Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    AIDA64 CPU diode temp and the 20C offset

    I have read that the latest build of AIDA64 has 'fixed' the CPU offset temp, so now reads correctly, taking the 20C offset into account

    I'm using the trial version which has the same build number as the fixed version yet my CPU Diode (and CP{U) temp, still reads identical to the temp in bios (which supposedly hasn't been fixed as of 1002, or am I wrong on that?). And reads the same as older software I have hanging around on my system, eg old versions of CPU-ID and HWinfo.

    Which is correct then ? Has the bios (v1002) actually been fixed to read the temp correctly along with AIDA64. Or is something still amiss.

    For the record, at a 4ghz OC, idle temp on CPUdiode reads 52-54C (Cooler Swiftech H220x)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MrPhil17 PC Specs
    MrPhil17 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro Retina 15" Mid 2014
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 2600k
    Memory (part number)F3-14900CL9Q-16GBSR
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 580
    Sound CardIntegrated
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    OS Windows 10 Home 64Bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    1900 avenue

    This thing is giving me a really huge headache because, like you, i can't understand if temps are real or with offset. Why AMD?!*¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPhil17 View Post
    This thing is giving me a really huge headache because, like you, i can't understand if temps are real or with offset. Why AMD?!*¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Yup, I'm still perplexed, @4Ghz, checked again, idle around 54C, under load 80-85C (Cinebench) as far as AIDA64's CPU Diode reading indicates. (The version that has supposedly been 'fixed' to reflect the 20C offset),

    Bios temp readings more or less match AIDA's

    Confused..

    Is my cooler malfunctioning badly (not easy to check at the moment), has the bios 20C offset been fixed, is AIDA's 20C offset fix not actually working...is 85C actually about the temp you should expect for a 4Ghz OC when running Cinebench, I don't know

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPhil17 View Post
    This thing is giving me a really huge headache because, like you, i can't understand if temps are real or with offset. Why AMD?!*¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    AMD have put out a statement saying the primary temperature reporting from a sensor called “T Control,” or tCTL for short.
    The tCTL sensor is derived from the junction (Tj) temperature—the interface point between the die and heatspreader—but it may be offset on certain CPU models so that all models on the AM4 Platform have the same maximum tCTL value to ensure they have a consistent fan policy.
    AMD also say they are confident software will soon adjust automatically for this offset and report the true temperature when required.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    AMD have put out a statement saying the primary temperature reporting from a sensor called “T Control,” or tCTL for short.
    The tCTL sensor is derived from the junction (Tj) temperature—the interface point between the die and heatspreader—but it may be offset on certain CPU models so that all models on the AM4 Platform have the same maximum tCTL value to ensure they have a consistent fan policy.
    AMD also say they are confident software will soon adjust automatically for this offset and report the true temperature when required.
    This is what I have heard.

    So I assume from this that the bios temp reading is still offset by 20C. So if my bios says 64C, it's actually 44C. No bios version yet (1002 included) has corrected this ?

    But AIDA claims to have corrected for this offset in their latest software version, yet AIDA's CPU diode temp matches the bios temp on my system and reads awfully hot under load. So have they really ?!.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Having just downloaded the latest version of HWINFO64, I think I will go withe the Tdie temp reading in that, which is a much better 27 - 30C.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array alexp999 PC Specs
    alexp999 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R9 3900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill FlareX 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix RX Vega 64
    CPU CoolerCustom w/c
    CaseLian-Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 10 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G403 Hero
    OS Win 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    You need to make sure you are using the latest beta of aida64. That includes the offset.

    My 1800x now reports with CPU temp matching BIOS and diode around 20deg lower.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by Theagg View Post
    This is what I have heard.

    So I assume from this that the bios temp reading is still offset by 20C. So if my bios says 64C, it's actually 44C. No bios version yet (1002 included) has corrected this ?

    But AIDA claims to have corrected for this offset in their latest software version, yet AIDA's CPU diode temp matches the bios temp on my system and reads awfully hot under load. So have they really ?!.
    Just updated AIDA64 and temps are now reading correct. So are readings in HWMonitor.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Just updated AIDA64 and temps are now reading correct. So are readings in HWMonitor.
    Still odd then, as I don't feel AIDA64's reported temps on my system are correct. (54C idle, 85C under load)

    Anyway, heres the list of temps, light load (~7% CPU usage) from separate software (all latest versions), so which is right

    AIDA64 CPU 63C CPU Diode 59C

    HWINFO64 Tctl 59C Tdie 39C

    HWMonitor TMPIN0 62C TMPIN1 27C TMPIN2 34C

    BIOS 1002 Upon reboot from above, 60C
    Last edited by Theagg; 04-13-2017 at 12:35 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by Theagg View Post
    Still odd then, as I don't feel AIDA64's reported temps on my system are correct. (54C idle, 85C under load)

    Anyway, heres the list of temps, light load (~7% CPU usage) from separate software (all latest versions), so which is right

    AIDA64 CPU 63C CPU Diode 59C

    HWINFO64 Tctl 59C Tdie 39C

    HWMonitor TMPIN0 62C TMPIN1 27C TMPIN2 34C

    BIOS 1002 Upon reboot from above, 60C
    Are you on the trial version of AIDA64.? I have the pro version and it allowed me to update.
    CPUid HWMonitor was TMPINO was 65C now 45C. TMPIN1 is 27C as is TMPIN2.
    My Bios is 1002 and reads 56C so no change there for me.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •