Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Question Speakers stopped working

    Hi,

    I have a ASUS ROG G502VT and the speakers just stopped working. I honestly have no idea what has happened to this. I have reinstalled the audio drivers many times in hopes that this will fix it as well as opening up the laptop to see if for some reason a cable got unplugged somehow - to my knowledge, I don't believe this is the case. Also the audio jack is still working (i.e. I can plug in headphones/speakers and those work just fine)

    Does anyone have any ideas that I could try out here? Open to just about anything. I have a warranty, but I would rather fix it myself as I can't exactly part from my computer until around 3 months from now.

    I appreciate anything here :)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    613

    just doubly making sure, they're not muted or disabled in device manager, are they?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    just doubly making sure, they're not muted or disabled in device manager, are they?

    correct they are not disabled in device manager

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    613

    are they (the sound engine? driver?) properly routed to the correct playing device?

    mine's routed to speakers.
    example pic below:



    just wondering if there's a slight change it got routed to something else without you noticing
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    are they (the sound engine? driver?) properly routed to the correct playing device?
    So mine are routed to the speakers. The blanked options are Bluetooth speakers that I'm not using. So it definitely should be giving off some sort of sound. But it's a no go on that.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Capture.JPG  


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    613

    and no ding no anything at all when you try to play anything?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  7. #7
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    When you go into the speaker properties and go to the advanced tab, do you have both options under Exclusive Mode checked (enabled)? By default they should be so make sure that they're both checked. What is the current sample rate? Default should normally be 24 bit, 48000 Hz (Studio Quality), did you change your sample rate through Sonic Studio or any other software?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    and no ding no anything at all when you try to play anything?
    Correct, no ding

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Bahz View Post
    When you go into the speaker properties and go to the advanced tab, do you have both options under Exclusive Mode checked (enabled)? By default they should be so make sure that they're both checked. What is the current sample rate? Default should normally be 24 bit, 48000 Hz (Studio Quality), did you change your sample rate through Sonic Studio or any other software?
    I just checked. The two options are checked and I have the default Studio quality sample rate. The only other software that I control the audio with is the AudioWizard from ROG and Realtek HD Audio Software. The thing is, when you are testing the software (or just playing some music), the bars to the side of the speakers from the pic above (the ones that show the sound levels) are moving and show there should be sound coming out...

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Just an update, I looked at my bios just to see if that might be something....it's not. It's fully updated. Version 203

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •