Page 158 of 263 FirstFirst ... 58 108 148 156 157 158 159 160 168 208 258 ... LastLast
Results 1,571 to 1,580 of 2621
  1. #1571
    ROG Member Array looncraz PC Specs
    looncraz PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Graphics Card #1RX Vega 64 - Water-cooled (EK FC Vega)
    MonitorDual 24", #1: FreeSync 144Hz TN, #2: IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo NVME
    Storage #2Multiple SSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    looncraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Lunatic! View Post
    Really disappointed with the new agesa & test bios...

    Memory latency is worse than ever. It went up by 8-10 ns...

    Cinebench scores are lower.
    3DMark scores are lower.
    Gaming performance is worse.

    Back to AGESA 1.0.0.6 I guess...

    EDIT:

    I've been testing to find out exactly what was causing this increased memory latency.

    Just now discovered that DISABLING GEARDOWN and manually forcing CR2 returned the latency to normal values.

    (Using CR2 'cause CR1 is not stable with my 4 sticks @ 3466)

    So, something has definitely changed with how GEARDOWN is working in this new agesa code and/or test bios.

    Please someone else test this and confirm.

    Thank you.
    Can confirm most of it.

    Memory bandwidth is 5% lower, latency is ~5ns higher, and Cinebench score is 35 points lower despite using the exact same settings.

    When I was doing stock testing, I noticed that my CPU would readily hit its 3.9GHz XFR, which it NEVER has done before. I saw a 20 point increased in CPU-z single thread score (410 vs 390), but a fixed 3.8GHz still wins at 435. I only ran one test each time, though.

    Will try for higher overclocks, as others have claimed they can reach higher core clocks even with higher memory clocks - which would make sense as AMD isn't pounding the memory modules are hard as they were. I'd happily give up 5% bandwidth to gain 100MHz in CPU frequency.

    Will do tinkering at some point and will chime back in if others haven't already.

  2. #1572
    ROG Enthusiast Array JohnnyKurzschluss PC Specs
    JohnnyKurzschluss PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Nitro 5 AN515 32GB
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X @ 3,6Ghz,1,15V
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C16D-32GVK @ 2800 14-16-16-34 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX RX 580 O8G
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX RX 580 O8G (PCI passthrough)
    Monitor43: 3840x2160, 32: 2560x1600, 24: 1980x1200
    Storage #1LVM with NAS disks
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro (ESP, Hibernation Image)
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho Rev. B
    CaseAntec Twelve Hundred
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Gold
    OS Archlinux (& virtually Windumb 10)
    Network Router1 Gbit/s
    Accessory #1 PCI passthrough on USB 3 ports
    Accessory #2 Delock USB 2 sharing switch for the keyboard

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Just tested it:

    - Was not booting at all with specified RAM settings (3200)
    - Old RAM speed was easily recoverable (2800 - see my profile)
    - PCI Addresses changed! Thus, the name of my network device changed as well.
    - The device below has been split in groups

    IOMMU Group 18 0c:00.0 Non-Essential Instrumentation [1300] Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:145a]
    IOMMU Group 19 0c:00.2 Encryption controller [1080]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device [1022:1456]
    IOMMU Group 20 0c:00.3 USB controller [0c03]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] USB3 Host Controller [1022:145c]

    I'm still seeing those (I removed most of the lines):
    [ 2164.568816] amd_iommu_report_page_fault: 106 callbacks suppressed
    [ 2164.568818] vfio-pci 0000:0b:00.0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IO_PAGE_FAULT domain=0x0019 address=0x00000016e29f0040 flags=0x0000]
    [ 2164.568935] amd_iommu_report_page_fault: 96 callbacks suppressed
    [ 2164.568936] AMD-Vi: Event logged [IO_PAGE_FAULT device=0b:00.0 domain=0x0019 address=0x00000016e29f0700 flags=0x0000]
    [ 2172.190731] amd_iommu_report_page_fault: 1 callbacks suppressed
    I guess they we're created on a specific event.
    Also, this was the first time, I've been able to update the AMD GPU driver inside my virtual windows without crashing it at the end of the update.

    Looking forward to see some more successful suspension/sleep functions as well. Thanks so far (:

    There is a new group in AMD CBS, it was "MBIST" iirc. Any details? Have no idea what it does.
    Wait. Let me guess. "Mainboard Integrated Self Test"?
    Last edited by JohnnyKurzschluss; 11-21-2017 at 07:45 PM.
    Having an ASUS board?
    Increasing the Capabilities in your Digi+ VRM can prevent your hardware from being shut off (relaxes over-current condition).
    Do it if you DID NOT set bad settings but didn't get it stable. (i.e. your hardware is for overclocking, high destiny, whatever).

  3. #1573
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Beta revision 0020

    3200 stable but latencies much higher than normal. Some cold boots while setting voltages. Core voltages were coming in very low for some reason.

    Started at offset with minus 0.0625, which returned a running value of 1.199v: Windows failed to boot.
    Changed to offset plus 0.02500, the running value changed 1.393v: windows boots fine.
    Retried minus offset 0.0625 again, now Vcore sticks to 1.323v: HCImemtest ok with zero errors at 100%.

    3200 memory speed running 1701 gives me latencies of 72.5ns in Aida64.
    3200 memory speed running 0020 gives latencies of 81 in Aida64 with CR1, 80.5 with CR2. Level 1, 2, 3 latencies also return a large increase.

    Once stable settings were applied in 0020, I got no cold boots at all. But I wont persist with a bios with such high latencies. Any memory speeds above 3200 were just failing in hci memtest, sometimes windows just freezes.

  4. #1574
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I'm experiencing a weird problem. Every 3-5 boots, my BIOS fails to POST with my current OC settings and will reset to optimized defaults. I believe the settings to be stable as I've stress tested both the RAM and the CPU, so what could be causing this issue?

  5. #1575
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    New UEFI test build linked in first post of thread.


    C6H test BIOS 0020 using AGESA 1007 (405200c4e299c1eed9a0044edec9aba51f37cee1d70caabe4 0b9485b0604521a)

    In order to get back to an older version after flashing, you have to use USB BIOS Flashback. Please report any bugs in the bug report form.
    Great job on the new bios. I have had this board sense launch(1800x and 32gb CL14 trident 2x16gb sticks). This is the first bios ive been able to hit 4.0ghz stable with 3200 ram speed.

    Only issue i have found so far is that ryzen master + cinebench dont pick up on the correct CPU and Ram speeds, but CPU-Z does. CPUZ has correct ram speed and CPU speed, while Cinebench thinks i have 3.6ghz, and ryzen master thinks i have 667 ram speed. Bios reports correct speeds on the right of the main page but when on the main page its incorrect. Idk whats goin on.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Overclock.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	140.4 KB 
ID:	69163

  6. #1576
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    New UEFI test build linked in first post of thread.


    C6H test BIOS 0020 using AGESA 1007 (405200c4e299c1eed9a0044edec9aba51f37cee1d70caabe4 0b9485b0604521a)

    In order to get back to an older version after flashing, you have to use USB BIOS Flashback. Please report any bugs in the bug report form.
    I cannot get 0020 to flash. If I flash in bios it completes the initial flash but never reboots. Results in error 0d. If I use flashback to flash, it completes the flash just fine but results in 0d on boot.

    I've tried everything I can think of, making sure I reset to defaults and resetting CMOS before attempting to flash. I've tried rolling back to old bios revisions then flashing but get the same result. Someone here suggested removing memory then resetting CMOS but I also get the same result. I've redownloaded the bios multiple times and even tried using different apps to unzip it.

    I'm currently on 1701 with EC1 0312.

  7. #1577
    ROG Enthusiast Array whiskey-foxtrot PC Specs
    whiskey-foxtrot PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1RX480 CFX
    Graphics Card #2RX480 CFX
    Sound Cardon-board
    Monitor2 x Dell 32" 4k UP3216Q
    Storage #1960 EVO 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate IronWolf 10TB x 4
    CPU CoolerAlways EKWB loops - for everything!
    CaseThermaltake X71
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 Plat P2
    Keyboard Logitech RGB G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G Pro & Logitech G600
    Headset Logitech G35
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G35 & Bose Lifestyle 525
    OS Windows 10 Pro / Debian
    Network RouterD-Link 890-L
    whiskey-foxtrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Kundica View Post
    I cannot get 0020 to flash. If I flash in bios it completes the initial flash but never reboots. Results in error 0d. If I use flashback to flash, it completes the flash just fine but results in 0d on boot.

    I've tried everything I can think of, making sure I reset to defaults and resetting CMOS before attempting to flash. I've tried rolling back to old bios revisions then flashing but get the same result. Someone here suggested removing memory then resetting CMOS but I also get the same result. I've redownloaded the bios multiple times and even tried using different apps to unzip it.

    I'm currently on 1701 with EC1 0312.
    I had the same issue on 2 out of 5 C6H boards - those 2 were old stock from March and they simply refuse to flash with 0020 no matter what I do - the working ones were purchased in June and July. Almost makes me think that there is a difference between those production dates.

  8. #1578
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    139

    just flashed the beta 0020 and my memory refuses to boot above 3200mhz down from 3466mhz withbthe same settings. tried virtually everything to get the board to boot. ive ended up with 3200mhz and rubbish latencies... not happy so far... glad its only a beta. 3466mhz on b-die at 43.6ohms and 1.4v should of booted just fine with slackened timing and 2T. this bios is broken and i cant see how anyone would ever think differently so why release it. hope Elmore gets the new bios out asap!
    Last edited by purecain; 11-22-2017 at 04:29 PM.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  9. #1579
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    214

    Any Beta BIOS foir the Crosshair VI Extreme? remember this board needs some love too

  10. #1580
    ROG Enthusiast Array JohnnyKurzschluss PC Specs
    JohnnyKurzschluss PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Nitro 5 AN515 32GB
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X @ 3,6Ghz,1,15V
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C16D-32GVK @ 2800 14-16-16-34 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX RX 580 O8G
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX RX 580 O8G (PCI passthrough)
    Monitor43: 3840x2160, 32: 2560x1600, 24: 1980x1200
    Storage #1LVM with NAS disks
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro (ESP, Hibernation Image)
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho Rev. B
    CaseAntec Twelve Hundred
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 850 Gold
    OS Archlinux (& virtually Windumb 10)
    Network Router1 Gbit/s
    Accessory #1 PCI passthrough on USB 3 ports
    Accessory #2 Delock USB 2 sharing switch for the keyboard

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    My rig survives sleep/suspension when my gaming VM is running since the new bios!
    Thanks man
    Having an ASUS board?
    Increasing the Capabilities in your Digi+ VRM can prevent your hardware from being shut off (relaxes over-current condition).
    Do it if you DID NOT set bad settings but didn't get it stable. (i.e. your hardware is for overclocking, high destiny, whatever).

Page 158 of 263 FirstFirst ... 58 108 148 156 157 158 159 160 168 208 258 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •