Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    167

    Memory Question When Overclocking

    I thought memory speed automatically increases when you overclock by increasing the multiplier. Or is it the memory timings that auto increase when overclocking?
    My memory is still at factory 2133MHZ settings. Can I just turn on XMP? Any other settings that need to be changed to increase memory speed?

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi Not_Enough_Rage

    All you can do is enable XMP and try it, if your system doesn't boot or you get errors you'll need to do some tweaking.

    Ram speed will change if you overclock using the BCLK.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    167

    I have XMP enabled now, but memory freq. is still 2133MHZ.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Are you syre it's still running at 2133MHz?

    It will show at the top of the Extreme Tweaker tab in yellow.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    Hi, Not_Enough_Rage. Gotta say I like the humor in your PC Specs.

    What indication do you have that DRAM is at 2133? I recommend CPU-Z for monitoring basic OC performance -- simple, accurate, real-time and free.
    I recommend Aida64 for more complete monitoring including temperatures, but it's not free.

    DRAM frequency and core clock both increase as BCLK increases. This is automatic since both multipliers run from the BCLK.

    AI Overclock tuner set to XMP will give a quick, easy overclock that reads XMP settings from the DRAM and usually works with average or better CPUs. That setting includes BCLK and core multiplier. You can tweak many of these after they are set. Just be careful to watch CPU temperatures. All-in-one water cooling works fine for moderate 24/7 overclocking like the usual XMP settings. Watch a temperature monitor if you push beyond that.

    With AI overclock tuner set to manual, core multiplier, cache multiplier and DRAM frequency multiplier can be set independently and all depend on BCLK since that is the frequency that is being multiplied. Manual tuning can get higher speeds, but is a lot more "fun" in that it can take a lot of tuning involving core, DRAM, system agent etc voltages and DRAM timings.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    167

    Hi jab;

    Thanks for the comment and tips. The Bios says the memory is running at 2133MHZ, but HWinfo and CPU-Z says it is at 1600MHZ. So, I guess the memory is running at it`s maximum speed. I don`t know why BIOS says differently.

    The BCLK is at 100, multiplier is 48, Ai overclock tuner is set to XMP.
    Last edited by Not_Enough_Rage; 04-02-2017 at 01:43 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    The CPU-Z suppose to show only half of your real memory speed...
    If it shows 1600MHz, then most likely you are at 3200MHz...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    Yep, that's DDR4-3200. CPU-z shows the clock. Double Data Rate speed is twice that. Looks like XMP works for you and 4.8GHz core clock isn't shabby at all for a 6700K.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •