Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Maximus Apex IX 4266Mhz issue with G.Skill Trident

    Hello there.
    I've been trying to get my 16gb Trident Z 4266 MHZ Kit to run stable with my new build. (7700k CPU)
    I was having no luck in getting system to post after enabling XMP alone in BIOS.

    I then tried der8auer's 5ghz OC guide here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlR7CNuoOXk
    The system actually booted and posted, was able to game on BF1 for maybe 10-15 Minutes then I got a blue screen.

    When I try to Auto-OC using Dual Intelligent Processors 5, it does usually get my memory close to 3,000MHZ. (Well short of the 4,133mhz i was hoping for on this board)

    I bought this board exclusively because of it's ability to OC memory, and I would really like to at least tune the memory close to 4,000mhz if possible.

    Did I just get bad sticks of memory, maybe my CPU doesn't like fast memory, or am I doing something wrong?
    I'm not very savvy at OC.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi Toolguns

    Ultra high speed ram is not plug and play, you'll have to do a little tuning to get your ram at 4266MHz and let's hope your cpu is capable.

    First thing to try is setting Maximus Tweak to Mode 2, this is found at the top of the Dram Timing Control page.

    Then on the Extreme Tweaker Tab set the CPU System Agent voltage anywhere from 1.20v - 1.35v

    CPU VCCIO voltage anywhere from 1.20v - 1.30v.

    if still no luck set the Dram voltage to 1.40v

    It's trial and error and may take a few tries to find where it will post.

    Let us know what you end up with.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    To get the G.Skill DDR4-4266 to work with the APEX, I had to do as Nate152 said plus ... I use manual rather than enabling XMP. Note that there is no DRAM ratio that will get to 4266 with Bclk at 100. That DRAM speed uses the 4133 ratio with Bclk at 103. One of the first things to back off if 4266 doesn't work is the blck - back to 100 and settle for 4133 speed.

    I set DRAM voltage to 1.45 (should be safe up to 1.55), manually set the primary timings to XMP levels: tCL=19, tRCD=19, tRAS=39 and CR=2N and left the other timings AUTO. Mode 2 usually does a good job of conservative second and third timings that work right away. For higher bandwidth, you might try Mode 1, but that is for better overclocking at the expense of compatiblity.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    To get the G.Skill DDR4-4266 to work with the APEX, I had to do as Nate152 said plus ... I use manual rather than enabling XMP. Note that there is no DRAM ratio that will get to 4266 with Bclk at 100. That DRAM speed uses the 4133 ratio with Bclk at 103. One of the first things to back off if 4266 doesn't work is the blck - back to 100 and settle for 4133 speed.

    I set DRAM voltage to 1.45 (should be safe up to 1.55), manually set the primary timings to XMP levels: tCL=19, tRCD=19, tRAS=39 and CR=2N and left the other timings AUTO. Mode 2 usually does a good job of conservative second and third timings that work right away. For higher bandwidth, you might try Mode 1, but that is for better overclocking at the expense of compatiblity.
    Thanks for the advice. I will work with the voltage. Would 1.45V for DRAM still be safe while using these settings?:
    CPU Core Voltage override: 1.3
    CPU VCCIO Voltage: 1.2
    CPU System Agent Voltage: 1.225

    I was able to get system to boot using the above, with XMP enabled and dialed back the BCLK to 100. 1.4 Voltage on DRAM.
    The system was running Battlefield 1, however I could tell the system was struggling with something and eventually got a blue screen. (Memory error message, I can't remember exactly)

    Is adding 1.45 to DRAM voltage(on top of the above settings) safe?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    I think 1.45v for DRAM would be safe. I would suggest raising system agent first to see if that improved stability, say 1.275v with 1.225Vccio.

    DRAM voltage over 1.50 is likely safe, but not necessarily effective. Higher voltage has introduced memory errors in my experience. My 4266 kit works well up to 1.58V, but another slower kit throws errors above 1.51V. Voltage scaling is a variable thing with the Samsung B-die used on these DRAMs.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    I think 1.45v for DRAM would be safe. I would suggest raising system agent first to see if that improved stability, say 1.275v with 1.225Vccio.

    DRAM voltage over 1.50 is likely safe, but not necessarily effective. Higher voltage has introduced memory errors in my experience. My 4266 kit works well up to 1.58V, but another slower kit throws errors above 1.51V. Voltage scaling is a variable thing with the Samsung B-die used on these DRAMs.
    Hello there.
    Just wanted to update on the DRAM tuning. I was able to achieve 4133mhz after dialing back Bclk to 100. System is stable using Maximus Tweak Mode 2 and Auto on all other Timing settings. However, once enabling XMP, I noticed the CPU clock speed was automatically down downlocked from 4.5ghz to 4.4ghz. Is this normal? I'm running an i7 7700k.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    The XMP setting lets BIOS and its presets take over, so yes a change in CPU profile goes with XMP. To get control of both CPU and DRAM, you have to manually override what BIOS does. Your choice is to go through the trial and error of many settings or settle for the easier, but not quite optimal outcome.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array metal.snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    By the way guys, When i'm trying to overclock and the overclock fails - my system simply dosen't post even..

    My MB: Asus Maximus IX Apex
    Ram: Trident Z 4266 Mhz DDR4
    CPU: Intel I7 7700K

    Is this normal for the IX series? Each time it fails I have to manually turn off and on the computer.. This didn't happend with my Maximus V Extreme motherboard.
    If it failed it would post but simply write it failed. But not with the IX series. Is my MB faulty? (I tried all bios versions available at the moment).

  9. #9

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    With the Retry and SafeBoot buttons on the APEX, I haven't ever had to turn off power to reboot. SafeBoot is a wonder. It's like clearing CMOS without losing settings. It comes in so handy trying to tune 4266 DRAM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •