Page 181 of 267 FirstFirst ... 81 131 171 179 180 181 182 183 191 231 ... LastLast
Results 1,801 to 1,810 of 2664
  1. #1801
    ROG Enthusiast Array kmaximo PC Specs
    kmaximo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C15-16GTZ x 4 (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1PNY Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Monitor(3) x 24" Dell
    Storage #1M2-Samsung SSD 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2(2) x Crucial CT525MX300SSD1
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseAntec S10
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 120-G2-1300-XR
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000 USB Keyboard
    Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350
    OS Windows 10 - always latest preview
    Network RouterNetgear
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift + Oculus Touch

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by kmaximo View Post
    OMG - Finally since BIOS 1201 - The latest 3501 BIOS might finally be the magic BIOS. I can finally just pick Manual and choose Memory 3200 from drop down and don't even need to choose a D.O.C.P of any kind. I can finally use my GSkill TridentZ 4x16 Gig sticks (64Gig) at 3200. Awesome work Elmor, please keep the settings working for any future BIOS to come.
    I actually spoke too soon. My computer started blue screening left and right with a different error every time. I had to go back and set Optimized Defaults and it is fine again. Something wasn't right. Again with BIOS 1201 D.O.C.P 4 - I could run my RAM at 3199 without issue and definitely without constant BSOD's. So something still isn't right. I also noticed the temperatures are much higher with this BIOS.

  2. #1802
    ROG Enthusiast Array Red Core PC Specs
    Red Core PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VI Hero, AM4 Bios: 6201, 18.10b X370 driver, stable at these settings
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X: 4,025Ghz, 1,5V SMT:OFF 130Watt 73C
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 16GB DDR4 Dualchannel 3000 CL14 1T 1,35V (F4-3000C14-16GVK)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 Strix Advanced 2Ghz, 1.1V 200Watt 70°C 25db max 38% fan speed, driver: 398.82
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q 3440x1440@100hz displayport 1.2, 25~30Watt G-sync On
    Storage #1Kingston KC1000 220gb M.2 SSD PCIE 3.0x4 2,77gb/s read, 0,9gb/s write, Windows only, boot time:18sec
    Storage #2930Gb Seagate barracuda HDD 3.5 inch 7200rpm Gaming & Data 15db (200mb/s read, 150mb/s write)
    CPU CoolerAlpenföhn Brocken Eco AM3 160Watt Tdp Direct heatpipes 20db 60% fan speed
    CaseIn Win 805 Black
    Power SupplyBequiet Dark Power Pro 11 1000Watt 10db 50% fan speed
    Keyboard Cherry, Black
    Mouse Cherry Gentix, Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha, impedance: 65, 27khz set to 32bit 192khz (ROG SupremeFX onboard) clean sound
    Mouse Pad Speedlink Atecs 1000 x 500mm (WxH)
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit, O&O Shutup, No Cortana, GPUtweak
    Network Router1 Gbit/s but 200mbit/s download & 10mbit/s upload connection, 20~32ms ping
    Accessory #1 Phone: Huawei Mate 8
    Accessory #2 Hp Envy x360 13-ag0004ng + Hp Tilt Pen
    Red Core's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    3200mhz CL14 works for me..

    Quote Originally Posted by kmaximo View Post
    I actually spoke too soon. My computer started blue screening left and right with a different error every time. I had to go back and set Optimized Defaults and it is fine again. Something wasn't right. Again with BIOS 1201 D.O.C.P 4 - I could run my RAM at 3199 without issue and definitely without constant BSOD's. So something still isn't right. I also noticed the temperatures are much higher with this BIOS.
    Im using the BIOS 3008 and im running my G.Skill 2x 16gb at 3200mhz CL14 @ 1,5V in Dualchannel with D.O.C.P set to manual 100mhz baseclock.
    My ram has a X.M.P profile which shows 3000mhz CL14 is max, well i ve reached a higher value and stable.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3200mhz CL14 Dual.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	142.7 KB 
ID:	70469
    You might try that BIOS if you like.
    Last edited by Red Core; 01-12-2018 at 11:23 AM.

  3. #1803
    ROG Enthusiast Array kmaximo PC Specs
    kmaximo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C15-16GTZ x 4 (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1PNY Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Monitor(3) x 24" Dell
    Storage #1M2-Samsung SSD 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2(2) x Crucial CT525MX300SSD1
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseAntec S10
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 120-G2-1300-XR
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000 USB Keyboard
    Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350
    OS Windows 10 - always latest preview
    Network RouterNetgear
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift + Oculus Touch

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Core View Post
    Im using the BIOS 3008 and im running my G.Skill 2x 16gb at 3200mhz CL14 @ 1,5V in Dualchannel with D.O.C.P set to manual 100mhz baseclock.
    My ram has a X.M.P profile which shows 3000mhz CL14 is max, well i ve reached a higher value and stable.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3200mhz CL14 Dual.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	142.7 KB 
ID:	70469
    You might try that BIOS if you like.
    I've tried them all and only 1201 works perfectly with D.O.C.P 4 for 3199 for 4x16. There has never been an issue with folks with 2 sticks the bigger issue is 4 sticks. I maxed out the system. 3501 Bios at least works with both D.O.C.P 4 and by selecting it Manually and picking 3200 for RAM which is a good step. The issue is it's unstable as hell. I was BSOD every other minute and it was a totally different one each time, plus the temperatures were much higher. I'm still on 3501, but again like all other BIOS except 1201, I have to run it with only Optimized Defaults. 1201 is the only BIOS that let me do any kind of OC, every other has not. It's always due to overheat or something just not right. I'm thinking with Windows 10 17063 having all the Meltown\Spectre patches applied supposedly, I'm thinking maybe that this may be why with the latest Agesa and 3501 BIOS settings with RAM may be why all the BSOD. I'm only guessing. Might be something that AMD\Asus have to consider now with BIOS's.

  4. #1804
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by kmaximo View Post
    I've tried them all and only 1201 works perfectly with D.O.C.P 4 for 3199 for 4x16. There has never been an issue with folks with 2 sticks the bigger issue is 4 sticks. I maxed out the system. 3501 Bios at least works with both D.O.C.P 4 and by selecting it Manually and picking 3200 for RAM which is a good step. The issue is it's unstable as hell. I was BSOD every other minute and it was a totally different one each time, plus the temperatures were much higher. I'm still on 3501, but again like all other BIOS except 1201, I have to run it with only Optimized Defaults. 1201 is the only BIOS that let me do any kind of OC, every other has not. It's always due to overheat or something just not right. I'm thinking with Windows 10 17063 having all the Meltown\Spectre patches applied supposedly, I'm thinking maybe that this may be why with the latest Agesa and 3501 BIOS settings with RAM may be why all the BSOD. I'm only guessing. Might be something that AMD\Asus have to consider now with BIOS's.
    There's an art to overclocking since we're operating out of spec technically. I've had success with my 64Gb of ram @ 3200mhz (it's rated at 3200) but always with some sort of trade-off with cpu overclock or (more importantly) stability. I'd much rather have a rock solid system that can stay up for months than one where some heavy load could cause the system to crash. So now I just clock my ram at 2900Mhz and i can stress-test it with avx and all cores enabled and while temps will hit around 75C after an hour and power usage causes the system to underclock the cpu....but it doesn't crash. And with a 4Ghz cpu clock, that extra 300Mhz memory clock isn't worth the trouble.

    I'm using bios 3008 (and latest win10 and linux kernel 4.15-rc7)
    4x F4-3200C14-16GTZSW
    Last edited by Darth Ender; 01-13-2018 at 02:45 AM.

  5. #1805
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I'm a new member here on the forum and l have had noting but problems so far with my BIOS. I paired my board up with a Ryzen 5 1600 and a set of G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16FX. I'm reusing the Cooler master 212 evo from my previous build for the CPU.
    I'm a novice, this is only my second build ....but this is just beyond ridiculous. I first updated my board initially to 3008 BIOS and like someone else mentioned already, I wouldn't even have to click/change an actual option, just scroll around the Bios click on Advance tab etc, and it would freeze up on me. Then it lost all the function key options. I could move through the bios and click on stuff but clicking the F keys did nothing. I ended up getting into windows by flashing the BIOS with my USB again, then formatted the USB and saved 1701 to it. I now running better on 1701 and in no way does it act all quirky like 3008 was

    I've now been tooling with BIOS for hours and despite how frustrating it is (spending like 3 days screwing with them) I am a noob so I'm into the learning part but I'd really prefer to start playing Witcher 3. Its like a frustrating crash course. I have no issues getting a stable 3.9 or 3.8 via the BIOS. I messed a bit with Ryzen Master and through a bit of trial/error had 3.95 running for over 2 hours on Aida64. Not a long test but I got no where with memory, so I gave up on that and stuck with making the changes in BIOS only.

    I tried a modified version on the preset 141 profile that uses BCLK 141.0000 but changed the preset multiplier from 28.5 down to 27.5. I also tried a few other multipliers higher but all resulted in a crash on AIDA64. CPUz showed 3.86 with 3383 which I was happy with , thinking at least I can get my 3200 somewhere over 2400. I didn't mess with the CPU core voltage for the test which for the 141 profile is 1.439v. I ran a quick test on AIDA61 for 1.5 hours and stopped it. I tried lower voltages, but doing so either totally froze the screen/ couldn't move the mouse anymore (and I had to hit reset) or would make HwMoitor crash or AIDA 64 itself. It was pretty consistent that the stress test only made it about 45 min. The thing was I wasn't comfortable leaving the voltage so high. I'm reading how others were getting there with 1.4v and under. I tried gradually reducing the voltage but 1.425 and less all resulted in crashing.

    I'm sure this is a total noob question but can someone explain why the BIOS doesn't have a DOCP 6 that would allow you to just plug it in? I can see if it were a year ago, but why isn't that incorporated at this point? I realize its an overclock but 3200 is where many say is a Ryzen sweet spot.

  6. #1806
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    261

    I have been running 3501 for a couple of days now and I personally don't see any useful differences between it over 3101. 3600MHz for my RAM seems outright impossible but 3200MHz at The Stilt's timings is basically set it and forget it stable. 2T doesn't seem to work at all, even with Gear Down Mode emabled so I am going to assume that either Gear Down Mode doesn't work either or the reporting to Windows and other utilities is just wrong. Either way, it doesn't help the end user try to overlock the system when things don't work or report inaccurate information. Asus and Elmor need to do better! A lot better!
    Syaoran

  7. #1807
    ROG Enthusiast Array kmaximo PC Specs
    kmaximo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C15-16GTZ x 4 (64GB)
    Graphics Card #1PNY Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Monitor(3) x 24" Dell
    Storage #1M2-Samsung SSD 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2(2) x Crucial CT525MX300SSD1
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseAntec S10
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 120-G2-1300-XR
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000 USB Keyboard
    Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350
    OS Windows 10 - always latest preview
    Network RouterNetgear
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift + Oculus Touch

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Ender View Post
    There's an art to overclocking since we're operating out of spec technically. I've had success with my 64Gb of ram @ 3200mhz (it's rated at 3200) but always with some sort of trade-off with cpu overclock or (more importantly) stability. I'd much rather have a rock solid system that can stay up for months than one where some heavy load could cause the system to crash. So now I just clock my ram at 2900Mhz and i can stress-test it with avx and all cores enabled and while temps will hit around 75C after an hour and power usage causes the system to underclock the cpu....but it doesn't crash. And with a 4Ghz cpu clock, that extra 300Mhz memory clock isn't worth the trouble.

    I'm using bios 3008 (and latest win10 and linux kernel 4.15-rc7)
    4x F4-3200C14-16GTZSW
    I actually don't really want any kind of overclock. I mean my RAM is rated for 3200 that's all I'm asking for. The CPU at 3600 is more than enough for me. I noticed a huge difference between when the RAM is at 2133 than when it's at 3199. I too would also like to have the latest Agesa. I'd love to just have 1201 bios with the latest Agesa slapped in would be more than enough for me. I don't need anything else. I too would also like to not constantly overheat even with a water cooler when I'm just trying to run the system at its hardware's rated ratings.

  8. #1808
    ROG Member Array looncraz PC Specs
    looncraz PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Graphics Card #1RX Vega 64 - Water-cooled (EK FC Vega)
    MonitorDual 24", #1: FreeSync 144Hz TN, #2: IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo NVME
    Storage #2Multiple SSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    looncraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Retrogamer View Post
    I'm a new member here on the forum and l have had noting but problems so far with my BIOS. I paired my board up with a Ryzen 5 1600 and a set of G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16FX. I'm reusing the Cooler master 212 evo from my previous build for the CPU.
    I'm a novice, this is only my second build ....but this is just beyond ridiculous. I first updated my board initially to 3008 BIOS and like someone else mentioned already, I wouldn't even have to click/change an actual option, just scroll around the Bios click on Advance tab etc, and it would freeze up on me. Then it lost all the function key options. I could move through the bios and click on stuff but clicking the F keys did nothing. I ended up getting into windows by flashing the BIOS with my USB again, then formatted the USB and saved 1701 to it. I now running better on 1701 and in no way does it act all quirky like 3008 was

    I've now been tooling with BIOS for hours and despite how frustrating it is (spending like 3 days screwing with them) I am a noob so I'm into the learning part but I'd really prefer to start playing Witcher 3. Its like a frustrating crash course. I have no issues getting a stable 3.9 or 3.8 via the BIOS. I messed a bit with Ryzen Master and through a bit of trial/error had 3.95 running for over 2 hours on Aida64. Not a long test but I got no where with memory, so I gave up on that and stuck with making the changes in BIOS only.

    I tried a modified version on the preset 141 profile that uses BCLK 141.0000 but changed the preset multiplier from 28.5 down to 27.5. I also tried a few other multipliers higher but all resulted in a crash on AIDA64. CPUz showed 3.86 with 3383 which I was happy with , thinking at least I can get my 3200 somewhere over 2400. I didn't mess with the CPU core voltage for the test which for the 141 profile is 1.439v. I ran a quick test on AIDA61 for 1.5 hours and stopped it. I tried lower voltages, but doing so either totally froze the screen/ couldn't move the mouse anymore (and I had to hit reset) or would make HwMoitor crash or AIDA 64 itself. It was pretty consistent that the stress test only made it about 45 min. The thing was I wasn't comfortable leaving the voltage so high. I'm reading how others were getting there with 1.4v and under. I tried gradually reducing the voltage but 1.425 and less all resulted in crashing.

    I'm sure this is a total noob question but can someone explain why the BIOS doesn't have a DOCP 6 that would allow you to just plug it in? I can see if it were a year ago, but why isn't that incorporated at this point? I realize its an overclock but 3200 is where many say is a Ryzen sweet spot.
    A few notes:

    * You experienced a bad flash - try BIOS 0020, it's the best for me... and I have the same RAM (but with a week 33 1700X).
    * Any BIOS older than 0020 will usually have more problems clocking the CPU AND the memory high at the same time.
    * Ryzen simply isn't a speed demon CPU, it's a workhorse CPU. You should aim for 3.8GHz and get everything stable before tweaking for more.
    * BCLK overclocking should only be used to eek out the last few MHz... or not at all, really... PCI-e frequency and BCLK are locked together.
    * Use the predefined memory profile The Stilt's 3200 Samsung B-DIE CL14 Safe profile... test memory without a CPU overclock.
    * Don't use Ryzen Master. At all. It was good at launch, but AMD has pretty much abandoned it since the ThreadRipper release.
    * In fact, don't overclock from within the BIOS, either...
    * Download ZenStates and use it, exclusively for software overclocking. You will only need to overclock P0 and P1, make them match each other.

    I went from not being able to exceed 3.8GHz to hitting 4.1GHz (slightly over, actually) by just doing the above.

  9. #1809
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks for the reply. I was just trying to find Zenstates but cant seem to find a source to look at what it has to offer or any sort of download link. It just seems odd that my download of 3008 was bad and then when I replaced it with 1701 that was also a bad flash. Unless its an issue with the motherboard itself or some other cause. I'm willing to try the 0020 bios which I'm presuming are beta.
    Last night I tried running both DOCP2 and DOCP3 but both tests resulted in a "Hardware Failure" message in AIDIA64 between the 5-5.5 hour mark. Today I ran AIDA64 for 6 hours with default settings and had no issues. I thought about letting it run longer but I'm thinking the default clock and memory appear stable.
    I did apply the safe 3200 profile again to refresh my memory (huge pile of handwritten notes) but it didn't increase the memory speed, I was still at 2400 in BIOS.
    Last edited by Retrogamer; 01-14-2018 at 01:42 AM.

  10. #1810
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I'm using these settings for my Ryzen 1700, but it depends how good or bad your chip overclocks. For me 3,9Ghz seems to be max, everything higher needs over 1,4V Vcore.

    When trying to figure perfect values for your CPU, don't put mark on "apply at system start", only do it after you have found stable settings.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos zenstates.jpg  


Page 181 of 267 FirstFirst ... 81 131 171 179 180 181 182 183 191 231 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •