Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Touch Me Senpai PC Specs
    Touch Me Senpai PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)asus rog g750jz
    Motherboardfactory
    Processorintel graphics hd 4th gen 4600
    Graphics Card #1nvidia geforce gtx 880m
    Storage #1samsung ssd 850 evo
    Storage #2crashed recently

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hard drive functional, but not on the laptop that i need

    So, i bought my new ROG and i got a good deal on it, with the extra money i bought a really good hard drive. After going to school i realized that i could simply switch out the hard drive on my old laptop and it might work: so i did just that. I used the hard drive on the ROG computer to try it out and see if it works before buying a new Hard drive. So i was right and it works, the good news is that i have a bad ass ROG computer and this Lenovo laptop and the hard drive will switche form laptop to laptop and is functional. Now the real dilemma is that when i switch the hard drive back to my ROG laptop the mouse will not function, the camera will not function and basically i cant plug in anything into it of even use the USB ports, which is a big deal because that is my gaming laptop. If anyone is out there please. send help.
    thank you

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    You cant just randomly switch drives back and forth. Keep on doing it and I guarantee your OS will lock slam up and you will be dead in the water.
    These are two completely different machines with different hardware and therefore different drivers. Even if you had two identical machines the environment variable will be different and windows will deactivate.

    Now if the drive is simply used for data you can swap it all you want, but never a drive with the OS installed on it.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Touch Me Senpai PC Specs
    Touch Me Senpai PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)asus rog g750jz
    Motherboardfactory
    Processorintel graphics hd 4th gen 4600
    Graphics Card #1nvidia geforce gtx 880m
    Storage #1samsung ssd 850 evo
    Storage #2crashed recently

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    You cant just randomly switch drives back and forth. Keep on doing it and I guarantee your OS will lock slam up and you will be dead in the water.
    These are two completely different machines with different hardware and therefore different drivers. Even if you had two identical machines the environment variable will be different and windows will deactivate.

    Now if the drive is simply used for data you can swap it all you want, but never a drive with the OS installed on it.
    so is there any way i can just wipe the hard drive and put it back into my ROG and get a crappy one and put it into my lenovo?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    If you already swapped the drive between two laptops, then more likely the OS is messed up with different drivers...
    Best to do a fresh install for both laptops on their own drive...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •