Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28
  1. #21
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    If disabling OCP protection resolves the issue it means you are actually experiencing overcurrent and the PSU turns off. There are two possibilities here, either something is shorted on your board or the PSU is faulty. TRIPLE check the board for anything shorting..any piece of metal touching something it shouldn't etc. If you see nothing like that, RMA the PSU.

    Running your system with the OCP off when it's obviously kicking in, is a recipe for disaster..best case scenario you will fry your hardware, worst case scenario you'll catch a fire..

    EDIT: One extra thing to test is USB, Front panel Audio, etc case headers. This can happen if they're faulty and shorting.. so remove them all and test.
    Last edited by Nodens; 03-24-2017 at 01:47 PM.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    OP , have you tried increasing your System Agent (SA) Voltage?

    I got a 4x4 64GB Patriot Viper Elite 3000 XMP kit at FRY'S last week and was getting random computer reboots in games at the 3000 XMP setting.

    The system agent (SA) was running on Auto, which was roughly .945v. I manually set the SA to 1.05v and it fixed all the random reboots.

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array xthane PC Specs
    xthane PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7 6900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX4M4B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 5
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A1000Z
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    xthane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Nodens View Post
    If disabling OCP protection resolves the issue it means you are actually experiencing overcurrent and the PSU turns off. There are two possibilities here, either something is shorted on your board or the PSU is faulty. TRIPLE check the board for anything shorting..any piece of metal touching something it shouldn't etc. If you see nothing like that, RMA the PSU.

    Running your system with the OCP off when it's obviously kicking in, is a recipe for disaster..best case scenario you will fry your hardware, worst case scenario you'll catch a fire..

    EDIT: One extra thing to test is USB, Front panel Audio, etc case headers. This can happen if they're faulty and shorting.. so remove them all and test.
    PC has been running fine since my last posts. I just re-enabled all of the OCP again and I'll leave it to see if it starts shutting down again. Fan on PSU is still going to remain at a fixed 40%.

    I checked the motherboard numerous times during the process of elimination and everything looks fine. I have no front panel USB or audio connectors connected anymore being that I do not use them. I'll keep this updated. Thanks.
    Last edited by xthane; 03-26-2017 at 02:18 AM.

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array xthane PC Specs
    xthane PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7 6900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX4M4B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 5
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A1000Z
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    xthane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by raceitchris@yahoo.com View Post
    OP , have you tried increasing your System Agent (SA) Voltage?

    I got a 4x4 64GB Patriot Viper Elite 3000 XMP kit at FRY'S last week and was getting random computer reboots in games at the 3000 XMP setting.

    The system agent (SA) was running on Auto, which was roughly .945v. I manually set the SA to 1.05v and it fixed all the random reboots.
    Was it reboots or shut downs? Because I was getting complete shut downs as if someone had pulled the plug.

  5. #25
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by xthane View Post
    Was it reboots or shut downs? Because I was getting complete shut downs as if someone had pulled the plug.
    It would shutdown and reboot. Seasonic 1000 PSU makes a distinct clicking noise from on/off. One could clearly hear the click, but it would reboot after it shutdown. I was able to get 3000XMP stable with 1.0375v System Agent in bios with a 1.05v System Agent load reading in windows.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array xthane PC Specs
    xthane PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7 6900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX4M4B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 5
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A1000Z
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    xthane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by raceitchris@yahoo.com View Post
    It would shutdown and reboot. Seasonic 1000 PSU makes a distinct clicking noise from on/off. One could clearly hear the click, but it would reboot after it shutdown. I was able to get 3000XMP stable with 1.0375v System Agent in bios with a 1.05v System Agent load reading in windows.
    I also would hear a click noise when it shut down, but I think it's the relay on my Xonar DX because that's what I hear when I manually shut down or when I'm booting up. So far it's been working. I've played BF1 3 separate times since my last post and have had no issues. Also monitoring the amperage on my PSU via Corsair Link.

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array xthane PC Specs
    xthane PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7 6900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX4M4B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 5
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A1000Z
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    xthane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Just a quick update

    System has been running fine with OCP back on. No shut downs or crashes whatsoever.

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array xthane PC Specs
    xthane PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7 6900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX4M4B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 5
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A1000Z
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    xthane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Another update: I had an issue where I was getting the shut downs again, a powering on and off cycle and a red light on my AX860i about 3 weeks ago. When I finally got it to come back on by leave it unplugged for a while, I set the fan profile for my AX860i to a custom one and it seemed to be working fine. I just got my replacement RMA AX860i today, so I will be using it to see if the previous AX860i was the culprit of these shut down issues.
    Last edited by xthane; 08-15-2017 at 06:27 AM.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •