Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by siopoudis View Post
    I'm afraid that's not the case. Simply enabling XMP on default bios settings locks my 7700K to 800MHz. Same if I setup the profile manually. No overclock or any other setting touched. Reverting back to 0801 works fine.

    Z270G/i7 7700K/G.Skill 32GB (4x8) Trident-Z RGB 3466Mhz-16-18-38 1.35v
    That sounds as though the current or power is being limited. It would be worth checking the settings before downgrading ... or doing a CMOS reset.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Quote Originally Posted by siopoudis View Post
    Simply enabling XMP on default bios settings locks my 7700K to 800MHz
    What do you mean by that ^^^? Can not manually raise the CPU frequency in BIOS?
    Have you checked CPU-Z while in OS? What that shows for the CPU speed during idle and during load?

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array I.G.SYME@BTINTERNET.COM PC Specs
    I.G.SYME@BTINTERNET.COM PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Partners Ipad
    MotherboardAsus Z270G Gaming
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3200C16B
    Graphics Card #1NONE
    Graphics Card #2NONE
    Graphics Card #3NONE
    Graphics Card #4NONE
    Sound CardNONE
    MonitorDELL Ultrasharp 30 inches 16/10 ratio
    Storage #11TB Samsung 960 pro M.2 NVME
    Storage #2OCZ Revodrive 512gb 3x2
    CPU CoolerCustom watercooled loop
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplySeasonic 400watt Fanless
    Keyboard Cheap Generic Wireless
    Mouse Logitech M705
    Headset Sennheiser PC 8 USB
    Mouse Pad Steel Series cloth
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs
    OS Windows 10 64bit Home Edition
    Network RouterBT Hub 5

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by siopoudis View Post
    I'm afraid that's not the case. Simply enabling XMP on default bios settings locks my 7700K to 800MHz. Same if I setup the profile manually. No overclock or any other setting touched. Reverting back to 0801 works fine.

    Z270G/i7 7700K/G.Skill 32GB (4x8) Trident-Z RGB 3466Mhz-16-18-38 1.35v
    Check out the problems other people have had with 0906 BIOS and you will find it is as flaky as hell. There is another thread somewhere on this forum with all sorts of tales of woe. Suggest you wind back to previous version and wait for more stable BIOS version to come along. I had issues with XMP profile on my Z270G with version 0906 and simply re-installed 0801 to bring things back to life.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    What do you mean by that ^^^? Can not manually raise the CPU frequency in BIOS?
    Have you checked CPU-Z while in OS? What that shows for the CPU speed during idle and during load?
    After clearing the CMOS, the CPU is set to 4.2GHz/4.5GHz boost. In windows everything works ok.
    Went back into the BIOS and simply enabled the XMP profile. Nothing else changed, everything else is set to AUTO. Restart, back into BIOS, CPU shows 800MHz (it would normally show 4.2GHz). In windows, CPU-Z shows 800MHz (8x100), HWInfo the same. Load is stuck at 100%, and the system is horribly slow.
    Isn't it supposed to change states and speed up depending on load? It doesn't.
    Double-checked all settings in the BIOS, everything is at default values, except for the XMP profile (DRAM speed, and timings). Speedstep is enabled.
    If I switch the XMP profile back to automatic, it works ok again. Setting the same settings for the XMP profile (3466-16-18-38 - 1.35v) in Manual mode, I get the same issue. CPU gets stuck at 800MHz!

    I reverted back to 0801 and everything works fine.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hello,

    CPU: İ5 8400,
    Motherboard: Prime Z370-P (bios latest version 1410),
    Video: Msi GTX 1060 6G,
    Ram: Kingston 16GB (2x8GB) HyperX Predator Black DDR4 3000MHz CL15 1.35V (HX430C15PB3K2/16),
    SSD: Samsung 970 Evo 256 GB,
    HDD: Seagate 1TB 7200,
    PSU: Thermaltake LitePower 600W PSU,
    Windows 10.

    Pc won’t boot with XMP enabled. I am having a problem with XMP on a Prime Z370-P motherboard.

    I have the DIMMS in slots 2 and 4.
    -Bios-XMP profile 2 select (2666 Mhz). no problem.
    -Bios-XMP profile 1 select (3000 Mhz CL15-17-17 @1.35V). Pc does not boot , blinking cursor at top left corner, staying on black screen.

    thank you for your help in advance...

  6. #16
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Not uncommon.
    First check that your dram is on the QVL list for your board.

    Its 50/50 that the XMP profile will work with chances being higher on high end gear.
    Its also not uncommon for the CPU and memory timings to not play well together and it take a little tweaking on your part. if 2666 works thats a starting point. Check the CL there.
    Also check your dram voltage and give it a bump if necessary.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    It is really all about the memory being compatible with the chipset and how good the CPU IMC is.

    Some folks win the frequency silicone lottery and others get great memory controllers. The perfect CPU has both.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •