Page 202 of 267 FirstFirst ... 102 152 192 200 201 202 203 204 212 252 ... LastLast
Results 2,011 to 2,020 of 2664
  1. #2011
    ROG Member Array looncraz PC Specs
    looncraz PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Graphics Card #1RX Vega 64 - Water-cooled (EK FC Vega)
    MonitorDual 24", #1: FreeSync 144Hz TN, #2: IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo NVME
    Storage #2Multiple SSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    looncraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Syaoran View Post
    One of many issues with the latest BIOS.
    Technically a problem with Windows. It happens on Intel systems as well until Microsoft or Intel patches it.

    CPU-z, for example, doesn't have a problem figuring out the right clock speeds without being patched or updated... whatever Taskman does is wrong.

  2. #2012
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    Quote Originally Posted by looncraz View Post
    Technically a problem with Windows. It happens on Intel systems as well until Microsoft or Intel patches it.

    CPU-z, for example, doesn't have a problem figuring out the right clock speeds without being patched or updated... whatever Taskman does is wrong.
    The issue is with Asus! The BIOS doesn't correctly report the CPU speed either. As I mentioned a page or so ago. I rolled back to 1602. The CPU speed in the BIOS and through AIDA64, CPU-Z, and the Windows Task Manager are correctly reported.
    Syaoran

  3. #2013
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Clouseau PC Specs
    Clouseau PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    Processor3800X @ PE lvl3
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX OC GTX 1080
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseThermaltake Core X9
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-1200PD
    OS Windows 10 Pro RS4(1903)
    Clouseau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by Syaoran View Post
    The issue is with Asus! The BIOS doesn't correctly report the CPU speed either. As I mentioned a page or so ago. I rolled back to 1602. The CPU speed in the BIOS and through AIDA64, CPU-Z, and the Windows Task Manager are correctly reported.
    The AGESA code since then has changed as well. When AMD updated the code, that is when the issue arose. Using 6001 currently. The bios states the correct speed on the right side of the screen. The other stated speed is the base speed (base multiplier x BCLK). Windows Task Manager needs to be updated with AMD's assistance. I admit that this board has it's share of issues. The majority of the fault still rests with AMD in my opinion.

  4. #2014
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Maximusst View Post
    Hi DJ Bully,

    Can you elaborate?

    @ sbakic, i've tried all the things you suggested, but it seems the topspeed for my memory is 3133 so far. 2T even made my system hang/crash, but i'm fairly satisfied and will wait till the next bios to try again for the magic 3200mhz. See screenshot for the current values.

    I also figured out that it wasn't the settings i mentioned previously, but the CPU voltage that was the culprit in this case. I set this manually to 1.35V, when i set it to auto by accident, the default memory settings of the DOCP 5 profile (switched back to 100mhz bclk) worked fine with the 3133mhz setting for me. So it seems that more power for the CPU was needed to power the memory at higher speeds seeing that it's currently running around 1.4Volts.

    Crosshair VI
    Ryzen 1700 @ 3.88Ghz
    2x 16GB G.Skill Trident Z ( F4-3200C16D-32GTZKY) @ 3133Mhz
    Okay, i ran the 6001 bios for a while, the ram speeds that i previously mentioned are a lot better, but the bios causes a lot of crashes and BSODs and instability, so i've switched back to 3008 for now. Once a more stable version of the 6001i will definately upgrade though.

  5. #2015
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SIMONHANDLEY1 PC Specs
    SIMONHANDLEY1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Don't be silly
    MotherboardAsus - CROSSHAIR VIII HERO ATX AM4 Motherboard
    ProcessorAMD - Ryzen 7 3700X 4.3GHz 8-Core Processor (OC to 4.366 ghz)
    Memory (part number)Corsair - Dominator Platinum (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3466 Memory
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW Hybrid
    Graphics Card #2Can't afford it!
    Graphics Card #3Still can't afford it!
    Graphics Card #4What did I just say!
    Sound CardEh!
    MonitorACER 144Hz 2K Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung - 860 Evo 1000GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    Storage #2Samsung - 860 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerNZXT - Kraken X52 Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseEVGA DG-77 RGB ATX Mid Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1000 80+ Platinum 1000w ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Asus Cerberus LED Backlit USB Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus Cerberus gaming mouse
    Headset Sennheiser - HD205-II Headphones
    Mouse Pad Asus Cerberus gaming surface mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Speakers, my wife would kill me!
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 BraZen Shadow PC Gaming Chair - Black/White
    SIMONHANDLEY1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    hey guy's I said that last week, I went back to 3008 and I am getting 3.85Ghz with Corsair dominator 32gb at 3.1Mhz. Also the bios causes the CPU to throttle back which makes it unstable!

  6. #2016
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Clouseau PC Specs
    Clouseau PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    Processor3800X @ PE lvl3
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX OC GTX 1080
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseThermaltake Core X9
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-1200PD
    OS Windows 10 Pro RS4(1903)
    Clouseau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by Maximusst View Post
    Okay, i ran the 6001 bios for a while, the ram speeds that i previously mentioned are a lot better, but the bios causes a lot of crashes and BSODs and instability, so i've switched back to 3008 for now. Once a more stable version of the 6001i will definately upgrade though.
    6001 changed a few things. Here is what I needed to change to get the same timings stable:

    DRAM Voltage
    3008: 1.39000
    6001: 1.38000
    ProcODT
    3008: 60ohms
    6001: 48ohms
    RttNom
    3008: Disabled
    6001: RZQ/7
    RttWr
    3008: Off
    6001: RZQ/3
    RttPark
    3008: RZQ/5
    6001: RZQ/4
    VTTDDR Voltage
    3008: 0.69300
    6001: 0.69300
    VPP_MEM Voltage
    3008: 2.4950
    6001: 2.4900
    VDDP Voltage
    3008: 0.9150
    6001: 0.9000
    VDDP Standby Voltage
    3008: 0.9150
    6001: 0.9000
    2.5V SB Voltage
    3008: 2.5400
    6001: 2.5200

    Was able to play with the RttPark setting for the first time to see how it influenced performance. It is a great step in the right direction. Just need to get the right ram data bus settings for your setup and all will fall into place. Corona Renderer bench mark improved from 4,054,xxx to 4,060,xxx rays processed. So there is a slight improvement in that case. Running a BCLK of 100.6 and a cpu multiplier of 39.25 and ram at 3487 C15 (15-15-15-15-35-50-4-4-16-4-8-12-Auto-3-3-262-192-132-11-5-12-2-1-4-4-1-4-4-8).

  7. #2017
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    194

    Check the stability ram running @ 3600 and it's not stable at this time.
    When playing games or doing anything that stresses the RAM windows or the program will crash, tried the same thing with ram tuned back to 3466 and all was stable with no crashes what so ever!

    It pleases me to see that i can boot with ram @3600 (finaly) and so far did not have had any problems with cold booting, though some more tweaking they wil iron out the stability!
    Even though it took +/- 1 year for this board to cold boot on 3600 i'm verry pleased at this moment to see that 3600Mhz is achieveble!

  8. #2018
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    194

    p.s. Note that i run my 1800x at Stock clock, i have only set Ram timings and set volt to 1.40!
    I'm going to try to run ram @3600 with ram set to 1.45volts to see if this bring more stability!

  9. #2019
    ROG Enthusiast Array Red Core PC Specs
    Red Core PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VI Hero, AM4 Bios: 6201, 18.10b X370 driver, stable at these settings
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X: 4,025Ghz, 1,5V SMT:OFF 130Watt 73C
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 16GB DDR4 Dualchannel 3000 CL14 1T 1,35V (F4-3000C14-16GVK)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 Strix Advanced 2Ghz, 1.1V 200Watt 70°C 25db max 38% fan speed, driver: 398.82
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q 3440x1440@100hz displayport 1.2, 25~30Watt G-sync On
    Storage #1Kingston KC1000 220gb M.2 SSD PCIE 3.0x4 2,77gb/s read, 0,9gb/s write, Windows only, boot time:18sec
    Storage #2930Gb Seagate barracuda HDD 3.5 inch 7200rpm Gaming & Data 15db (200mb/s read, 150mb/s write)
    CPU CoolerAlpenföhn Brocken Eco AM3 160Watt Tdp Direct heatpipes 20db 60% fan speed
    CaseIn Win 805 Black
    Power SupplyBequiet Dark Power Pro 11 1000Watt 10db 50% fan speed
    Keyboard Cherry, Black
    Mouse Cherry Gentix, Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha, impedance: 65, 27khz set to 32bit 192khz (ROG SupremeFX onboard) clean sound
    Mouse Pad Speedlink Atecs 1000 x 500mm (WxH)
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit, O&O Shutup, No Cortana, GPUtweak
    Network Router1 Gbit/s but 200mbit/s download & 10mbit/s upload connection, 20~32ms ping
    Accessory #1 Phone: Huawei Mate 8
    Accessory #2 Hp Envy x360 13-ag0004ng + Hp Tilt Pen
    Red Core's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Info

    Quote Originally Posted by jbasemoine View Post
    p.s. Note that i run my 1800x at Stock clock, i have only set Ram timings and set volt to 1.40!
    I'm going to try to run ram @3600 with ram set to 1.45volts to see if this bring more stability!
    It makes not much sense to go above 3200 with the ram.
    There r many test results in the internet, everything above 3200 cl14 is just a tiny improvement about +0% - 3% and only if its the best ram with lowest cl.
    If you reached more than 3200, then tighten ur timings of the ram, that would increase the performance aswell.

    And if u didnt done it, use ur ram in dualchannel.

  10. #2020
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Clouseau PC Specs
    Clouseau PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    Processor3800X @ PE lvl3
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX OC GTX 1080
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseThermaltake Core X9
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-1200PD
    OS Windows 10 Pro RS4(1903)
    Clouseau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Core View Post
    It makes not much sense to go above 3200 with the ram.
    There r many test results in the internet, everything above 3200 cl14 is just a tiny improvement about +0% - 3% and only if its the best ram with lowest cl.
    If you reached more than 3200, then tighten ur timings of the ram, that would increase the performance aswell.

    And if u didnt done it, use ur ram in dualchannel.
    Would beg to differ about performance above 3200. Those tests can say whatever they want. Ryzen starts to wake up above 3200 with tight timings. Actual FPS may only improve by ~ 3% but everything outside of that is noticeably far more responsive. Gaming, currently, diminishing returns starts to kick in after 3200. Raw cpu GHz is not as important as how the ram is set. Just the few Mhz above 3466 with the timings from my post above made noticeable improvements. Performance is not shabby with ram at 3200 but the combination of tight timings and 3466 or above, feels like the whole system is just beginning to stretch its legs. Setting up the CBS section, in particular the DF Common Settings, has noticeable impact on performance; not just talking gaming. Each interleaving discipline has its advantages and disadvantages along with the interleaving size. Personally have found that an interleaving size of 512 ended up being a decent compromise. Plus did not purchase this board to not push the limits no matter how small the gains end up being. Right wrong, or indifferent; just my opinion.

Page 202 of 267 FirstFirst ... 102 152 192 200 201 202 203 204 212 252 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •