Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Samsung 960 EVO and PRO M.2 not recognized in bios

    Hi all,

    Is there anyone who can help me with the following?

    I've recently bought the Crosshair VI Hero motherboard and a Ryzen r7 1800x. The system is functioning fine except for the M.2 SSD slot. I've tried two different Samsung drives, a 960 EVO (500 GB) and a 960 PRO (512 GB). Both are not recognized in BIOS and Windows 10 setup is also not recognizing the SSD's. I've already tried several BIOS settings (running version 1001) but nothing seems to work. I know for a fact that the SSD drives are OK. The retailer I bought them at tested them on a different motherboard and both were working fine.

    Has someone experienced the same issue and found a way to resolve this?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array pankomputerek PC Specs
    pankomputerek PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Which one?
    MotherboardCrosshair VI
    Processor1800X
    Memory (part number)Ripjaws V 32GB
    Graphics Card #1RX480
    Storage #1SM961 256GB
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse 400s TG
    OS Windows Sadly

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    I use the OEM version of this drive (SM961) seems to work perfectly for me.
    Has the M.2 slot been tested? I have put the drive into M.2 on my system and installed windows right on it.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Xeekk PC Specs
    Xeekk PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA NVIDIA GTX 960 FTW 2GB GDDR5
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ RD400 NVMe M.2 (RVD400-M22280-256G)
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 500 GB
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith (Stock)
    Power SupplyThermaltake TR2 600 Watt ATX
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    OS Windows 10 Professional (x64)

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    If you haven't already, perhaps try to reset the CMOS using the button on the back and do a cold start.

    I had a Toshiba OCZ RD400 and it would only reappear on cold starts; though that ended up being a Toshiba driver issue so this might be irrelevant information to you for a Samsung.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No, the M.2 slot has not been tested yet. It's a brand new board so I expect the slot to be fine. Do you have any suggestions on how to do that besides dismantling the system and send the board back tot the retailer for testing? Is it something I can do myself?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I found it had to seat my 960 to the point none of the contact pads on the drive itself where showing seems to be a rather deep m.2 socket on this board. Other boards I've always seen some of the contact pads showing a little.

    So if you have not ready done try reseating the drive with a little push.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Wrothbog PC Specs
    Wrothbog PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1800X
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB (3200)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980
    Storage #1960 Evo m.2 (500)
    Storage #2860 Evo sata (1GB)
    CPU CoolerNZXT X62 Kraken
    CaseNzxt s340 elite
    Power SupplyCorsair ax860i
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse Razer naga hex
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    mine didn't show up in the bios at all, it has shown up in windows after i reseated the card much deeper than it seemed to want to go the first time. so it's for high speed gaming now.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    rise calle

    Thanks all for the input. I've tried the cold boot and clearing CMOS option but that didn't help. I've also tried reseating the SSD numerous times but that didn't work either. It is properly seated and cannot be pushed further in the M.2 slot. How probable is it that I have a board with a faulty M.2 slot?

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    [QUOTE=SinartNZ;640080]I found it had to seat my 960 to the point none of the contact pads on the drive itself where showing seems to be a rather deep m.2 socket on this board. Other boards I've always seen some of the contact pads showing a little.

    So if you have not ready done try reseating the drive with a little push.[/Q]

    I just have to say thanks!

    I was building a new rig today; ROG STRIX X370-f, Ryzen 1700, ROG STRIX GTX 1060, and a Samsung EVO 960. Everything was going fine until I installed Windows. It looked like it worked, but then went back to setup and claimed it didn't see a bootable drive. I reseated the 960 but no joy.

    At that point, I went top the web and found this comment. Sure enough, I could see the edges of the contacts. I reseated the drive, fully this time, and Windows proceeded to boot when I restarted.

    Cheers!
    Jimi

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    194

    Quote Originally Posted by pankomputerek View Post
    I use the OEM version of this drive (SM961) seems to work perfectly for me.
    Has the M.2 slot been tested? I have put the drive into M.2 on my system and installed windows right on it.
    How can i check the version of my m.2 ?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    As mentioned, I've decided to RMA the board. I'm from the Netherlands and the retailer I bought the board from had some additional boards in stock. The board was replaced the same day and I've received a new one this morning. After all, I can conclude that the problem was indeed the M.2 slot on the board. I've rebuild the system on the new board and the SSD was recognized in bios immediately. So as someone suggested, running SLI is not a problem. My two GPU's are both running at PCI-e 3.0 8x and the SSD is working fine at PCI-e 3.0 4x.

    I'm glad everything is fixed now. Thanks all for the help and support!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •