Page 166 of 267 FirstFirst ... 66 116 156 164 165 166 167 168 176 216 266 ... LastLast
Results 1,651 to 1,660 of 2664
  1. #1651
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12



    So after additional testing, r15 scoring 1760 , after computer coming from sleep performance drop to 1500 ... temp indication same as after reboot.

  2. #1652
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    142

    you have to watch for heat soak, was your board cold when it came out of sleep. i know it should of been but just in case... i'd check... I'm trying to think what could of caused your cpu to give a lower score with the same settings... apart from heat or back ground programs there isn't much that could of caused this. ahh maybe the fan profile didn't kick in after sleep. ive noticed my board does this sometimes. its most likely the fan profile....
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  3. #1653
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I can confirm that my ram (Corsair CMU32GX4M2C3200C16 Vengeance LED 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4-3200 CL16) Works in the latest bios as 3200, rather than 2933 on previous bios's. Thanks for great work Asus and AMD

  4. #1654
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    3008:

    Still can't boot 3600
    Still can't get 3466 stable

    STILL AND MOST IMPORTANT:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...E-STX-II/page9

    This issue is still there.

    Running stable using the same config as 1701:

    1800x @ 3.9
    Gskill 3600cl16 trident z rgb @ 3333cl14


    BUT that issue with the sound card.... I've been waiting for a solution for more than 3 MONTHS now.... nothing so far Asus...

    NOTHING!
    Last edited by AmxdPt; 12-10-2017 at 12:01 AM.

  5. #1655
    ROG Enthusiast Array Red Core PC Specs
    Red Core PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VI Hero, AM4 Bios: 6201, 18.10b X370 driver, stable at these settings
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X: 4,025Ghz, 1,5V SMT:OFF 130Watt 73C
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 16GB DDR4 Dualchannel 3000 CL14 1T 1,35V (F4-3000C14-16GVK)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 Strix Advanced 2Ghz, 1.1V 200Watt 70°C 25db max 38% fan speed, driver: 398.82
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q 3440x1440@100hz displayport 1.2, 25~30Watt G-sync On
    Storage #1Kingston KC1000 220gb M.2 SSD PCIE 3.0x4 2,77gb/s read, 0,9gb/s write, Windows only, boot time:18sec
    Storage #2930Gb Seagate barracuda HDD 3.5 inch 7200rpm Gaming & Data 15db (200mb/s read, 150mb/s write)
    CPU CoolerAlpenföhn Brocken Eco AM3 160Watt Tdp Direct heatpipes 20db 60% fan speed
    CaseIn Win 805 Black
    Power SupplyBequiet Dark Power Pro 11 1000Watt 10db 50% fan speed
    Keyboard Cherry, Black
    Mouse Cherry Gentix, Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha, impedance: 65, 27khz set to 32bit 192khz (ROG SupremeFX onboard) clean sound
    Mouse Pad Speedlink Atecs 1000 x 500mm (WxH)
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit, O&O Shutup, No Cortana, GPUtweak
    Network Router1 Gbit/s but 200mbit/s download & 10mbit/s upload connection, 20~32ms ping
    Accessory #1 Phone: Huawei Mate 8
    Accessory #2 Hp Envy x360 13-ag0004ng + Hp Tilt Pen
    Red Core's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Does someone know when the stable, safe bios fix will arrive on the Asus support site?
    I also recognize one BIG bug or fail on my bios 1701.

    SMT on = whole cpu (Should be All REAL and Logical cores)
    SMT off = only the HALF of the real cpu (Should be ONLY all REAL cores)

    It doesnt turn off the SMT, it just use 4 of its 8 real cores.
    Hwmonitor report the real Thread numbers, there are these threads: 0 & 1, 2 & 3, 4 & 5, 6 & 7, 8 & 9, 10 & 11, 12 & 13, 14 & 15
    Each pair for 1 real core. BUT if SMT is off and all 8 REAL cores should be used, it HAS TO BE:
    0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14. BUT IT ISNT, Hwmonitor shows me that these threads r used: 0 & 1, 2 & 3, 8 & 9, 10 & 11.
    That are NOT all the real 8 cores, that r 4 cores with SMT on! I ve Tested it in Black desert Online, max fps (game use 4 cores).
    With SMT the max usage never went above 50%, without SMT it reached 100%. Like these 8 real (Not real) cores r used by the game.

    No the fps was same, no fps increase doesnt matter in which settings and v-sync was off, G-sync was off,
    no Gpu bottleneck: gtx 1080, no ram bottleneck 2x 16gb 3000mhz cl 14, dual channel.

    Will be that Fixed?

  6. #1656
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by purecain View Post
    you have to watch for heat soak, was your board cold when it came out of sleep. i know it should of been but just in case... i'd check... I'm trying to think what could of caused your cpu to give a lower score with the same settings... apart from heat or back ground programs there isn't much that could of caused this. ahh maybe the fan profile didn't kick in after sleep. ive noticed my board does this sometimes. its most likely the fan profile....
    No all system at normal temp, i tested this also as ran the R15, got the 1760 score, sent PC to sleep , and then back up... ran r15 got 1580, reboot and r15 > 1760+-.

    With the last bios after a sleep system temp will show + 20 C but same CPU performance not Temp ok but CPU not performing so good forgat to mention i'm using P state at 4.0 GHZ, CPU-z reading cores CPU core speed at 3999 before and after Sleep ...
    P.S using High Performance power option

  7. #1657
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Installed 3008, looked fine for a while , but i'm running into stability issues/crashes with some games (BF1 for example). Errors pointing to firmware (ie bios).
    Going to revert to 1403 again, seeing that that has been the most stable one for me so far (no errors what so ever).

  8. #1658
    ROG Member Array looncraz PC Specs
    looncraz PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Graphics Card #1RX Vega 64 - Water-cooled (EK FC Vega)
    MonitorDual 24", #1: FreeSync 144Hz TN, #2: IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo NVME
    Storage #2Multiple SSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    looncraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Core View Post
    Does someone know when the stable, safe bios fix will arrive on the Asus support site?
    I also recognize one BIG bug or fail on my bios 1701.

    SMT on = whole cpu (Should be All REAL and Logical cores)
    SMT off = only the HALF of the real cpu (Should be ONLY all REAL cores)

    It doesnt turn off the SMT, it just use 4 of its 8 real cores.
    Hwmonitor report the real Thread numbers, there are these threads: 0 & 1, 2 & 3, 4 & 5, 6 & 7, 8 & 9, 10 & 11, 12 & 13, 14 & 15
    Each pair for 1 real core. BUT if SMT is off and all 8 REAL cores should be used, it HAS TO BE:
    0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14. BUT IT ISNT, Hwmonitor shows me that these threads r used: 0 & 1, 2 & 3, 8 & 9, 10 & 11.
    That are NOT all the real 8 cores, that r 4 cores with SMT on! I ve Tested it in Black desert Online, max fps (game use 4 cores).
    With SMT the max usage never went above 50%, without SMT it reached 100%. Like these 8 real (Not real) cores r used by the game.

    No the fps was same, no fps increase doesnt matter in which settings and v-sync was off, G-sync was off,
    no Gpu bottleneck: gtx 1080, no ram bottleneck 2x 16gb 3000mhz cl 14, dual channel.

    Will be that Fixed?
    CPU/thread enumeration occurs during the operating system kernel initialization. It will ALWAYS be 0,1,2,3,4,5,...

    Check your CPU-z or Cinebench scores with SMT on with only four cores enabled versus all cores enabled but with SMT off. You'll notice a pretty healthy difference.

  9. #1659
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Clouseau PC Specs
    Clouseau PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    Processor3800X @ PE lvl3
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX OC GTX 1080
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseThermaltake Core X9
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-1200PD
    OS Windows 10 Pro RS4(1903)
    Clouseau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by AmxdPt View Post
    3008:

    Still can't boot 3600
    Still can't get 3466 stable

    STILL AND MOST IMPORTANT:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...E-STX-II/page9

    This issue is still there.

    Running stable using the same config as 1701:

    1800x @ 3.9
    Gskill 3600cl16 trident z rgb @ 3333cl14


    BUT that issue with the sound card.... I've been waiting for a solution for more than 3 MONTHS now.... nothing so far Asus...

    NOTHING!
    First thing to keep in the back of one's mind is that not all silicon is created equally; cpu as well as ram.

    That being said, I switched to the Stilt's 3466 memory preset timings. Have not noticed any difference from the CAS14 3466 ram presets aside from synthetic benchmark scores. Was able to lower the voltage on the ram to get stability at CAS15, the Stilt's 3466 timings. Used UEFI 3008. 3008 allowed me to lower the cpu voltage so now with a very minor BCLK oc @ 100.4 and a cpu multiplier of 39.25, voltage is now at an offset of +.02500 versus an offset of +.03125 for cpu @ a 39.0 multiplier and same 100.4 BCLK. All other voltage setting in UEFI set manually to defaults except for VDDP which is one step below half of ram voltage. Have been amazed at how working the opposite way, lowering voltage instead of increasing it, has worked out for stabilizing.

    Good luck!

  10. #1660
    ROG Enthusiast Array Red Core PC Specs
    Red Core PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VI Hero, AM4 Bios: 6201, 18.10b X370 driver, stable at these settings
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X: 4,025Ghz, 1,5V SMT:OFF 130Watt 73C
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 16GB DDR4 Dualchannel 3000 CL14 1T 1,35V (F4-3000C14-16GVK)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 Strix Advanced 2Ghz, 1.1V 200Watt 70°C 25db max 38% fan speed, driver: 398.82
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q 3440x1440@100hz displayport 1.2, 25~30Watt G-sync On
    Storage #1Kingston KC1000 220gb M.2 SSD PCIE 3.0x4 2,77gb/s read, 0,9gb/s write, Windows only, boot time:18sec
    Storage #2930Gb Seagate barracuda HDD 3.5 inch 7200rpm Gaming & Data 15db (200mb/s read, 150mb/s write)
    CPU CoolerAlpenföhn Brocken Eco AM3 160Watt Tdp Direct heatpipes 20db 60% fan speed
    CaseIn Win 805 Black
    Power SupplyBequiet Dark Power Pro 11 1000Watt 10db 50% fan speed
    Keyboard Cherry, Black
    Mouse Cherry Gentix, Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha, impedance: 65, 27khz set to 32bit 192khz (ROG SupremeFX onboard) clean sound
    Mouse Pad Speedlink Atecs 1000 x 500mm (WxH)
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit, O&O Shutup, No Cortana, GPUtweak
    Network Router1 Gbit/s but 200mbit/s download & 10mbit/s upload connection, 20~32ms ping
    Accessory #1 Phone: Huawei Mate 8
    Accessory #2 Hp Envy x360 13-ag0004ng + Hp Tilt Pen
    Red Core's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    SMT cant be set off.

    Quote Originally Posted by looncraz View Post
    CPU/thread enumeration occurs during the operating system kernel initialization. It will ALWAYS be 0,1,2,3,4,5,...

    Check your CPU-z or Cinebench scores with SMT on with only four cores enabled versus all cores enabled but with SMT off. You'll notice a pretty healthy difference.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4realcores..jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	84.0 KB 
ID:	69541

    Im honest, as i said it doesnt turn off SMT, even u did set it.
    It will only disable 4 real cores and show u faked 8 cores which r only 4 real cores with SMT.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	idontsee8cores.jpg 
Views:	88 
Size:	70.4 KB 
ID:	69542

    Also this doesnt explain why (if SMT is really off, which i doubt) that Black desert Online has NO fps increase by using 8 real cores instead of 4?
    Because it did use 2x more % of the Cpu when turning SMT off but add no fps.

    I ve tested it again and the fps dont increase but the cpu usage double.
    My result is, that SMT isnt off, by seting that, the bios disable 4 cores.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This score is the result of 4cores, a weak i7 7700K reach this score (low ram + stock frequency).
    And i ve tested my Ryzen 7 @3,5Ghz & 3000 32gb dualchannel ram, with SMT off, its a real 4core, the fps test & % usage in Black Desert Onine
    confirm this.

    Also, the i7 3930K 6core/12threads has 2,27 billion transistors and match a 4,8 billion Ryzen 7?
    That makes no sense and im sure u see, it is a bug. The half of a Ryzen 7 has 2,4 billion~ transistors, this would make sense to the matching cb score of a i7 3930K.
    Last edited by Red Core; 12-12-2017 at 11:20 AM. Reason: Missing info

Page 166 of 267 FirstFirst ... 66 116 156 164 165 166 167 168 176 216 266 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •