Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    158

    Lost my partition D when i was copying on usb

    Hy, today i had a bizzare issue and let me explain what it happened, i copyed a 24 gb movie file on a usb stick and after a while i notticed that my hdd usage ( D: ) was 100% usage and after a minute my partition has gone. I restarted my pc still nothing and then i shut down my computer and i powered on again, it booted slow but when it was entered in windows the D partition was again visibile. What could cause this problem? I checked the hdd on SMART but everything is ok there.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    sounds like a dying drive.

    SMART is an indicator, but not a surefire way to tell the HDD isn't dying.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    366

    Of course illusion is not spelled with an A unless they meant to spell it incorrectly maybe.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    almost forgot:


    just for safety sake, when you can access the Drive D, try copying all that's inside to a backup drive, and manually check if anything important is corrupted.

    that way, even if your original drive D were to die all of a sudden, you can take comfort in the fact that your data is safe. (Redundancy shelter)
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    158

    Now i will do a error scan with hdtune to see if everything is ok. Everything works fine now and thats why it is strange. Could it be the hdd even if not showing any errors?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    i don't use hdtune myself, so i can't comment much on that.
    i use a combination of Crystaldiskinfo (to read SMART data), AOMEI partition assistant (surface scan), and maybe throw in Recuva for data recovery.

    when i notice 100% disk usage (Task Manager), i use Process Explorer to find up which program had been hogging it. some also swear by Task Manager's own disk activity usage to find out problem.

    but when you said your partition disappeared briefly, and if i were you, i'd start backing things up immediately.


    are you, by any chance, running a software raid? (disk management, mirrored volume)
    when i used to run software raid for my drives, especially after a sudden power loss, windows would try to sync both drives (constant 100% usage until both are synced up).

    or a hardware raid perhaps?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AMD Raid patrol.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	24.7 KB 
ID:	63312

    after replying to you, i went to check on my own Raid and found this.
    i should thank you, running media patrol on the disk now.


    Quote Originally Posted by AMD Help File
    The Physical Drive–Media Patrol tab allows you to start Media Patrol on an individual physical drive (also called hard disk drive). You can also run Media Patrol on all physical drives at the same time.

    Media Patrol is a routine maintenance procedure that checks the magnetic media on each physical drive, sector by sector. Media Patrol checks physical drives assigned to logical drives, spare drives and currently unassigned physical drives that were once part of a logical drive or a spare. Media Patrol does not check new physical drives that have never been configured nor physical drives assigned as JBOD.

    Unlike Synchronization and Redundancy Check, Media Patrol is concerned with the condition of the media itself, not the data recorded on the media. If Media Patrol encounters a suspect sector, it will attempt to regenerate the data and write to the suspect sector. If the write operation is successful, Media Patrol continues checking other sectors. If the write operation fails, Media Patrol reports the error to your PC's system log and to the physical drive's Bad Sector Log. This action triggers a BSL update message and an email message if you enabled that notification option.

    You can set up a Media Patrol to begin immediately (on demand) or schedule a Media Patrol for a time when there is less demand on the RAID system
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    158

    No, i use just intel rapid storage driver but no other software but in event viewer it shows an error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\DR1 during a paging operation.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    surface scan the entire thing
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    158

    Could be a psu problem? I am doing a surface scan for a while now.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 19-March-2017_23-16.png  

    Last edited by Shakecip; 03-19-2017 at 09:17 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •