Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Overclocking Ryzen 1700 w/ ASUS Crosshair VI Hero - Incorrect temps and voltages

    Greetings!

    Recently got all my components in and have built a beast little Ryzen PC. Besides a faulty PSU (was sooo scared the motherboard was bad), everything is up and running correctly, more or less. I'm running the 0902 BIOS and all the latest drivers for everything. After applying any overclock in the BIOS, temperatures display as 0° and stay that way until a reflash. In addition, there isn't a single program in windows that will display correct temperatures and voltages, even AMD's own Ryzen Master. I have a Kraken x62, so I expected low temps, but Ryzen Master and ROG AI Suite 3 are showing steady temps between 16°C - 22°C at idle. Most other programs are displaying 0°C or nothing at all. I don't understand why I can't find anyone having these issues. I have looked through many message boards and only see references to the +20°C BIOS issue that has since been patched. There are tooons of guides and YouTube videos overclocking the Ryzen 7 with this same motherboard and everything appears to work normally. If my BIOS isn't going to tell me temps at all after an OC and all my software is reading incorrect temps/voltages I sure as heck don't want to do any serious overclocking. For example, this is practically my exact PC build, I just have the 1700 instead of the 1800x - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqT4SnTaP0c They use the ASUS AI Suite 3 to overclock their Ryzen machine without any issues. I ran this software and got up to 3.7Ghz with the software claiming voltages and temps never going above 1.39v and 41°C. At that point I stopped the auto OC and did more research into my incorrect readings, and here I am. I can't find anyone having these same issues, and I don't know what to make of that.

    What do you guys think?


    Any input is hugely appreciated!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    -Download and put 1001 or 0032 bios on a fat32 usb drive
    -Reboot and load optimized default (F5) and flash the bios
    -Still not fixed? turn off sensemi and use hwinfo64 sensor cpu and you should get a somewhat correct reading.

    I had issues with 1700 with either 0902 and 1001 bioses but after turning off sensemi it worked better. Gotta thank elmor for that tip.

    You should try and overclock using the bios as then you get more control and possibly understand what can cause issues if they occur.
    Last edited by ROGNOG; 03-19-2017 at 10:35 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    fermak open

    Thanks ROGNOG!

    The 1001 BIOS update fixed the issue where CPU temps show 0°C! However the temps are saying the 1700 (Overclocked to 3.78Ghz) is idling at 14-21°C which can't be right

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Like I said previously. Turn off sensemi. It is located in either tweakers paradise or where you can set up the load line calibration
    There should be an option named sensemi, disable that setting and enjoy

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    There is a Sense MI Skew and Sense MI Offset under the Tweaker's Paradise. Should I disable both of them?

    Edit: Disabled Sense MI Skew. The Offset is stuck to auto.

    Edit: It works!! Wow! Thanks a ton for your help!!
    Last edited by VATX7; 03-21-2017 at 02:04 AM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by VATX7 View Post
    There is a Sense MI Skew and Sense MI Offset under the Tweaker's Paradise. Should I disable both of them?

    Edit: Disabled Sense MI Skew. The Offset is stuck to auto.

    Edit: It works!! Wow! Thanks a ton for your help!!
    Wow I was having a similar problem with the 1001 uefi. Hwmonitor and ryzen master kept showing me low temperatures (mid 40s) so I thought I had a lot of thermal headroom despite having a stock cooler on my 1700. So what I did was push clocks but then I had a lot of instability. I assumed this was because of not giving enough voltage so I went up to 1.355 at 3.9GHz. Ran aida64 and got hardware fault messages. So now I have no idea how hot the chip has been since temperatures couldnt be trusted. My futuremark scores also went lower when upping the clock so thats when I realized it must be some kind of thermal throttling of some kind. After disabling sensemi I have idle temperatures in the mid 40s on stock clocks.

    ** Now I dont know if I've done some kind of damage to the chip. It still works fine on stock. Does anyone know if the ryzen cpu has some kind of fail safe that peotects it from high temperatures that is independent of the motherboard? Meaning does the cpu always trust the motherboard for input on temperature information?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597

    Ryzens are "hot" in dile, but its nothing crazy. 40-45C is normal. Load temps are about 65C with 1700 model. 1800X is a bit hotter.
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Ryzens are "hot" in dile, but its nothing crazy. 40-45C is normal. Load temps are about 65C with 1700 model. 1800X is a bit hotter.
    I should have been clearer. What I experienced is mid 40s with sensemi ON under load. These temps are way lower than they are in reality. With sensemi off I get 75 during load.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •