Page 216 of 267 FirstFirst ... 116 166 206 214 215 216 217 218 226 266 ... LastLast
Results 2,151 to 2,160 of 2664
  1. #2151
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by darkvader75 View Post
    Tested 6004 and 6101. Very unstable in 6101 with both ram and cpu on 2700X. Everythings running fine on 6004 with the only issue being 3rd party apps are getting cpu temp reads over 100C while the cpu is actually at 48-52C. AMD Master and the Bios have the correct temp showing. I did not have this problem with 6001 or 6003 but since its a false positive and its not impacting performance I'll just leave 6004 for now.
    Also using 2700X with 6004. HWiNFO64 (v.5.82-3410) and AIDA64 (5.97) show same temps (Tdie) as Ryzen Master (1.3). So no problem here for me so far.

  2. #2152
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    R7 2700X on C6H

    I have temp issues:

    I reach 115ºC and then my system shutdown even at STOCK.

    - I reseated CPU
    - Reapplied thermal paste
    - Cooler is h115i and is working ok
    - Phisical temperature of the CPU seems not to be really that high
    - Tried BIOS 6004/6101



    RMA CPU or RMA Board? Wait for BIOS? Am I alone?

    Previous CPU was R7 1700 and I ran that chip 1.45V/LLC4 without issues, now this new CPU Shutdowns at 1.2V/LLC0
    Last edited by Frikencio; 04-21-2018 at 11:27 AM.

  3. #2153
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    My guess with the 6101 temp issues is that it's an AMD issue. Gigabyte owners are experiencing the same issues with their F23d BIOS. I haven't bothered to check the MSI forum because I am very interested in Gigabyte's X470 Gaming 7, which mentions overclocking support for 3600+ for the RAM.

    6003 has been pretty good to me so far. The board hasn't decided to go into Tourette's mode after a few days, my RAM is running at 3501MHz and has been solid. It will not cold boot on the first try but usually does on the second. I haven't bothered to push it further because of the settings I tried for 3560MHz were not stable. When I have the time, I will try and push it to see where the ceiling is for me on this BIOS. I have not tried 6004 or 6101.
    Syaoran

  4. #2154
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by Frikencio View Post
    R7 2700X on C6H

    I have temp issues:

    I reach 115ºC and then my system shutdown even at STOCK.

    - I reseated CPU
    - Reapplied thermal paste
    - Cooler is h115i and is working ok
    - Phisical temperature of the CPU seems not to be really that high
    - Tried BIOS 6004/6101



    RMA CPU or RMA Board? Wait for BIOS? Am I alone?

    Previous CPU was R7 1700 and I ran that chip 1.45V/LLC4 without issues, now this new CPU Shutdowns at 1.2V/LLC0
    Scary getting 2700x today and am going to use with C6H.

  5. #2155
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    So i still can not run my memory at 3200 stuck at 3000 but the new 2700x is a nice chip, i do like. looks like i need an 470x board to sort the memory issues out though. I actually think that this should have been the release chip it runs cooler is faster and comes with a cooler, a nice one at that. Not that i am using it i am using 115i water cooler.

    i did have a good laugh when CPUID came up with these numbers.....my chip can do 61xxMhz for a milli second, on all cores
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2700x_2018-04-22_11-19-50.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	281.6 KB 
ID:	73414

  6. #2156
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    Quote Originally Posted by mrjonnyrock View Post
    So i still can not run my memory at 3200 stuck at 3000 but the new 2700x is a nice chip, i do like. looks like i need an 470x board to sort the memory issues out though. I actually think that this should have been the release chip it runs cooler is faster and comes with a cooler, a nice one at that. Not that i am using it i am using 115i water cooler.

    i did have a good laugh when CPUID came up with these numbers.....my chip can do 61xxMhz for a milli second, on all cores
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2700x_2018-04-22_11-19-50.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	281.6 KB 
ID:	73414
    That seems to be the common thing I have noticed around a few forums. If you are going to upgrade any aspect of your system. Start with an X470 motherboard. The memory compatibility improvements, cooler running chipset, and improved stability will make the biggest difference for a positive Ryzen/Ryzen+ experience.
    Syaoran

  7. #2157
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Syaoran View Post
    That seems to be the common thing I have noticed around a few forums. If you are going to upgrade any aspect of your system. Start with an X470 motherboard. The memory compatibility improvements, cooler running chipset, and improved stability will make the biggest difference for a positive Ryzen/Ryzen+ experience.
    My only issue now is do i say with asus or go to MSI?

  8. #2158
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    Quote Originally Posted by mrjonnyrock View Post
    My only issue now is do i say with asus or go to MSI?
    From all of what I have read so far. The Crosshair VII isn't any better off than the Crosshair VI is for us currently. I have looked at MSI's X470 Gaming M7 but decided on Gigabyte's Auros X470 Gaming 7 for a few reasons. There are very few RGB spots on MSI's offering, which isn't a deal breaker, but more of a nitpick. :P What steered me away though is their M.2 implementation in two ways. The hinge design may look nice for the covers for the M.2 slots but you are still forced into using M.2_1 for the best performance out of your M.2 stick. This is right under the PCI-E X16 slot. If you use M.2_2, you lost 2 SATA ports and have reduced performance for your M.2 stick. On Gigabyte's X470 Gaming 7, you don't have those issues. M.2_2 STILL HAS 4 PCI-E lanes at a cost of disabling the third PCI-E X16 slot that only runs at X4 anyway. I like that option better because it means my M.2 stick isn't sitting under my RX580 and it doesn't take away any SATA ports. Gigabyte mentioning 3600+ memory support via overclocking is basically the last thing that helped me make up my mind. MSI definitely has the better power phase implementation though.

    Which ever board you decide to go with, I hope it works well for what you need and want out of it.
    Syaoran

  9. #2159
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array FoxTech PC Specs
    FoxTech PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x @4,0Ghz
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum @3333Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Palit Super Jetstream GTX 1080 @2000Mhz-Boost clock 2138Mhz
    Sound CardSoundblaster Z
    MonitorSamsung 34"curved S34E790C
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerCustom water cooled
    CaseThermaltake Core X9 (modified)
    Power Supplybe quiet! DARK POWER PRO 11 850W
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex 500 Gaming
    Mouse ET-X08
    Headset HyperX Cloud Gaming
    Headset/Speakers Kingston Cloud Gaming B/W
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    FoxTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    I'm really curious, how your X470 board will work with the 2700X
    I was thinking about, buying a 2700x + a new board.
    But currently my 1800x is running fine + Memory @ 3200Mhz with tight timings (14-14-14-28-42-1T)
    Aida64 tells me nearly 50000 points in the Mem-benchmark.
    Benchstable with 3333Mhz also @ over 51000 points but not 100% stable in applications.

    So, a 2700x wont be much faster. Guess I have to wait till Zen2 =)
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos cachemem Platinum 3333 opti.png  

    cachemem Platinum 3200 opti.png  

    Greetings

  10. #2160
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    well, the benchmarks that have been put out with the reviews have already made it clear, that the 2700x wont be significantly faster or slower than a 1800x. And it only gets marginally faster when you OC the 2700x to 4.2-4.3Ghz. The only place you get any measurable improvement is if you actually dont overclock the 2700x and let it's turbo-core auto-OC mechanism work as designed. Then you may see single core IPC improve measurably over an overclocked or non-overclocked 1800x since it can sustain a significant overclock on a a few cores much longer and better than the 1800x ever could. Also maybe some memory compatibility and speed improvements, but the reviews haven't shown that to be significant in any real life workloads.

    This is good to convert from intel or if people were waiting to upgrade older am3/2 systems. If you have a 1800x already ...it's mostly a wash. Which is fine.

    I'm still waiting for AMD to get their crap together on the gpu front. I'd love to buy a radeon card that could play apples to apples with nvidia's 1080ti type cards. Instead of always having to play ball with the 1070 or have to use twice as much power and put out twice as much heat to try and match the regular 1080. Instead i'm left with my rx480 ...waiting for the vega to mature or evolve.

Page 216 of 267 FirstFirst ... 116 166 206 214 215 216 217 218 226 266 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •