Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC 10G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB/860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken Z73 AIO liquid cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech Pro (TKL)
    Mouse Logitech G-Pro WIreless
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    162

    Q-Code 67 "CPU DXE Initiailzation is started."

    I have the 4x4GB G.Skill 3000MHz RAM kit installed (F4-3000C15Q-16GRR). The PC is stable with the DDR Frequency set to 2800MHz or below, but anything above that such as 2933MHz and 3000MHz causes a Q-Code 67. I understand that if it were a 6d i'd look into fine tuning the System Agent Voltage, but what should I target for tweaking given a Q-Code 67? Also, what does DXE stand for?

    BIOS 3504
    Last edited by Axle Grease; 03-17-2017 at 11:51 PM.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Hi Axle Grease It is more than likely this is RAM related and I recommend you upgrade to Bios Latest 3504.

    If you recently installed new RAM then updating Bios should help as 3504 addresses Improve System Performance and Improved DRAM compatibility.

    Although the MB supports OC RAM to 3300MHz it does not mean the CPU IMC will, without some adjustment to Primary Timings and Voltage and a Bios upgrade.
    Intel i7-5960X officially supports up to 2133MHz so 3000MHz is not JDEC spec and therefore Bios would probably default to 2133MHz and Bios may not recognize your XMP profiles.

    DXE (Driver Execution Environment) phase during POST and represented by Qcodes 63-67.

    The (DXE) phase is where most of the system initialization is performed. Pre-EFI Initialization (PEI), the phase prior to DXE, is responsible for initializing permanent memory in the platform so that the DXE phase can be loaded and executed. The state of the system at the end of the PEI phase is passed to the DXE phase through a list of position-independent data structures called Hand-Off Blocks (HOBs). HOBs are described in detail in the Platform Initialization Hand-Off Block Specification.

    There are several components in the DXE phase: “DXE Foundation”,“DXE Dispatcher”, and a set of “DXE Drivers”

    The Dxe Core produces a set of Boot Services, Runtime Services, and DXE Services. The DXE Dispatcher is responsible for discovering and executing DXE drivers in the correct order. The DXE drivers are responsible for initializing the processor, chipset, and platform components as well as providing software abstractions for system services, console devices, and boot devices.
    These components work together to initialize the platform and provide the services required to boot an operating system. The DXE phase and Boot Device Selection (BDS) phases work together to establish consoles and attempt the booting of operating systems. The DXE phase is terminated when an operating system is successfully booted.
    The Dxe Core is composed of boot services code, so no code from the Dxe Core itself is allowed to persist into the OS runtime environment. Only the runtime data structures allocated by the Dxe Core and services and data structured produced by runtime DXE drivers are allowed to persist into the OS runtime environment."
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,855

    Driver Execution Environment

    DXE is responsible for initializing permanent memory, loading up all your system parameters into memory.

    You may have a weak stick. Try one first then add sticks one at a time.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC 10G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB/860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken Z73 AIO liquid cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech Pro (TKL)
    Mouse Logitech G-Pro WIreless
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Hi Axle Grease It is more than likely this is RAM related and I recommend you upgrade to Bios Latest 3504.

    If you recently installed new RAM then updating Bios should help as 3504 addresses Improve System Performance and Improved DRAM compatibility.
    Hi, MeanMachine. My current BIOS is 3504 which is mentioned in my post above, but thanks for the description of DXE. It led me to http://www.uefi.org which has that and more.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC 10G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB/860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken Z73 AIO liquid cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech Pro (TKL)
    Mouse Logitech G-Pro WIreless
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Driver Execution Environment

    DXE is responsible for initializing permanent memory, loading up all your system parameters into memory.

    You may have a weak stick. Try one first then add sticks one at a time.
    Interesting... The stick in slot D has always been weak. To get a working 3000MHz under the 2xxx series BIOes all I had to do was increment the DRAM Voltage (CHC,CHD) from 1.35 to 1.36V, otherwise the OS would still boot but it would see only see 12GB. That fix doesn't work with the 35xx BIOes. I can't step up the DRAM frequency past 2800MHz without getting a Q-Code 67.

    Along with Q-Code 67 the PCIEX16_4_LED blinks amber. I disabled the slot using the corresponding lane switch but still get q-code 67 with the same blinking LED. This is while DRAM timings are relaxed to 17-17-17 and DRAM Voltage set to 1.365 for A&B and C&D.
    Last edited by Axle Grease; 03-18-2017 at 06:10 AM. Reason: update
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,688

    Try BIOS 2101 for Haswell E

    Or try setting Tweak mode 2 in DRAM section

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Sounds like you need to tweak your system to stabilize memory over 2800MHz.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC 10G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB/860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken Z73 AIO liquid cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech Pro (TKL)
    Mouse Logitech G-Pro WIreless
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Try BIOS 2101 for Haswell E

    Or try setting Tweak mode 2 in DRAM section
    I got the same result with all 3 modes. Q-Code 67 and blinking LED. I have no idea what Mode 3 does. It's not mentioned in the manual.

    Tony.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC 10G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB/860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken Z73 AIO liquid cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech Pro (TKL)
    Mouse Logitech G-Pro WIreless
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Sounds like you need to tweak your system to stabilize memory over 2800MHz.
    Yes, but what is elusive is knowing which BIOS values to target given a q-code 67.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Hi Axle Grease

    You could try upping the the Dram voltage to 1.40v

    cpu system agent voltage anywhere from 1.15v - 1.30v

    cpu vccio voltage anywhere from 1.15v - 1.25v.

    CPU input voltage 1.90v - Note this is not the vcore.

    Try this and see if you get your ram stable.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •