Page 160 of 266 FirstFirst ... 60 110 150 158 159 160 161 162 170 210 260 ... LastLast
Results 1,591 to 1,600 of 2652
  1. #1591
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by rsquires View Post
    Anyone happen to know if Ryzen2 will have the HEVC acceleration the Kaby Lake cpus have, and which is required for Netflix 4K & internal UHD bluray players? Or is Ryzen2 just a simple tweak to the memory controller?
    You mean a Ryzen with integrated graphics? An APU. Features like that should be in the Ryzen 2500u / 2700u, which will be incorporated into things like laptops. I'm not sure you will be able to buy the chip separately for desktop systems. Why not buy a cheap discrete GPU?

    The only reason Intel have been selling us i5 and i7 with integrated graphics on their desktop chips all these years is because it would cost more to manufacture a dedicated CPU with extra cores in place of the APU, which they could have easily done 5 years ago, and people have been buying their CPUs regardless of their poor value, due to lack of competition. Intel's mainstream unlocked i5 and i7 "K" series CPUs are basically mobile chips repackaged for the desktop, while their enthusiast HEDT "X" series chips are overpriced and no longer soldered. Intel have done everything in their power to stop people overclocking their non-"K" series CPUs, which have proven to be artificially locked down. They have sent cease & desist letters to motherboard manufacturers who discovered a way to allow locked Skylake chips to be overclocked via base clock (BCLK) and reach speeds just as high as unlocked chips, and they "patched" the microcode of affected chips so that it is no longer possible.

    Thank goodness AMD broke the trend by giving us dedicated mainstream CPUs with extra cores instead of integrated graphics that barely anyone uses, and thank goodness they gave us SOLDERED IHS for every one of their chips.
    Last edited by Undesirable; 11-25-2017 at 12:17 AM.

  2. #1592
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Clouseau PC Specs
    Clouseau PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    Processor1700X @ BCLK-102.0 | 38.25 multi @ +0.03750
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3468 C14
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX OC GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS PA248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseThermaltake Core X9
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-1200PD
    OS Windows 10 Pro RS4(1803)
    Clouseau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    142

    Caved, loaded UEFI version 0020 (Test Bios) again and had some fun. Do not know how the others at Overclock.net have their bios setup but I saw nothing of what the majority of the complaints were about. Latency actually improved by .1ns; from 65.0 to 64.9. Cold boot issue is gone now. Here are the items I did notice about this UEFI version:
    1.cpu multiplier and ram speed did not take upon first boot (they were reset to defaults when booted back into bios)
    2.as mentioned above, even though the cpu and ram speed settings did not take all the others did, even the ram timings
    3.CLDO_VDDP can now be found under Tweaker's Paradise
    4.less cpu voltage for the same speed: offset +.01875 from .03125 for 3.9 (Blck @ 100.4)
    5.setting for SOC voltage is the same but is actually lower (read from HWiNFO64)
    6.ram voltage lower 1.4000 from 1.4050 (speed 3466 | (14-14-14-14-28)
    7.No way to switch off BankgroupSwapAlt
    8.VTTDDR voltage is one step lower than 1/2 of ram (actually had to undervolt to get stable)
    9.All Aida64 benches were in the same ballpark except FPU VP8 (increased 100 points)
    10.Channel interleaving with a 512 interleave size still yields best results
    11.RttNom, RttWr, and RttPark remained the same (Disabled, Off, RZQ/5)
    12.all the MemBus settings remained on Auto; before MemCadBus was 40,20,24,30
    13.most importantly CLDO_VDDP was not touched; remained at default
    14.3600 is still a work in progress (able to boot into windows now with rated timings; dies after finishing two loops of the Corona benchmark)

    0070 was just released as well. No desire to load that version since Elmor stated it was for those who suffered from the 0d and some other code when booting up from 0020. Version 0020 is my home to stay till the release version. Best UEFI version to date for the C6H.
    Last edited by Clouseau; 11-25-2017 at 05:24 AM.

  3. #1593
    New ROGer Array Neoony PC Specs
    Neoony PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (BIOS: 3101)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4025MHz (1.44V) (Pstates)
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB F4-3200C14D-16GFX @ 3200MHz (1,35V)
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon HD 7970 3GB Double Dissipation (OC: 1000MHz / 1550MHz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #22x HDD
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseCoolerMaster MasterCase h500p
    Power SupplyXFX 550W Pro
    Keyboard Trust GXT 285
    Mouse Razer Taipan
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic Pro (True 5.1)
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Neoony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Nice to hear that Clouseau.
    Nice post!

  4. #1594
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    194

    Untill now no cold boot isseus with 0020 ram @ 3466mhz.
    Only ram @ 3600 mhz is still a no go.

  5. #1595
    ROG Enthusiast Array whiskey-foxtrot PC Specs
    whiskey-foxtrot PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1RX480 CFX
    Graphics Card #2RX480 CFX
    Sound Cardon-board
    Monitor2 x Dell 32" 4k UP3216Q
    Storage #1960 EVO 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate IronWolf 10TB x 4
    CPU CoolerAlways EKWB loops - for everything!
    CaseThermaltake X71
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 Plat P2
    Keyboard Logitech RGB G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G Pro & Logitech G600
    Headset Logitech G35
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G35 & Bose Lifestyle 525
    OS Windows 10 Pro / Debian
    Network RouterD-Link 890-L
    whiskey-foxtrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Clouseau View Post
    Caved, loaded UEFI version 0020 (Test Bios) again and had some fun. Do not know how the others at Overclock.net have their bios setup but I saw nothing of what the majority of the complaints were about. Latency actually improved by .1ns; from 65.0 to 64.9. Cold boot issue is gone now. Here are the items I did notice about this UEFI version:
    1.cpu multiplier and ram speed did not take upon first boot (they were reset to defaults when booted back into bios)
    2.as mentioned above, even though the cpu and ram speed settings did not take all the others did, even the ram timings
    3.CLDO_VDDP can now be found under Tweaker's Paradise
    4.less cpu voltage for the same speed: offset +.01875 from .03125 for 3.9 (Blck @ 100.4)
    5.setting for SOC voltage is the same but is actually lower (read from HWiNFO64)
    6.ram voltage lower 1.4000 from 1.4050 (speed 3466 | (14-14-14-14-28)
    7.No way to switch off BankgroupSwapAlt
    8.VTTDDR voltage is one step lower than 1/2 of ram (actually had to undervolt to get stable)
    9.All Aida64 benches were in the same ballpark except FPU VP8 (increased 100 points)
    10.Channel interleaving with a 512 interleave size still yields best results
    11.RttNom, RttWr, and RttPark remained the same (Disabled, Off, RZQ/5)
    12.all the MemBus settings remained on Auto; before MemCadBus was 40,20,24,30
    13.most importantly CLDO_VDDP was not touched; remained at default
    14.3600 is still a work in progress (able to boot into windows now with rated timings; dies after finishing two loops of the Corona benchmark)

    0070 was just released as well. No desire to load that version since Elmor stated it was for those who suffered from the 0d and some other code when booting up from 0020. Version 0020 is my home to stay till the release version. Best UEFI version to date for the C6H.
    I can pretty much second that but for both 0020/70 (I had to use both on different C6H boards)

  6. #1596
    ROG Enthusiast Array kmaximo PC Specs
    kmaximo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C15-16GTZ x 4 (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1PNY Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Monitor(3) x 24" Dell
    Storage #1M2-Samsung SSD 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2(2) x Crucial CT525MX300SSD1
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseAntec S10
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 120-G2-1300-XR
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000 USB Keyboard
    Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350
    OS Windows 10 - always latest preview
    Network RouterNetgear
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift + Oculus Touch

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    With latest beta bios 0020 getting CPU Overtemp errors more frequently than I ever have. I have a water cooler to boot. Once I get over error and can get into Windows it shows 29C Idle and is constantly jumping all over the place. My H115i is at 33C.

    My Cinebench score went from 900 multicore to 1564, all other tests remained the same. CPU-Z might have done better too. Multi - 4531.2 and Single 417.2.
    Last edited by kmaximo; 11-26-2017 at 09:03 PM.

  7. #1597
    New ROGer Array koir123 PC Specs
    koir123 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C14D-16GVR Memory D4 3200 16GB C14 RipV K2 2x 8GB, 1,35V, RipjawsV rot
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX 480 - soon AMD Vega 64 hopefully
    MonitorAOC G2460PF
    Storage #1Crucial_CT525MX300 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i WaKü CW-9060026-WW
    CaseCorsair Carbide Series Air 540 black
    Power SupplyCorsair CS Series CS650M Modular 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Logitech G410
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thumbs up always cold boot bug

    The new Bios 0020 doesnt work for me. Always cold boot error.
    Doesnt matter which changes i made. Its fine when i leave it on auto.
    Its a waste of time...sad.

    You can see my config below. Any clue what i can change ?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	oc12312312321.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	226.8 KB 
ID:	69290
    Last edited by koir123; 11-26-2017 at 10:30 PM.

  8. #1598
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597

    Im still at solid 1701 BIOS....Seems new agesa is not best solution now (only good news is support of Raven Ridge and propably-I think, Pinnacle Ridge CPUs)
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  9. #1599
    ROG Enthusiast Array Culley40 PC Specs
    Culley40 PC Specs
    Motherboardasus x370 crosshair iv hero
    Processorryzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)corsair 3200 mhz lpx
    Graphics Card #1gtx 1080ti
    Storage #1patriot hellfire m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU Coolercorsair h110
    Casethermaltake p5
    Power Supplyevga 1000w g2
    Keyboard g.skill rgb keyboard
    Mouse g,skill gaming mouse
    Headset logitech 940
    OS windows 10 64

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    i installed 0070 and my clock speed was stuck at 4.1ghz no matter what i did, i installed 0020 and everything works much better than 1701, my ram is more compatible than before, i haven't tested the cold boot issue because my pc is always on. on 1701 if i left my pc off for awhile, it would always reset. i will report back with 0020 after my pc is off awhile.i have also been able to turn my voltage down on the 1800x to 1.35v with llc set to 1, my ram also is set to 1.35v at 3200mhz, ram voltage does sit at 1.38v though, max cpu voltage i have seen so far is 1.395v. overall 0020 seems much more stable.
    ryzen 7 1800x@ 4ghz, 32gb corsair lpx 8gbx4,asus crossair iv x370 hero

  10. #1600
    ROG Enthusiast Array kmaximo PC Specs
    kmaximo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C15-16GTZ x 4 (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1PNY Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Monitor(3) x 24" Dell
    Storage #1M2-Samsung SSD 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2(2) x Crucial CT525MX300SSD1
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseAntec S10
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 120-G2-1300-XR
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000 USB Keyboard
    Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350
    OS Windows 10 - always latest preview
    Network RouterNetgear
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift + Oculus Touch

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    RAM 3200 4 x 16 (64Gig)

    I still don't understand how in one bios (1201) you can use D.O.C.P 4 and get 4 sticks of 16 Gig RAM to be at 3199, but no other bios will allow the same setting that works.

    I've tried every bios and the only one that allows me to get my 64 Gig of Trident-Z RAM close to 3200 is bios 1201. Why can't the settings carry over from bios to bios correctly and why is this board so finicky? These AGESA updates are supposed to make the board more stable and make the RAM more compatible to it's maximum settings. I get 2133 on all bios except 1201. Having the RAM at 3199 makes a world of difference compared to 2133. Plus I can not overclock even an ounce on my 1800X without it giving me CPU Overtemp errors upon reboot and BSOD when stressing system with BOINC in Windows.
    Last edited by kmaximo; 11-27-2017 at 07:44 PM.

Page 160 of 266 FirstFirst ... 60 110 150 158 159 160 161 162 170 210 260 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •