Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 114
  1. #51
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)none
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)tdrgd4 16g3000hc16cdc01
    Graphics Card #1XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Sound Cardon board
    Monitor2X 24" veiwsonic 1080p/ 55"Samsung 4k curved
    Storage #1Samsung evo 840, 250gig sys drive
    Storage #25 other mixed hdd's
    CPU CoolerEK C6H mono block
    CaseThermaltake core x9
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1500w dps rgb
    Keyboard Corsair k65
    Mouse R.A.T. 9
    Headset Turtle Beach Star Wars X wing edition
    Mouse Pad WOW desk mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    Accessory #1 Airplex radical 2 480 on gpus swifttech d5
    Accessory #2 Airplex radical 2 480 on cpu swifttech d5
    Accessory #3 Airplex radical 2 280 on sb p500 TT
    Demoniacstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    160

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Ender View Post
    In regards to rank 2 memory hitting 3200mhz...

    What's the point of setting the bclk to 120 if it's going to severely limit your pci-e performance? That's what I'm not getting. I thought anything over basically 104Mhz will start to trigger downgrading the pcie-e 3 to 2 and eventually 1.

    The performance difference between 2666Mhz ddr4 (at factory latencies) and 3200Mhz ddr4 (that you probably had to relax latencies to get to boot) doesn't seem even close to what you're losing by being downgraded in pcie spec.

    No?
    i get the same ....well not the same...i get more fps in games running 3232 mhz or 3200 mhz ram with bclk at 120 then i do running my ram at 2666
    yes 105 or more bclk does set pci-e to gen 2....go high enough and it will drop to gen 1...i dont rememebr off the top my head what that drop is at...
    but like i said, i experience better fps in a lot of games not all games ....but it does not make anything worse!....so to me it is worth the extra ram push right now....when ram is more stable on these boards and bios is running tighter with no hick ups i will be glad not to use gen 2 pci-e and just run 3000 without bclk overclocking .....but right now ...the BCLK WAR is on!!!!! lmao

  2. #52
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Ender View Post
    In regards to rank 2 memory hitting 3200mhz...

    What's the point of setting the bclk to 120 if it's going to severely limit your pci-e performance? That's what I'm not getting. I thought anything over basically 104Mhz will start to trigger downgrading the pcie-e 3 to 2 and eventually 1.

    The performance difference between 2666Mhz ddr4 (at factory latencies) and 3200Mhz ddr4 (that you probably had to relax latencies to get to boot) doesn't seem even close to what you're losing by being downgraded in pcie spec.

    No?
    First at all it depends a lot of your use case. Ryzen benefits a lot of RAM frequency, the timings doesn't matter that much.

    Now about the difference between GEN 2 and GEN 3.

    If it's about your GPU, you'll see little to no difference - at the worst cases you may lose up to 2 FPS with GEN 2, but you'll get more FPS from clocking your RAM to 3200. So it's a win for higher RAM speed.

    What's also affected is the M.2 speed (if you have one). With GEN 2, my Samsung PM961 achieves about 2000 MB/s while setting it to GEN 3 reaches its rated speed of 3200 MB/s.

    Now here's something that no one mentioned. Both the PCIE and the M.2 link are working just fine with GEN 3 @ 120 MHz. The only thing that's having issues is the SB link and the system won't boot with it set to GEN 3. You have to set those manually in the BIOS as the auto settings will force you to GEN 2. Now I don't know what is using the SB and what effect it have setting it to GEN 2, but I don't believe it's critical.

    Here are my settings along with M.2 speed test and some sys info.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pcie-bios.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	173.9 KB 
ID:	64132

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pcie3.JPG 
Views:	29 
Size:	336.3 KB 
ID:	64133
    Last edited by injurer; 04-21-2017 at 08:50 AM.

  3. #53
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    aren't half the usb ports riding off the SB and some if not all of the sata ports?

    I do have an M2, but i dont think it's hardcore enough to be maxing pci3 (my very minimal benchmarking showed mid to high 2000's with 100mhz bclk) so maybe hitting pci2 mode wouldn't be that bad. maybe not. Guess i'll be testing.

  4. #54
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Ender View Post
    aren't half the usb ports riding off the SB and some if not all of the sata ports?
    Yes, that's what I heard as well. But do you have any USB devices that can actually benefit of that?

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Ender View Post
    I do have an M2, but i dont think it's hardcore enough to be maxing pci3 (my very minimal benchmarking showed mid to high 2000's with 100mhz bclk) so maybe hitting pci2 mode wouldn't be that bad. maybe not. Guess i'll be testing.
    Test how your M.2 works with both GEN 2 and GEN 3. Most of M.2 devices are not reaching that high speeds at all. But in any case I found no issues running it at 120 MHz with GEN 3. The same is valid for the video cards.

  5. #55
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    So, i took the advice to OC the bclk. Set it for 110Mhz. Multiplier still at 36. Ram i think was eventually set to 2900+ some odd Mhz. Essentially this made my cpu nearly 4Ghz and my ram nearly 3Ghz according to the bios. I ran some phoronix tests i ran before changing my settings and back when i OC'd the board using just the multiplier to 40.

    Basically, performance is on par with the 40 mult OC. But temperatures are about 20C colder and that's using linux temp sensors so there's no change in offsets being done here. So that's a major win in my book.

    No code 8 that i've been experiencing overnight yet. Disabled cpufreq and power saving features in the kernel config, but also updated to 4.11-rc7 from rc6 i was previously running.

    Haven't tested the gpu yet, but i manually set them to gen 3 and SB to gen 2 and everything booted fine. So i assume it's still operating under gen 3.

  6. #56
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    It appears these "994x" BIOS "twins" have some capabilities to get a running start at an overclock. With those I can finally take my dual rank memory to 3200. It requires something like Thaiphoon Burner to read the "Intel Extreme" XMP data and then you must manually enter it in the new areas provided by these BIOS.

    My experience with it in detail is here: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...16-Up-to-Speed
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  7. #57
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    142

    the first time ive read this thread, a lot of good info here. my 16gb g.skill trident rgb 4000mhz GTZR@16 16 16 16 36 went straight to 3200mhz on bios 1002.

    now using 9945 I'm able to select 3466 as the maximum dram speed. I havnt had chance to play around with this yet. will update.

    using p-states to overclock. cheers bios team @ asus... your board is turning into one of the best choices due to these memory enhancements. keep up the good work.

    someone give these guys a pay rise...
    @entropic-remnants - thanks for the spd timings tip...
    Last edited by purecain; 06-16-2017 at 06:13 PM.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  8. #58
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    Quote Originally Posted by purecain View Post
    someone give these guys a pay rise...
    Not until they fix my fecking RGB stuff, lol.
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  9. #59
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    142

    edit#new aura software available on asus download page...

    bios 9945using p-state oc for now with G-skill GTZR mem@3466
    the pics of the 3rd power state. the first one is 4075mhz the second is 4050mhz
    voltage never goes above 3.475 temps are saying 44-56c with the added 20c for being an x cpu.
    Last edited by purecain; 06-20-2017 at 09:16 PM.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  10. #60
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    142

    delete
    Last edited by purecain; 06-01-2017 at 12:39 AM.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •