Page 110 of 271 FirstFirst ... 10 60 100 108 109 110 111 112 120 160 210 ... LastLast
Results 1,091 to 1,100 of 2709
  1. #1091
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by bilek View Post
    CPU fan stops automatically
    I am very sorry to have taken this motherboard
    I feel myself deceived
    All the features of this MB is outstanding and incomparable to other brands BUT... I agree, this is the worst ASUS MB I ever had.

    A lot of users has problems with temperature readings (-73 C) , fans stopping or speeding.
    ASUS on the other hand take no interest in this problem or claims that it is a third-party-problem.
    ASUS own LED-program Aura displays (RED) the same temperature problem (-73 C) that AIDA64 (any version) tells.

    The fan problems occurs "only" with the CPU and chassis -headers.
    The temperature dropouts occurs on booth CPU and MB readings.

    Helpful people here ask about fan configuration, AIDA64 version and other questions when the problem is ASUS.
    Is there two MB hardware versions out there ? Where can I read the MB version *
    I have replaced the card twice already ...

    IS THIS MB:s PROBLEM DROPPED BY ASUS IN FAVOUR OF OTHER PRODUCTS ???

  2. #1092
    ROG Enthusiast Array sadaharu PC Specs
    sadaharu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyZen 7 1700x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD7970 OC.
    MonitorASUS VX229H 21.5" FHD (1920x1080)
    Storage #1Transcend 220S 480 GB
    Storage #2WD 3.5" 1TB Caviar Blue SATA 3.0 7200Rpm 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNzxt h440 Matte Black
    Power SupplyCorsair GS800 80 PLUS® Bronze
    Keyboard Everest Rampage KM-R7 Keyboard
    Mouse Everest Rampage KM-R7 Mouse
    Headset Beats Solo 2
    Mouse Pad M.K. Atatürk Signature Special Black Edition
    Headset/Speakers MICROLAB M-200 (2+1) Piano Black Speaker
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    67

    Going back to bios 1403.

    More stable than 1501.

    No cold boot.

    Temps are around 22-27 on idle. 40 to 50 on full load. ( A big question mark is here ( ? ) )

    I disconnect h115i cpu fans from pump splitters and put them onto Mobo. Much quieter now.

    AURA stopped working and crashed several times.

    I tried uninstall it with iobit uninstaller. Clean the mess with CCleaner.

    Uninstalled corsair link. (dont download it - still a mess) and asus ai suite. Again CCleaner.

    Downloaded AURA.

    Crashed again.

    Everytime i tried to load other BIOS. AURA crashes.

    Now ı dont have any solution. Aura update doesnt work either.

    I stuck with rainbow style leds whether pc is on or off.


    DEAR ASUS.

    Please give us a proper bios. Pleaseee... It has been 5-6 months and we ara still experiencing weird stuff like that.

  3. #1093
    ROG Member Array bilek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Clouseau View Post
    Can you please explain what Guinea is. I am not familiar with that word.
    Guinea (same) What is the same meaning

  4. #1094
    ROG Enthusiast Array antony209494 PC Specs
    antony209494 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)Patriot Viper RGB 3200 CL16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix 1080Ti
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung 27CHG70
    Storage #1Adata SX8200
    Storage #2Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0
    CPU CoolerAntec Kuhler H2o 620
    Power SupplyCorsair GS 800 2013
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by andyliu View Post
    Before you try anything else, I will suggest you to make sure the water cooler is actually compatible with AM4.
    While you might be able to get away with AM3 compatibilty, the mounting pressure is just different and can cause issues.
    other things I will try:
    I will try to load everything with default value first and try to do what you normally do to see if it will hang or crash.
    And you can also check event viewer in Windows, just search for event viewer. look for error or warning to see if it report anything unusal.
    And I will also try to reflash BIOS with usb flash back to make sure nothing is corrupted.
    I flashed 9920...still crashes. Luckily there are cash dumps. This is the error:


    WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR!

    I searched a bit online and most people say that disabling CPU overclocking solves that. Thing is, I want the extra performance (from 3.00 to 4.00 Ghz there is quite a gap). CPU voltage is 1.375 and it is stable with temps between 55-65 C.

    The observations I have made so far:
    1) It started happening after BIOS 1201 (so it is clearly bios related - doesn't have to do with CPU cooler pressure)
    2)Happens mostly during gaming and very rarely while surfing, idling etc....
    3)Happens a lot more frequently when the XMP 3200 profile is active but it can happen with just about every memory setting combination as well.
    4)Happens about 4/10 times I try to load FIFA 17 (as soon as the exe is loaded into the memory). If it happens once and I try to open FIFA again after the restart without going in the bios it has a much higher chance to happen again (crashed on that spot 4 times in a a row once - so 4 restarts just to open a game ) GTA V also makes it happen usually during gameplay.

    Any comments?

  5. #1095
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by antony209494 View Post
    I flashed 9920...still crashes. Luckily there are cash dumps. This is the error:


    WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR!

    I searched a bit online and most people say that disabling CPU overclocking solves that. Thing is, I want the extra performance (from 3.00 to 4.00 Ghz there is quite a gap). CPU voltage is 1.375 and it is stable with temps between 55-65 C.

    The observations I have made so far:
    1) It started happening after BIOS 1201 (so it is clearly bios related - doesn't have to do with CPU cooler pressure)
    2)Happens mostly during gaming and very rarely while surfing, idling etc....
    3)Happens a lot more frequently when the XMP 3200 profile is active but it can happen with just about every memory setting combination as well.
    4)Happens about 4/10 times I try to load FIFA 17 (as soon as the exe is loaded into the memory). If it happens once and I try to open FIFA again after the restart without going in the bios it has a much higher chance to happen again (crashed on that spot 4 times in a a row once - so 4 restarts just to open a game ) GTA V also makes it happen usually during gameplay.

    Any comments?
    My guess is your overclock is not yet stable. When running Cinnebech does it crash? Does it run Cinnebench and then RealBench 15 minutes stress test without issues? Maybe you need to increase the voltage a notch.

  6. #1096
    ROG Enthusiast Array antony209494 PC Specs
    antony209494 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)Patriot Viper RGB 3200 CL16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix 1080Ti
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung 27CHG70
    Storage #1Adata SX8200
    Storage #2Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0
    CPU CoolerAntec Kuhler H2o 620
    Power SupplyCorsair GS 800 2013
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Hagno View Post
    My guess is your overclock is not yet stable. When running Cinnebech does it crash? Does it run Cinnebench and then RealBench 15 minutes stress test without issues? Maybe you need to increase the voltage a notch.
    OK ignore what I just said - it is an unstable overclock! Truth is I hadn't run prime95 since 1201 only cinebench. I just run cinebench twice and the second time it crashed - Same way-same error. Run prime 95 and it crashed too after 2 mins. HOWEVER I am pretty positive that this happened because of bios updates because it used to be stable at these settings until 1201. BIOS updates should increase stability - not decrease it! WTF ASUS guys?!)
    I will have to raise the voltage a bit and try again but I will not go above 1.4 (i only have a single block AIO after all). If temps become bad or I can't get it to run stable I will revert to 1201.
    Last edited by antony209494; 08-15-2017 at 04:45 PM.

  7. #1097
    ROG Member Array Pandemix PC Specs
    Pandemix PC Specs
    MotherboardX370 CH6
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)GSKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti Gaming X
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Xense
    MonitorDell S2716DG
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair C70
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 650x
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Sennheiser PC350 SE (modded)
    Mouse Pad Steelseries DEX
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS AC1750

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I'm running 1501, no issues other than an occasional cold boot. I have my 1700 running at 39.25 GHz, 1.34v and Samsung b-die memory at 3333 with super tight timings, 14-14-14-28-42, 1.375v, SOC@ .98v. Cinebench says my single threaded performance is on par with a broadwell at 4.4Ghz and hits 1770ish multithreaded. If it's randomly crashing, you either need to crank voltage, increase LLC to level 4, possibly 5, or just drop your overclock a bit. I can run my cpu at 4ghz, but it takes over 1.45v to do so, even 3.95ghz is not really manageable. The trick with ryzen is to find the best stable OC you can get without having to crank voltage much past 1.35. The minimal performance increase does not justify all the extra heat and power draw. Getting your ram running as fast and as tight as possible is a bigger bump than a small bump in CPU frequency.

    I swapped my CH6 out for a Asrock Taichi, it's voltage is stupidly more stable than the CH6, but even with the super stable voltage I couldn't get as much out of my CPU and RAM as I can on this CH6, so I went back. Honestly I'm surprised they have released as many bios updates for this as they have, they have a bazillion motherboards, it seems they have spent a fair amount of time working on this one and are continuing to do so. While this board is still not ideal, take a look at all the competitor boards and you'll see complaints everywhere. This isn't really an Asus problem as much as it is an AM4/AMD problem in my opinion. Regardless it's possible to get this thing stable and running great, you just have to work at it.
    Last edited by Pandemix; 08-15-2017 at 04:43 PM.

  8. #1098
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by antony209494 View Post
    OK ignore what I just said - it is an unstable overclock! Truth is I hadn't run prime95 since 1201 only cinebench. I just run cinebench twice and the second time it crashed - Same way-same error. Run prime 95 and it crashed too after 2 mins. HOWEVER I am pretty positive that this happened because of bios updates because it used to be stable at these settings until 1201. BIOS updates should increase stability - not decrease it! WTF ASUS guys?!)
    I will have to raise the voltage a bit and try again but I will not go above 1.4 (i only have a single block AIO after all). If temps become bad or I can't get it to run stable I will revert to 1201.
    Had C6H since launch. Used 4x differing CPUs and 3 differing RAM kits on same board. Used pretty much every UEFI released. What I found with my R7 1700 was UEFI after 1403 seemed to require some retweaking for same OC. My R7 1800X also as well was unstable in UEFI 9920 and 1501 with same setup as 1403, again retweaking sorted it.

    These kinda of variations can occur, especially on a developing platform as Ryzen IMO. I had been on Intel since 2007 prior to Ryzen, even on that you can have some variability. Even when a BIOS/UEFI hasn't changed sometimes the 'HW' just needs a retweak as it can't hold the OC at previous settings.

    Not saying your stability testing was not valid, but IMO 1-2 programs pass does not qualify an OC as stable for me. I have experienced on my Ryzen setups cases where I have passed lengthy testing in IBT AVX, custom x264 and Y-Cruncher, only to find HCI Memtest has found low count errors (~<10) in ~6hrs of testings, where as the other programs were passing.

    A setting that has aided gaining stability at 3333MHz RAM on later UEFIs when using my R7 1800X has been lowering VDDP. I had noted in past screenies that VDDP [Auto] was ~900mV and in UEFI's after 9943 it is ~975mV, using 900mV and doing some other minor tweaks nailed 3.9GHz with 3333MHz Fast and 3466MHz The Stilt preset for me.
    Last edited by gupsterg; 08-15-2017 at 06:48 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #1099
    ROG Enthusiast Array antony209494 PC Specs
    antony209494 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)Patriot Viper RGB 3200 CL16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix 1080Ti
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung 27CHG70
    Storage #1Adata SX8200
    Storage #2Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0
    CPU CoolerAntec Kuhler H2o 620
    Power SupplyCorsair GS 800 2013
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Had C6H since launch. Used 4x differing CPUs and 3 differing RAM kits on same board. Used pretty much every UEFI released. What I found with my R7 1700 was UEFI after 1403 seemed to require some retweaking for same OC. My R7 1800X also as well was unstable in UEFI 9920 and 1501 with same setup as 1403, again retweaking sorted it.

    These kinda of variations can occur, especially on a developing platform as Ryzen IMO. I had been on Intel since 2007 prior to Ryzen, even on that you can have some variability. Even when a BIOS/UEFI hasn't changed sometimes the 'HW' just needs a retweak as it can't hold the OC at previous settings.

    Not saying your stability testing was not valid, but IMO 1-2 programs pass does not qualify an OC as stable for me. I have experienced on my Ryzen setups cases where I have passed lengthy testing in IBT AVX, custom x264 and Y-Cruncher, only to find HCI Memtest has found low count errors (~<10) in ~6hrs of testings, where as the other programs were passing.

    A setting that has aided gaining stability at 3333MHz RAM on later UEFIs when using my R7 1800X has been lowering VDDP. I had noted in past screenies that VDDP [Auto] was ~900mV and in UEFI's after 9943 it is ~975mV, using 900mV and doing some other minor tweaks nailed 3.9GHz with 3333MHz Fast and 3466MHz The Stilt preset for me.
    Thanks for your help. I am now on 1.4 and have tried every intermediate value between 1.375 and 1.40. The same thing happens in all of them: When I run a stress test or cinebench the voltage dips! It dips as low as 1.35 and it crashes in a matter of seconds as 1.35 is understandably not enough to hold a 4.00 Ghz OC. Which has me thinking: Should i tinker with load line calibration to prevent the VCORE drops (that's what it does right?). I noticed two settings: CPU load-line calibration and CPU current capability. The first one is in levels 1-5 and the second in percentages 100-140%. Should I also use the current capability option alongside the load-line calibration? And what should I set them to?

  10. #1100
    ROG Member Array Pandemix PC Specs
    Pandemix PC Specs
    MotherboardX370 CH6
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)GSKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti Gaming X
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Xense
    MonitorDell S2716DG
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair C70
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 650x
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Sennheiser PC350 SE (modded)
    Mouse Pad Steelseries DEX
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS AC1750

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by antony209494 View Post
    Thanks for your help. I am now on 1.4 and have tried every intermediate value between 1.375 and 1.40. The same thing happens in all of them: When I run a stress test or cinebench the voltage dips! It dips as low as 1.35 and it crashes in a matter of seconds as 1.35 is understandably not enough to hold a 4.00 Ghz OC. Which has me thinking: Should i tinker with load line calibration to prevent the VCORE drops (that's what it does right?). I noticed two settings: CPU load-line calibration and CPU current capability. The first one is in levels 1-5 and the second in percentages 100-140%. Should I also use the current capability option alongside the load-line calibration? And what should I set them to?
    You just need LLC level 4 to stop the majority of the drops. This will result in the thing running at .2V higher than what you have it set at during full load, it will still dip, but when it dips it will dip to what you have it set at in the bios, instead of undervolting like it does now. You might actually be able to drop your voltage .1 to compensate for this, but I probably wouldn't recommend it. I don't think you need to mess with current, I think this is more of an extreme overclocking tool.

    I have read that Ryzen CPU's and CPU's in general have a break in period where you might be able to achieve higher overclocks for a few weeks, but once the chip settles in a bit you will need more voltage. I've had this board since day 1 pretty much and have been through just about all the bios revisions. When I first got the thing it ran stable at 4GHz at 1.37v LLC 3, bios 1201 it ran at 4ghz at 1.38v LLC4, now i need 1.46v LLC5 to hit 4ghz. So there may be some truth to it. I actually bounced back to Bios 1001 to test this theory, I had 4.25ghz on there at one point when it was first released, but it didn't help. I could still only get 3.925 GHz without cranking voltage.

    Honestly your probably just better off dropping your overclock in .25 ghz increments until it's stable if you are already pushing 1.4V The difference between fully stable 3.925ghz (stable) and 3.950ghz (half ass stable) for me is like .5v. You have to find your sweet spot with Ryzen, which is typically anywhere between 3.8 to 4Ghz with a non X chip.

    Also when you test with cinebench, don't just run it once, run it like 5 times in a row. Then run it a few times every time you start up your computer for like a week. You can think you have your overclock good and a few days later it will crash. Eventually you will find your sweetspot, at least until the next bios =)

    EDIT: I tried dropping the VDDP, this did nothing for me, but Ryzen is a tricky beast and you have to master your specific CPU, which can be tough.
    Last edited by Pandemix; 08-16-2017 at 12:01 AM.

Page 110 of 271 FirstFirst ... 10 60 100 108 109 110 111 112 120 160 210 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •