM in B1 or B2.
    Thanks for the suggestion though as I haven't tried it yet - I'll put a stick in A1 and B1 (suggested dual setup) and give it a try

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Rigg3d PC Specs
    Rigg3d PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero (X370)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1(NVidia) Zotac GTX1080
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master 240
    CaseInWin 805 Infinity
    Power SupplySuper Flower 1000w

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Tried it... with no luck

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    I'd say you have a bad CPU, as that's where the memory controller is. My first Ryzen (1800X) was bad as well. Replaced it with a 1700 (less money for around the same overclock) and then found out my RAM kit had a bad stick too. Replaced that and upgraded to a better RAM kit with Samsung B memory chips, and it's sailing along at 3219 (100.6MHz BCLK at DDR4-3200 RAM setting) 14-14-14-14-34-2T at 1.351v on my Crosshair board with 0902 BIOS, and the CPU overclocked to 3823MHz.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Rigg3d PC Specs
    Rigg3d PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero (X370)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1(NVidia) Zotac GTX1080
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master 240
    CaseInWin 805 Infinity
    Power SupplySuper Flower 1000w

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I wanted to explore possibilities before having to return anything... but it looks like it's going that way.

    Thanks for your help though, much appreciated

    Rigg3d

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    113

    Can you try safe boot or with just 2 sticks setting 16-16-16-16-38 timings, DRAM Voltage = 1.35 and 2133 DRAM Ratio?

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3883MHz 16-17- 17-37-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,646

    Could be a sign of a couple bent cpu socket pins, you could inspect the cpu socket with a magnifying glass to see all the pins are straight and in order.

    Look close and carefully in good light.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Rigg3d PC Specs
    Rigg3d PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero (X370)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1(NVidia) Zotac GTX1080
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master 240
    CaseInWin 805 Infinity
    Power SupplySuper Flower 1000w

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by elmor View Post
    Can you try safe boot or with just 2 sticks setting 16-16-16-16-38 timings, DRAM Voltage = 1.35 and 2133 DRAM Ratio?
    I tried 2 sticks in A1 and A2 as before and still worked fine (checked for stability). As soon as I move a stick into B2 I get the same problem as before.

    Thanks for the suggestion

    Rigg3d

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Rigg3d PC Specs
    Rigg3d PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero (X370)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x16GB (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1(NVidia) Zotac GTX1080
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master 240
    CaseInWin 805 Infinity
    Power SupplySuper Flower 1000w

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Could be a sign of a couple bent cpu socket pins, you could inspect the cpu socket with a magnifying glass to see all the pins are straight and in order.

    Look close and carefully in good light.
    I'd cry if this was the case!
    I'm always so careful when building PC's but it's always a possibility. I'll be giving this a try tomorrow evening when I've got a little more spare time

    Cheers,

    Rigg3d

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •