Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Gajets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    15

    ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO will not POST

    Hi ,
    Doing a new build ,
    the system will not POST.

    CPU is i7-7700k
    dram is 4 stick of 8gb GSKILL F4-4133C19D-16GTZC
    Video MSI GTX1080 DUKE
    SSD NVMe WD black
    corsair H115i cooling

    with only 1 dram in any slot , any one of the 4 rams , system stops with q-code 55 no LEDS
    insert all 4 drams , stops with DRAM led ON q-code AC
    NEVER get any video

    I know , the memory is not on qvl , but it should still boot with SPD default 2133
    I want confirmation before i rma the pcb

    Any clues ??????
    Last edited by Gajets; 03-31-2017 at 02:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,445

    Hi Gajets

    That has to be G.Skill Trident z ram and should work no problem at default settings.

    First two things to try is clearing the cmos then updating the bios with the bios flashback feature, cross your fingers and hope she boots.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mcleod52 PC Specs
    mcleod52 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)n/a
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 Windforce
    MonitorLG 27UD69-W
    Storage #1Plextor M8Pe M.2 2280 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X52
    CasePhantek P400S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
    Mouse ASUS ROG Gladius II
    Headset Bloody M660 MOCI
    Headset/Speakers Lepai LP-188HA + Polk Audio RTiA3's & PSW 303
    OS Windows 10 64 bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    I had similar issues. I pulled the Video card and booted up using the native video on the Motherboard and things came up. INstalled the OS and such, then upgraded the BIOS and installed the Video card.

    Worked for me, perhaps the same approach will for you.
    Last edited by mcleod52; 03-31-2017 at 05:31 PM. Reason: typo

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Gajets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Gajets

    That has to be G.Skill Trident z ram and should work no problem at default settings.

    First two things to try is clearing the cmos then updating the bios with the bios flashback feature, cross your fingers and hope she boots.
    Yes memory is gskill trident z , i tried taking video card out same results.....
    Pulled cmos battery same result... never got to bios so screen, can't expect anything but default anyway..
    Memory button goes through 3 cycles .... same result..
    Ordered a single cheap asus QVL corsair 4 gig ram to try.. if that acts the same i guess it time to RMA the mobo.
    I Hate DOA , it never booted to bios even once.... arrrgh

    I have built many systems, over the years, never had one crap out like this...
    My last setup is
    asus p6x58d premium and it was rock solid, not like the gigabyte x38 and x48 i had before it.
    My laptop is a rog g74sx , it's also a tank. so thought ROG for this monster build would be easy going.
    Really sad this mobo is not so great so far....
    Last edited by Gajets; 04-01-2017 at 01:06 AM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,445

    Have you tried updating the bios with the flashback feature? You need preferably an empty usb flash drive formatted to .FAT32. After you extract it to the usb flash drive rename it to M9H.CAP

    Then stick it in the ROG Connect port and hold the bios flashback button until it starts to blink, the blinking should slowly get faster and take about 90 seconds.

    When it stops blinking start your pc.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Gajets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Have you tried updating the bios with the flashback feature? You need preferably an empty usb flash drive formatted to .FAT32. After you extract it to the usb flash drive rename it to M9H.CAP

    Then stick it in the ROG Connect port and hold the bios flashback button until it starts to blink, the blinking should slowly get faster and take about 90 seconds.

    When it stops blinking start your pc.
    Did bios update to latest still same

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,445

    Thank you

    I know this may sound funny but make sure you have your cooler connected properly, I saw another member with this same problem, we were all thinking it was his ram.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Quote Originally Posted by Gajets View Post
    Ordered a single cheap asus QVL corsair 4 gig ram to try.. if that acts the same i guess it time to RMA the mobo.
    Cool. Keep us updated.

    If the problem persists, try loosening the screws for your heatsink a little. If it's still a no go, remove your CPU and inspect the CPU socket for any bent or missing pins.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array CODE MAXIMUS PC Specs
    CODE MAXIMUS PC Specs
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX CODE • BIOS 1009
    Processor7700K • 4.5GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX • CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 ver4.31 • 3866MHz • 15-15-15-36-2CR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
    Sound CardOnboard • SupremeFX S1220
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P 480GB
    CPU Cooler2016 EKWB Supremacy EVO • Acetal + Nickel • Straight Distilled Water
    CaseCORSAIR AIR 540
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W P2
    Keyboard HyperX FPS Alloy TKL
    Mouse SteelSeries SENSEI 310
    Headset Coolermaster Masterpulse
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK Limited
    Headset/Speakers 100W BLACKWEB ZULU 2.1 • Soundbar + 8" Sub • TOSLINK
    OS WIN 10 64bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR X4S • Gigabit fiber optic connection
    Accessory #1 3X Corsair Magnetic Levitation 140mm PWM case fans
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair Magnetic Levitation 120mm PWM radiator fans
    Accessory #3 APC XS 1000 • Backup
    CODE MAXIMUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    123

    I've never understood anyone that post they have a DOA when board cannot leave w/o passing QC-of course speaking device is not damaged in transit to consumer.

    Sorry your having this issue, mem should boot to 2133, I hate to ask but is 8pin eatx pin connected and is that memory on the QVL? Something isn't jiving.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •