Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    C6H - Connect just 8-pin EATX_12V or both 8-pin and 4-pin?

    I did a search on this question but did not find anything specific to the Crosshair VI Hero. Do I connect both the 8-pin EATX_12V and 4-pin EATX_12V to the PSU or just the 8-pin? Threads on other motherboards seem to indicate that it is safest to connect both. Just want to verify whether that is the case for the Crosshair VI Hero? Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I've tested and it seems to work fine with the 8 pin but without the 4 pin I'd say overclocking would be limited.

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    For a 4Ghz overclock with an 1800X CPU, just the 8-pin should be sufficient. A single 8-pin connector is rated to pass over 400 Watts of power.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    And for comparison, running Intel Burn Test, Prime95 and the like usually lands you at less than 350 w at the wall (whole PC system).

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I use just the 8 pin and have a 1700 OCed to 4ghz, no issues also I don't believe the other x370 boards have more than the one 8 pin
    An*

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by StarfireX View Post
    I use just the 8 pin and have a 1700 OCed to 4ghz, no issues also I don't believe the other x370 boards have more than the one 8 pin
    An*
    Can you share with as your settings for 4GHz?

    I also use only 8 pin...

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array AtrixfizIeo PC Specs
    AtrixfizIeo PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI hero
    Processor1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 1080
    Monitor1 34'' LG ultrawide, 1 55'' Samsung 4K
    Storage #1Toshiba 128GB SSD, samsung evo 840 512GB SSD
    Storage #2(2) WD 2TB HDD, 1 WD 4TB, XPG M.2 1TB
    CPU CoolerH110I
    CaseLian Li Lancool One Digital
    Power SupplyEVGA 850
    Keyboard G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Corsair Dark Orb
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB
    OS Windows 10 pro Advanced

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    29

    I am also only using the 8-pin.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    I use both but with the overclock ceiling I don't think it really matters.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks everyone! I will go with just the 8-pin at this point, as I'm not looking to go much past 4GHz right now.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    I always connect both CPU power connectors... it does not hurt anything... - and when you're bitten by the clocking bug, it will be already there!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •