Page 13 of 267 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 23 63 113 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 2664
  1. #121
    ROG Member Array brumylad2017 PC Specs
    brumylad2017 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair Hero VI
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    Storage #1Toshiba XG3 M2 256 SSD
    Storage #2OCZ Vertex 460A 240GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisblock XPX CPU Block
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i 1200W
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    help needed by Raja@asus

    hey there raja after a lot time and messing about with my ch6 and memory now finally been able to get my ram running at 2746mhz which is overclocked. the way its running at this speed is using the asus tuning tool in the bios put my 1700X to 3.80ghz and changes memory frequency for 2666mhz to 2746mhz. using 1.35v and ive managed to get it running with timings of 14-14-14-34 but the one i cant seem to figure out how to change is Bank Cycle Time (tRC) as atm mine is at 62 and i wanna try dropping it to between 52-56.

    if u can provide some help with this id be very greatful

  2. #122
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by Kobura View Post
    Otherwise you only gain 100-200MHz headroom top from disabling cores.

    Talking purely about ambient cooling ofc.
    With less circuitry activated, it should also require less voltage. Which, if the process is capable, should allow higher overclocks. It worked that way on the last two generations of the Intel Core architecture I tried it on. It doesn't on Ryzen, however.

    Being a gamer, I was willing to sacrifice a few cores for higher clock speed. In my case, I gained 0 MHz. Tried four cores (2+2 and 4+0) and six cores (even tried with SMT disabled) but gained nothing at all.
    Last edited by MNMadman; 04-01-2017 at 04:51 PM.

  3. #123
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by brumylad2017 View Post
    hey there raja after a lot time and messing about with my ch6 and memory now finally been able to get my ram running at 2746mhz which is overclocked. the way its running at this speed is using the asus tuning tool in the bios put my 1700X to 3.80ghz and changes memory frequency for 2666mhz to 2746mhz. using 1.35v and ive managed to get it running with timings of 14-14-14-34 but the one i cant seem to figure out how to change is Bank Cycle Time (tRC) as atm mine is at 62 and i wanna try dropping it to between 52-56.

    if u can provide some help with this id be very greatful
    There is no way to do so. However, there is a big AGESA code update for RAM compatibility/stability/speed coming from AMD to board manufacturers in May. BIOS updates for our boards using that new AGESA code will come after that.

    The secondary timings might be opened up to us when those BIOS updates are released.

  4. #124
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)none
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)tdrgd4 16g3000hc16cdc01
    Graphics Card #1XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Sound Cardon board
    Monitor2X 24" veiwsonic 1080p/ 55"Samsung 4k curved
    Storage #1Samsung evo 840, 250gig sys drive
    Storage #25 other mixed hdd's
    CPU CoolerEK C6H mono block
    CaseThermaltake core x9
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1500w dps rgb
    Keyboard Corsair k65
    Mouse R.A.T. 9
    Headset Turtle Beach Star Wars X wing edition
    Mouse Pad WOW desk mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    Accessory #1 Airplex radical 2 480 on gpus swifttech d5
    Accessory #2 Airplex radical 2 480 on cpu swifttech d5
    Accessory #3 Airplex radical 2 280 on sb p500 TT
    Demoniacstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    160

    Quote Originally Posted by MNMadman View Post
    I know this -- everything is like that in the computing world.

    What I was saying was that with disabled cores, these CPUs SHOULD be able to clock higher. But they cannot. So the process is at fault. I heard this was a cell phone process node or something, not originally designed as a computer CPU process node.

    A BIOS update cannot fix a process node that isn't designed for high clock rates.

    And if IMC stability was at fault, just turning the RAM down to 2133 would improve overclocks -- but it doesn't.

    Bottom line -- don't expect higher core clocks from the RAM update in May. Expect RAM to work better and that's it. That way you won't be disappointed.
    hahhaha i see you edited this crap...a cellphone though uh ....lmao....
    when i seen that i got a hell of a laugh out of it ..... you do not have a clue what you're even talking about do you ....
    you don't even remember what the fx line /am3 platform wuz like when it came out do you......lmao.....
    and yes i do know more then you seem to think you know there bud......
    on bios 1001 .....

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	good SoC voltage.JPG 
Views:	145 
Size:	63.8 KB 
ID:	63647

    from bios 1002......
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2832 mhz ram.JPG 
Views:	145 
Size:	64.0 KB 
ID:	63648

    but the bios had nothing to do with the ram reaching 2832 though did it ....my ram just decided hey today after this bios update i'll fricken run faster
    you don't have a clue what your talking bout chief so knock it off
    i guess the 5ghz+ the pro's here are doing wuz all faked ...cuz its not designed for that uh .....

    and i guess this 4.2 ghz here is fake too uh cuz it's not designed for this ......lmao.....
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.2ghz.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	129.6 KB 
ID:	63649
    you need to step off your high horse ....it's pretty clear you dont know jack!

  5. #125
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by Demoniacstar View Post
    hahhaha i see you edited this crap...a cellphone though uh ....lmao....
    when i seen that i got a hell of a laugh out of it ..... you do not have a clue what you're even talking about do you ....
    you don't even remember what the fx line /am3 platform wuz like when it came out do you......lmao.....
    and yes i do know more then you seem to think you know there bud......
    on bios 1001 .....

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	good SoC voltage.JPG 
Views:	145 
Size:	63.8 KB 
ID:	63647

    from bios 1002......
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2832 mhz ram.JPG 
Views:	145 
Size:	64.0 KB 
ID:	63648

    but the bios had nothing to do with the ram reaching 2832 though did it ....my ram just decided hey today after this bios update i'll fricken run faster
    you don't have a clue what your talking bout chief so knock it off
    i guess the 5ghz+ the pro's here are doing wuz all faked ...cuz its not designed for that uh .....

    and i guess this 4.2 ghz here is fake too uh cuz it's not designed for this ......lmao.....
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.2ghz.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	129.6 KB 
ID:	63649
    you need to step off your high horse ....it's pretty clear you dont know jack!
    You seem to be taking this personally and for that I apologize. It wasn't intended that way, and I wasn't comparing knowledge levels. You can take your mockery and shove it where the sun doesn't shine.

    I wasn't referring to RAM speed. I was referring to CPU core speed. You can clearly see that in my post.

    I was also referring to ambient like 99% of people use. And yes some EXTREMELY lucky people might get 4.2GHz+ out of Ryzen on ambient cooling. The key thing to ask in those cases is whether or not it's stable enough for 24/7 usage. For most of those it likely isn't.

    Of course using anything sub-ambient like LN2 is going to change things and enable the extreme overclocks.

    I stand by what I said about not expecting higher core clocks from the May AGESA code update. The cell phone thing was probably a rumor, but the rest is good info. I would rather not expect it and be happy that I can overclock to faster core speed than expect it and be disappointed. What you do is up to you.
    Last edited by MNMadman; 04-01-2017 at 06:36 PM.

  6. #126
    ROG Member Array OMG_Larson PC Specs
    OMG_Larson PC Specs
    MotherboardCROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus strix 1070
    Graphics Card #2Asus strix 1070
    MonitorROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Corsair Force MP500 240GB M.2
    Storage #2Seagate Desktop 2TB 3.5" SSHD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 240
    CaseMastercase Maker 5
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1000
    OS Win 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hold Your horses boys....

  7. #127
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by MNMadman View Post
    With less circuitry activated, it should also require less voltage. Which, if the process is capable, should allow higher overclocks. It worked that way on the last two generations of the Intel Core architecture I tried it on. It doesn't on Ryzen, however.
    That still sounds more likely like a thermal limit. Did you delid your CPUs? Part of the die just might run too high on a non-delidded Core i series.

    The biggest difference i found was less than 200MHz, and usually it's actually less than 100MHz, unless the limit was temperature.

    And as buildzoid mentioned, voltage doesn't change at all, neither on Intel nor AMD, when it comes to less or more cores. If you need less voltage on less cores, then you just disabled a core that needed more voltage than the other ones. But the difference should still be less than 100-200MHz.

  8. #128
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)none
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)tdrgd4 16g3000hc16cdc01
    Graphics Card #1XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Sound Cardon board
    Monitor2X 24" veiwsonic 1080p/ 55"Samsung 4k curved
    Storage #1Samsung evo 840, 250gig sys drive
    Storage #25 other mixed hdd's
    CPU CoolerEK C6H mono block
    CaseThermaltake core x9
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1500w dps rgb
    Keyboard Corsair k65
    Mouse R.A.T. 9
    Headset Turtle Beach Star Wars X wing edition
    Mouse Pad WOW desk mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    Accessory #1 Airplex radical 2 480 on gpus swifttech d5
    Accessory #2 Airplex radical 2 480 on cpu swifttech d5
    Accessory #3 Airplex radical 2 280 on sb p500 TT
    Demoniacstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    160

    Quote Originally Posted by MNMadman View Post
    You seem to be taking this personally and for that I apologize. It wasn't intended that way, and I wasn't comparing knowledge levels. You can take your mockery and shove it where the sun doesn't shine.

    I wasn't referring to RAM speed. I was referring to CPU core speed. You can clearly see that in my post.

    I was also referring to ambient like 99% of people use. And yes some EXTREMELY lucky people might get 4.2GHz+ out of Ryzen on ambient cooling. The key thing to ask in those cases is whether or not it's stable enough for 24/7 usage. For most of those it likely isn't.

    Of course using anything sub-ambient like LN2 is going to change things and enable the extreme overclocks.

    I stand by what I said about not expecting higher core clocks from the May AGESA code update. The cell phone thing was probably a rumor, but the rest is good info. I would rather not expect it and be happy that I can overclock to faster core speed than expect it and be disappointed. What you do is up to you.
    yes and so am i ......that AGESA CODE most certainly can help get higher cpu clocks .....all this ram without that code is so unstable its not even funny .....
    and yes i did the exact same voltages i did to get 2725 as i am getting 2830's.....that 1002 bios update did help that ....because it wuz not and would not do it before on 1001.....with exact same setting .....all this stuff is tied together you know ......when one part is unstable it can and will cause other parts to be unstable...
    just like too low SoC voltage will make it look like it's too low ram voltage .... when its not .....to much ram voltage will make it look like its the cpu failing when its not....you truly don't have much experience with a amd machine do you.....or even overclocking for that matter ......i do expect higher core clocks when ram gets stabilized ..... the bios is still buggy as ever and unstable it self.....and that does not help.....unstable anything will stop you from getting higher clocks....
    i don't expect to see 5 ghz on water ....but i do expect to see a improvement in clock speeds from a system that is more stable with ram ...yes i do.....

  9. #129
    ROG Member Array seansplayin PC Specs
    seansplayin PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero / C7H WIFI
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1800X / 2700x
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 / Gskill F4-4266C19D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1R9 280x / Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
    MonitorVast 3440x1440 freesync @ 100hz
    Storage #1My Digital NVMe 480GB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra2 480GB
    CPU CoolerEK Water Block
    CaseAZZA
    Power SupplyLepa G 1600
    Keyboard Logitech
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Logitech
    Headset/Speakers Corsair
    OS Windows 10/ Ubuntu 18.04
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk R8000

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    to 1002 or to not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Directly from Elmor:

    Alright, BIOS updating time. This version has reverted DRAM settings to 5803 behavior (1T mode), but I also have a test BIOS which keeps 0902 behavior (2T mode) for those who saw improvements there. It also fixes the low temperature reporting and FanXpert OS control.


    1001 (DRAM 1T mode): http://www.mediafire.com/file/1w2qv4...-ASUS-1001.zip

    0038 (DRAM 2T mode): http://www.mediafire.com/file/o5m6ub...-ASUS-0038.zip

    1002: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...542.1460646937
    Hi guys, so i'm using the C6H with an 1800x cooled by a very custom water loop. I'm using bios 5704 and my Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 memory is running great at 3200mt/s and I have no stability issues at all but I am running dram voltage at 1.5v and vboot dram at 1.5v. Is there any reason to flash bios 1002 ?

    thank you

  10. #130
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)none
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)tdrgd4 16g3000hc16cdc01
    Graphics Card #1XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Sound Cardon board
    Monitor2X 24" veiwsonic 1080p/ 55"Samsung 4k curved
    Storage #1Samsung evo 840, 250gig sys drive
    Storage #25 other mixed hdd's
    CPU CoolerEK C6H mono block
    CaseThermaltake core x9
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1500w dps rgb
    Keyboard Corsair k65
    Mouse R.A.T. 9
    Headset Turtle Beach Star Wars X wing edition
    Mouse Pad WOW desk mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    Accessory #1 Airplex radical 2 480 on gpus swifttech d5
    Accessory #2 Airplex radical 2 480 on cpu swifttech d5
    Accessory #3 Airplex radical 2 280 on sb p500 TT
    Demoniacstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    160

    campolungo cognac

    Quote Originally Posted by seansplayin View Post
    Hi guys, so i'm using the C6H with an 1800x cooled by a very custom water loop. I'm using bios 5704 and my Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 memory is running great at 3200mt/s and I have no stability issues at all but I am running dram voltage at 1.5v and vboot dram at 1.5v. Is there any reason to flash bios 1002 ?

    thank you
    i have had luck with bios version 1002....how ever when i first tried 1002 it did not do my system any good so i flashed back to 1001....
    BUT.....when they posted 1002 officially on the asus board support page i tried it again ....and yes this time it has been working flawlessly
    i do not know what changes were made from beta to official....but man this thing is rocking now.....
    it might help you get lower ram voltage ...it might not man......
    try it! what's the worst that could happen?....

Page 13 of 267 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 23 63 113 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •