Page 17 of 27 FirstFirst ... 7 15 16 17 18 19 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 170 of 262
  1. #161
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Oh they don't connect to the board do they...

    Guess this plugs into fresh air then?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8097_19_asus-rog-crosshair-vi-hero-amd-x370-motherboard-review_full.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	66.2 KB 
ID:	65107
    And the RGB Header it plugs into!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RGBHeader.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	109.4 KB 
ID:	65108

  2. #162
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    Quote Originally Posted by SinartNZ View Post
    Oh they don't connect to the board do they...

    Guess this plugs into fresh air then?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8097_19_asus-rog-crosshair-vi-hero-amd-x370-motherboard-review_full.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	66.2 KB 
ID:	65107
    And the RGB Header it plugs into!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RGBHeader.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	109.4 KB 
ID:	65108
    What ya' learn sometimes.

    You think both cables have shorted killing both channels, or did you find that a short in a single cable kills the whole thing? What's the failure mode you found or is this speculation?
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  3. #163
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I'm picking it is a cable issue as I suspect both the IO and southbridge LED share a channel and it would only take one to have a short and both will not work.

    I have built 12 systems on the hero so far and none have had this issue so I can not test it myself.

    Those of you that have this issue and have other LED strips, i'd unplug the cable for the board based LED's and see if your other strips now work on the standard LED headers and or bust out a multimeter and see what you find.
    Last edited by SinartNZ; 06-04-2017 at 05:15 AM.

  4. #164
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    606

    I'm thinking there might be a wire that broke to the plug on the upper one to me because the one on the chipset works fine I tried to plug a fan into the fan header next to it and the RGB cable runs right next to it the problem is i can't see it good enoghe to see if any of the wires are broken
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  5. #165
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by skellattarr View Post
    I'm thinking there might be a wire that broke to the plug on the upper one to me because the one on the chipset works fine I tried to plug a fan into the fan header next to it and the RGB cable runs right next to it the problem is i can't see it good enoghe to see if any of the wires are broken
    Ah good the means they are on different channels, if you phone camera has a flash post up and pick and we'll all have a look together.

  6. #166
    ROG Member Array FredFlint PC Specs
    FredFlint PC Specs
    MotherboardC6H
    Processor1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200MHz C14D
    Graphics Card #1FuryX
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 256GB
    CPU CoolerH100i V2
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX - Silver
    Power SupplyEVGA 650W G2
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow TE Chroma
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 700

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by SinartNZ View Post
    I'm picking it is a cable issue as I suspect both the IO and southbridge LED share a channel and it would only take one to have a short and both will not work.

    I have built 12 systems on the hero so far and none have had this issue so I can not test it myself.

    Those of you that have this issue and have other LED strips, i'd unplug the cable for the board based LED's and see if your other strips now work on the standard LED headers and or bust out a multimeter and see what you find.
    I had a Phantek RGB strip connected to the mobo header, when the mobo LED’s died I unplugged it and connected it to the cases controller and it works fine. The mobo LED’s and headers are still dead though.
    Last edited by FredFlint; 06-04-2017 at 05:46 AM.

  7. #167
    ROG Enthusiast Array dAlexis PC Specs
    dAlexis PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI (X370)
    Processor1800X
    Memory (part number)CMK64GX4M4A2400C16
    Graphics Card #1RX Vega 64
    Sound CardSB ZxR
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseObsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAX 1500
    Keyboard Roccat Talk FX
    Mouse Roccat Nyth
    Headset Roccat XTD Analog 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    dAlexis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Hmm... wire on my MB looks OK. Seems 2 me, that the problem is not in wire, at least, not always indeed. Looking back on several pages or other threads, I see not only one-two lights comeback. Self-(un)plugging wires, maybe, not something new, but, IMHO, not in our case In addition - many "wires" were cut just after new BIOS or AURA sowtware

  8. #168
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    606

    I had a look at the wires with a magnifying glass and they looked fine so its something else. but yep it could have more than one channel because the top one is dead and the one on the chipset works
    WOOT!! I got it to work again all i did is opened the aura software and clicked on default
    Last edited by skellattarr; 06-04-2017 at 06:45 AM.
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  9. #169
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    All we need now is someone with a multimeter to check the power rail for the effected LEDs and will soon know what it is...

  10. #170
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by SinartNZ View Post
    All we need now is someone with a multimeter to check the power rail for the effected LEDs and will soon know what it is...
    If there's nothing on the power rail then what does it tell you? If, however, there is something on the rail but still no lighting, then I suppose the LEDs are kaputt? If that's the case, then perhaps too much voltage was passed through at some point, but if there's nothing measured on the multimeter then we're no closer to finding out why.

    One thing I noticed is that I have a high-pitched whine when my motherboard is in standby mode, and the only things really turned on at that point are the LEDs. The high-pitched whine stays when I start the computer up, of course. I'm not installing Aura until we get an update.

Page 17 of 27 FirstFirst ... 7 15 16 17 18 19 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •