Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    anyone notice amd chipset and asus sata drivers do not install correctly in windows10

    So I noticed after installing the amd chipset and asmedia sata drivers, in device manager it's still using all the default Microsoft windows 10 ones for all amd chipset drivers. Why is this?
    What should be installed in terms of the amd drivers in device manager completely?
    I noticed if you point the device to the correct folder where the drivers are extracted to, it will accept them, however you have to do it all manually. Just not totally sure if I'm getting everything completely.

    So far I've got the amd smbus and amd sata controller drivers installed manually but not sure what else should be there for a 990fx crosshair v z
    Last edited by demoncamber; 03-18-2017 at 05:49 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    Which MB and bios are you trying to load the drivers to?

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    No problems here.
    What order did you install.
    The chipset driver should be the very first thing you install before anything else right after the OS is done.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    This is on a Crosshair Formula V Z.

    These were the first drivers to be installed on fresh install. It's also always done this over 3 different OS installs on my system in the past as well.

    Open your device manager and check what it says for your IDE ATA controller and your SMBus under system devices.
    For me it's standard sata controller and SMBus. Once I pointed it to the amd chipset folder it then found and updated to the AMD drivers now shown in the pic.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 2017-03-21.png  


  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    i'm on the Crosshair V FZ right now, and this is what i see:


    on your screenshot, yours say AMD SMBus, mine, further down there (not inside screenshot), it says: SM Bus Controller. opening the SM Bus Controller gives:



    i probably have what you call a "stock" installation (no manual pointing to a directory like what you did).
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    and i don't have that thing called IDE/ATAPI controllers like you showed on your screenshot.

    maybe it's perhaps i run mine on RAID mode?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    i'm on the Crosshair V FZ right now, and this is what i see:


    on your screenshot, yours say AMD SMBus, mine, further down there (not inside screenshot), it says: SM Bus Controller. opening the SM Bus Controller gives:



    i probably have what you call a "stock" installation (no manual pointing to a directory like what you did).
    Ok so now check this out, for your SMBus in device manager go to update driver, and point it to this directory (install latest amd chipset first): C:\AMD\AMD-Chipset-Drivers-17.3.1-Windows-64Bit-Mar9\Packages\Drivers

    And watch it will change the driver and use AMD's now. Which is what it should automatically do when you install the chipset drivers in the first place. So now I'm wondering what else in that chipset package is not using AMD's actual proper drivers?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •