Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7 7700k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D airflow edition
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G2 750w
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    CPU Overclock question

    I got my 7700 to what I thought was stable at 52x core, 51x cache and 1.4v, had to turn it down to 51x core 50x cache and 1.385v it was crashing in ME Andromeda, I'm just wondering if there's any other settings I should tweak like any of the other voltage settings I left mostly everything else on auto
    Last edited by Soggy waflezz; 04-03-2017 at 06:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hi soggy wafflezz

    I'd get as much out of the core clock as you can then get what you can with the cache. The core is where the performance is at, the cache is a minuscule gain in performance.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7 7700k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D airflow edition
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G2 750w
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    If the cache is lower can I get the core up higher ?*

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    You might be able to.

    I'd set the cache to default and overclock the core to the max then get what you can out of the cache.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7 7700k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D airflow edition
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G2 750w
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Okay I'll try that, any other sugggestions ? Or anything that should be tweaked ?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Nope, the cpu core/cache voltage is the only voltage you should need to change.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7 7700k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D airflow edition
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G2 750w
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Cool, thanks again for the help*

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    Soggy waflezz PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7 7700k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D airflow edition
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G2 750w
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Got core to 5.1 ghz at 1.32v and cache to 4.9ghz, highest temp in stress test gets to upper 70s, avg mid 60s*
    Last edited by Soggy waflezz; 04-03-2017 at 09:21 AM.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    That's great you have a very good overclocking cpu !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •