cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G75 960m ASUS RoG laptop w/ Dual Monitors

Slip_Gaming
Level 7
I have a RoG asus laptop that has 2.6 cpu, 4gig nvidia 960m gpu, 16gb ram, 128ssd, 1TB HDD.

I need to know if it's safe to run dual monitors off the HDMI port while I stream playing wow & csgo on my main monitor and have my cpu/twitch/temps/chrome open on my 2nd monitor. Also what would be the best settings.

Another thing I thought of, but don't know if it's possible is can I run my 2nd monitor off my integrated graphics rather than my GPU, would split the load and be a lot more efficient. I really need a dual monitor for streaming on twitch, any help is appreciated - Thanks.
11 REPLIES 11

jtchrome
Level 7
I'm not a pro but what i know for our line of laptops is that the 960 graphics card is "dedicated" and would normally kick in when you (1) plug in your laptop (2) manually switch to the dedicated graphics card (3) are running a program that the integrated card just can't handle. Since the graphics card usage "switches" to the dedicated card, instead of sharing the load between the two, I'm guessing that you can't use both cards together. That might require bridging ( which we can't do on the laptop). I was also thinking that, if it were possible to do what you are suggesting, the integrated graphics card may not be able to handle the work load.
This is just my thought. Not sure if I'm right.

Well, thank you for the input. I understand it's probably not possible to split the load.

My main question is still.. will I be able to twitch/youtube/chrome on one monitor, and game on my other monitor off of a GTX 960m. I don't want to fry my hardware.. also what are safe temps or guidelines I should be going by.. I'm new to dual monitors. Thanks.

Ancients
Level 10